We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Lovely Overnight Stay”
Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My Wife and I stayed overnight at this lovely Motel with the very best view of the Ocean. The Room was absolutely spotless and to crown it all we had the most wonderful home cooked scrumptious Dinner served in our Room.
Our hosts went out of their way to make us welcome. We will like to stay longer next year.
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Saxasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

After staying here as a kid in 1977 and passing the motel over the years, I decided to take advantage and pull in. The room was clean and the bed was good. I also decided to order breakfast which I must say was very good and cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony Y, Owner at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Regards
The Team, at Ocean View Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The ocean view motel is located right next to the Big Mango on the Bruce highway. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Overall the motel was comfortable and clean and also allowed dogs in the rooms which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony Y, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Regards
The team, at Ocean View Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The motel has an absolutely gorgeous view on the ocean and the green hills of the Whitland islands behind. It's very clean and well-kept, the rooms are tidy and the beds are very comfortable. We vacationed here with a group of runners and had a really good rest. The owners are very friendly, the use of extra tables and chairs for our dinner was not a problem. One of the best places we stayed in in Queensland so far.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Abhinandan_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Good clean room with excellent home cooked meals. Knowledgeable owner. Hubbie would have stayed and talked fishing a good deal longer but the road beckoned. Perhaps a little costly compared to some others but the bed was good and the place was very clean. The view across the bay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were put onto the motel by staff at the Big Mango (right next door) and found the owners friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, clean, and with a good fan. But the facilities in the room were not what I expected: no cutlery or crockery beyond cups and teaspoons for coffee-making - I expected at least plates, knives and forks and a toaster. You could order meals, so perhaps that was why no self-catering facilities.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hinekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

In a good location on main highway but for $121 I would expect more luxury. only toiletries supplied was 2 little bars of soap, was the usual supply of tea coffee and sugar but no biscuits or anything else. was shocked at price because if we had booked on wotif would have cost $100!
overall a good stop over motel but we won't be stopping there on way home at that price

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jet_au2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony Y, Owner at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our motel.
We will take on board your comments about the toiletries and bikkies. It is always a balancing act between maintaining value for money and providing the extra little luxuries.
I would like to clarify though that the wotif price is the same at $121 for 2 people, so I hope you don't feel as though you have been swindled.
We constantly benchmark ourselves against the other local accomodation providers and we feel that we offer the best value for money in town.
Nothing beats relaxing on the terrace with a sea breeze in the afternoon, or watching the sun rise across the water in the mornings.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
2.5 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
2.8 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
4.5 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
4.4 mi away
Queens Beach Motor Hotel
2.5 mi away
Castle Motor Lodge
Castle Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Bowen
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Address: 18317 Bruce Hwy, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Motel is quality and affordable Bowen accommodation, ideally located with a choice of at least eight pristine beaches, right at, or within 10 minutes drive from your Motel room, and overlooking Port Denison and the Islands. Set on a spacious 9 acres, the motel rooms have Queen sized beds, air conditioning, fans and free cable TV, swimming pool and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing