We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”
Review of Cape Trib Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Tribulation
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Trib Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We just loved it here. From the moment we pulled in, it was like we old friends! We only put out camper half up before having a beer with the manager!! After setting up and exploring the beautiful beach we ordered some wood fired pizzas - delivered right to us! They were so delicious. The guys are always happy for a chat and too share local knowledge. We had such a great relaxing time here, I would love to go back. We got to see crocs, turtles, snakes, crabs, lizards, orb spiders and much more.
Good hot showers with plenty of pressure. Basic but always clean.
Thanks for a great time, would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andie-Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    63
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
50
108
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Fantastic location, right on the beach and in the heart of the Daintree. The facilities are very small and basic and they just cram too many people in side by side which is a shame since the surrounds are so lovely. Found the rate for a powered site far too expensive for the grounds, my advice would be to ask for a more secluded site in the unpowered section ( they do have powered sites in the unpowered area).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The cape trib camp ground was an excellent place to park our camper trailer and do some 4wding. The camp ground has a decent camp kitchen, reasonably clean amenities given the more or less constant rain and provides good shelter from the winds off Myall Beach.

We made use of the coconut spike and rope swing to amuse our son, ate yummy home made muffins with coffee on our first morning and on our last night we ate some delicious wood fired pizza. There is a communal fire every night which is a nice place to toast marshmallows. Owners were very helpful with advise on driving the Bloomfield track (where we saw a Cassowary!). Camp Ground is easy walking distance to a boardwalk near Cape Trib where we spotted a tree kangaroo at night.

We stayed in an unpowered site which was in the middle of the grounds, if I went there again I would ask for one of the sites that sit in the forest which borders the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinonthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Great friendly staff , delicious wood fired pizza and lovely campgrounds with the beach right there ! Stayed here 3 nights after trying pks jungle village for one. Def the best camping in cape trib!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristaSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colo Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Only stayed one night but all was good.Nice setting good camp kitchen flat level sites beach not the best but easy walk from park. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Didnt have the pizza but they looked good and the bar was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great staff, very helpful and friendly! nice shady sites and great location right on the beach and short bike ride to the shops. Showers not the greatest.....but at least they are doing their bit for the environment. Pizzas seem to be popular although we didnt eat them, front reception is well prepared with frozen meats & fish bait.
Watch out for the huge golden orb spiders!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macigeorgie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stopped here for a one night stay on our way to Cape York via the Bloomfield Track and had a fantastic night. The camp ground is fully grassed, the amenities pretty good for a Caravan Park and the beach is just metres away. There are scrub hens wandering around and lots of shade - its a rainforest right next to the beach. We had a drink at the bar and they were so welcoming we abandoned our cooking plans and enjoyed some of the most scrumptious pizza's I've ever had - thin crust with fresh seafood and a hot salami one - awesome! Well many drinks later we retired and didn't see how wonderful the beach was until the following day. The tide was out so a wide sandy beach framed by palm trees. We made a promise to ourselves to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Tribulation hotels
8.1 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
2.0 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PK's Jungle Village
PK's Jungle Village
#11 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Trib Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Trib Camping

Property: Cape Trib Camping
Address: Cape Tribulation Road | Lot 11, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Tribulation Camping ground is in the heart of Cape Tribulation on beautiful Myall Beach and provides absolute beachfront rainforest camping. We cater for campervans, tents, motorhomes, camper-trailers and caravans.We have two fully equipped camp kitchens with free BBQ's, gas cook-tops and fridges. We also have four amenity blocks with hot showers, laundry facilities, beach showers, card payphone, kiosk/reception, cold drinks, ice, bait and ice-creams. The Sandbar is open 7 nights a week so drop in for a cold one and enjoy one of our famous wood-fired pizzas. Coffee and snacks also available from the bar. Our reception offers a tour booking service for all local tours in the Daintree and Port Douglas region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Trib Camping Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing