We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comofrtable stop”
Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comofrtable stop”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Good clean room with excellent home cooked meals. Knowledgeable owner. Hubbie would have stayed and talked fishing a good deal longer but the road beckoned. Perhaps a little costly compared to some others but the bed was good and the place was very clean. The view across the bay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were put onto the motel by staff at the Big Mango (right next door) and found the owners friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, clean, and with a good fan. But the facilities in the room were not what I expected: no cutlery or crockery beyond cups and teaspoons for coffee-making - I expected at least plates, knives and forks and a toaster. You could order meals, so perhaps that was why no self-catering facilities.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

In a good location on main highway but for $121 I would expect more luxury. only toiletries supplied was 2 little bars of soap, was the usual supply of tea coffee and sugar but no biscuits or anything else. was shocked at price because if we had booked on wotif would have cost $100!
overall a good stop over motel but we won't be stopping there on way home at that price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jet_au2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony Y, Owner at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our motel.
We will take on board your comments about the toiletries and bikkies. It is always a balancing act between maintaining value for money and providing the extra little luxuries.
I would like to clarify though that the wotif price is the same at $121 for 2 people, so I hope you don't feel as though you have been swindled.
We constantly benchmark ourselves against the other local accomodation providers and we feel that we offer the best value for money in town.
Nothing beats relaxing on the terrace with a sea breeze in the afternoon, or watching the sun rise across the water in the mornings.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calliope, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel to break our trip. It's old but extremely clean. My child enjoyed the pool while we sat in the cool breeze outside our units drinking in the view and beer! The food we ordered was fresh and delicious. There was a bit of road noise due to being right on the highway but I turned on the air con and that seemed to drown the noise out. Room was equipped with fridge, microwave and kettle. The shower was awesome. Price was a bit high for the location and age but we paid for the location as we wanted a quick start the next morning. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wietink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed only 1 night great views excellent food to unit at night and breakfast next day , clean room great for overnight stay highway traffic can be a bit noisy eg trucks but with airconditon on it should cancel this out . Friendly helpful owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Graet place for an overnight stop when travelling. Room was comfortable and clean. View from the front is fantastic. Meals served to the room were good. Bit noisy with vehicles - (trucks exhaust brakes) from nearby highway but we stayed in winter and didnt need air cond on so in warmer months with air cond running it would cancel out road noise.
We stay in a lot of motels when travelling and this one has been a real find.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Good, clean, comfortable motel on the highway like they used to be. Park the car and don't plan on going anywhere unless you want to drive. The room was clean and plenty of room for 2. The outlook over the ocean towards Bowen would have been great except for the weather on the night we stayed. We took our own food but they do provide meals at a reasonable price ($19.50 for evening meals and $13.50 for a cooked breakfast). We didn't have any problem with the noise from the hightway which was minimal. We payed $98 after asking if they had any discounts. I don't think we would pay any more because of the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ianpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
2.8 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
2.5 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
2.2 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palm View Holiday Apartments
2.5 mi away
Castle Motor Lodge
Castle Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Bowen
59 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Property: Ocean View Motel
Address: 18317 Bruce Hwy, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Motel is quality and affordable Bowen accommodation, ideally located with a choice of at least eight pristine beaches, right at, or within 10 minutes drive from your Motel room, and overlooking Port Denison and the Islands. Set on a spacious 9 acres, the motel rooms have Queen sized beds, air conditioning, fans and free cable TV, swimming pool and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing