We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome, awesome, awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Tribulation Sanctuary
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I was lucky to find it on Google earth. I might not have booked it from the website. We booked 3 nites and it is really a very impressive house with a very nice view down to cap trip. On top of that we got the entire house all by ourselfs which made it extra special. I guess if you like it run around naked ;-) as it seems to relatively normal to have the house for you. The rooms we could see and the room we had were very nice. (see pic) There is no pool but its also not needed, because the ocean is right there. Like Robert O said the only think that would have made a bigger impression would have been a little T-Rex passing by the deck.

Room Tip: you should book a room with a view .. all there is to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank eetschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

This place could not impress me any further than it has: massive ferns the size of a normal tree, incredible diversity of wild life, pristine wilderness and well kept pathways. This experience would have to be appositioned with that of actually visiting Jurassic Park. An amazing experience for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Arrival:

The Sanctuary is set deep in the Daintree forest on a dirt road (a few kms off road). We arrived in early December before the wet season really set in but a 4WD wouldn't appear to be necessary to explore the area - we got around fine in a sedan. If arriving at night the Sanctuary could be tricky to find. It is sign posted adjacent to the Beach House. The wonderful offsite caretaker Rob was at the gate to greet us and gave us a few tips on how to navigate the house and the steep driveway. The friendly manager Vicki rang us the next morning to make sure we were settled and to give knowledge of the area. We loved the fresh fruit tropical basket and breakfast supplies.

The Property:

The house itself is divided up into different rooms that can be let out to different parties. My family of 5 decided to take the whole house and found it to be the right amount of room. One of the rooms is set below the main house that we didn't need or have access to. The house has really comfortable beds with beautiful linen, robes and lovely furnishings. The one thing you will need to embrace is that the house is essentially an outdoor accommodation. If you've stayed in the tropics of asia you will be familiar with accommodation set in the elements. The air conditioning is window slats and ceiling fans. One of the bathrooms is in open air. And the bugs and creatures will share the house with you and eat your fruit if left out! The house is also self sufficient for energy which means no toasters or haidryers as the house can't supply the energy in such bursts.

Undoubtedly what you are paying for is location. The Sanctuary is set above the rainforest canopy with stunning vistas across the Daintree and the ocean. If you are lucky you will witness some amazing sunrises, sunsets and thunderstorms in the evening. There is a set of binoculars to enjoy the view and perhaps spot a whale. There are numerous tropical fruit trees on the property and my kids loved learning how a mango and star fruit grew. They also loved chasing lizards. We were a little disappointed that the road (dirt track) was between the property and the ocean, but that is getting picky about heaven! On a hot day though (every day!) you will probably need to drive down to the beach especially if you have kids.

The fridge had a maddening seal that required brute force each time to open (kids couldn't budge it). The cooker was servicable but a little tired and rusty. Lighting is difficult especially if you like to read. Service was promised every other day but was not seen once in our three night stay. A pool of some sort, even a plunge pool would make this place top notch.

In the area:

It's a short drive to everything to see. The property unfortunately has no pool so in stinger season your mission will be to find great swimming spots. The Beach House YMCA just across the road has a small pool you can use when staying at the Sanctuary but get there early before the backpackers wake up. Mason's cafe has a swimming hole nearby but again gets busy. We found perfection at the Butterfly Museum. The collection itself is OK but for the most Australian experience ever, their swimming hole set on a crystal clear stream could be enjoyed by yourself - it's stunning. Ocean Safari do fantastic reef tours where you will spot green turtles on the reef. Do a shop in Mossman or one of the towns before the Daintree River crossing as the supermarket in Cape Trib has limited supplies. If you drive the main road out of Cape Trib at sunrise you will probably encounter Cassowary.

The verdict:

The Sanctuary is a slice of heaven and will leave a lasting impression on your soul. It really is a unique and wonderful once in a lifetime experience. However at $650 a night some of the details could be improved.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

It is sometime since we stayed at the wonderful Sanctuary. But I recently found my travel diary and this has brought back many, very happy memories. We were expecting to share the house with others, but were very pleasantly surprised to find that we had the whole house to ourselves. Very romantic. The house is in a spectacular location, surrounded by rain forest, perched on the side of a hill overlooking the Coral Sea and Cape Tribulation. There is a long open veranda which provides magnificent views of the surrounding area. The dawn skies & sunrises are amazing, and displays of stars are brilliant.

You will need a car (preferably 4X) if travelling to the Sanctuary, which is located some kilometers beyond where the made road ends, 40 minutes north of the Daintree ferry. The drive up to the house from the main road is very steep. If driving from the south it is a good plan to stock up with provisions at Mossman. The fridge at the house will be well provided with good food for a hearty cooked breakfast, but since the house is on the edge of the wilderness, there are very limited dining and shopping opportunities nearby. Plan on self catering until you find somewhere suitable to eat out.

Bearing in mind that the house is situated in a rain forest, it is very well equiped. All power and hot water is provided by photo-electric panels. Air-con is provided naturally by the breeze through the tree tops. All the windows at the front of the house slide back to allow maximum circulation of air. There is a beautiful, large solid wood table on the veranda for al fresco dining.

There are stunningly beautiful beaches nearby that were deserted when we visited in April. The sea is crystal clear and the rain forest stretches right down to the beach.

If you are looking for peace and solitude in a beautiful location I would recommend the Sanctuary. But please remember you will be in the rain forest, so there will be insects and you may have to share your shower with the resident green frog.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fisherontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: sans aucun doute, le REEF, pour la vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_austraborigene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
13.8 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
576 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
363 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thornton Beach Bungalows
Thornton Beach Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Thornton Beach
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Tribulation Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Tribulation Sanctuary

Address: Lot 1, Ryker Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Tribulation Sanctuary is located two and a half hours North of Cairns within the World Heritage Daintree Rainforest over looking the Coral Sea out to the Great Barrier Reef. Enjoy our complimentary Continental Breakfast while taking in the surroundings from your veranda. Cape Tribulation has a variety of activities and places to be explored through National Parks, fresh water swimming holes and coconut lined beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Tribulation Sanctuary Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing