We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical camping paradise.”
Review of Cape Trib Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Tribulation
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Trib Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Tropical camping paradise.”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A return visit to Cape Trib camping was just as awesome as our first visit in Nov 2012. Being able to carry a drink and a chair to the beach only meters from your campsite and sit in shade and watch the tides do their thing is fantastic. Facilities are pretty good for a remote camp ground, the cafe/bar & pizzas are excellent. I fully recommend this camp ground.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeefaDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    61
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
105
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Cape Trib Camping was a lovely facility. All of the staff were very friendly and the wood smoked pizzas were delicious! The facilities were clean and spacious and the campsites are directly adjacent to the beach. We would absolutely stay again if we are to re-visit the area. After sun down the campsites are quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our kayak rentals as well.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Organic_Poicephalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This campsite offers spacious forested facilities close to a beautiful secluded beach. Many amenities are offered including a fridge, basins,washing machine, showers,WC and gas cookers.
We stayed in one of the permanent tents there, which are basic and looking in need of a revamp.
Overall it's a wonderful place to camp.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShakyJ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the permanent tents. The tents are Spartan and I would only really recommend if you are already a camper (which we are). It gets really hot in the tents as the sun comes up in the mornings. Fans are provided however.

The campsites looked good and the campers were not packed in at all, with plenty of room between sites.

The communal bathrooms are clean and the showers have good water pressure and hot water.

There are large communal kitchens, including a fridge which was really appreciated.

As many have mentioned, the bar pizzas are excellent. The resort is set on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majainaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My partner and I camped on a powered site (site #12) for three nights during the Oct school holidays, and were very impressed with the location and facilities. The campsite was busy with families, and in hindsight we would have preferred an unpowered site which are positioned away from the hustle and bustle and are a bit shadier - however, we noticed that you weren't able to book these in advance (first come first serve). The owners were friendly, but it was the casual staff that made the place with a special shout out to the french chef who cooked up some amazing wood-fired pizzas & nachos for us! The beach out front is great is for kids, but the water is shallow and soupy warm, so we would recommend finding alternative swimming spots for a cool down - there are some deep freshwater swimming holes located behind the general store just 500m down the road. We travelled to the campsite via the Bloomfield Track which is 4WD only. We were surprised at how good the road was, but no doubt a different story after some rain! This is a great campsite for people wanting to get away from it all, including backpackers, families and couples alike. And thanks again for playing the AFL Grand Final in the bar - couldn't think of a better place to watch it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LittleWing82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were going to stay in a safari hut here, but upon arriving, the man in reception I found to be very unfriendly, he was quite conceited, and spoke in a tone of voice that appeared that he though he was king of the world and I was a peasant if you get my drift. I requested to look at the huts before I paid, and he obliged but told me we had to walk as no cars were allowed in until we paid, saying they had to chase people! Implying that the I, as the customer is going to 'steal' as such!. The tent/s were very basic and very expensive ($120 a night for a family) with very uncomfortable looking beds right next to the communal toilet block.

By the end, the man's attitude (how I wish I knew his name) had me so worked up that I refused to stay here regardless of the poor accommodation and high price. Very disappointing. A drive up the dirt road found us so much happier. On the other hand, previous dealings with Jess on the phone were pleasant, but unfortunately didn't deliver a positive experience in the end.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A lovely spot for families with great beach access and good amenities. Friendly staff and good for for kiddies!
The kitchen was kept tidy and the coffee and pizzas were really great for weary travellers.
Not too many bugs and the site even when full is not overwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.0 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Trib Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Trib Camping

Property: Cape Trib Camping
Address: Cape Tribulation Road | Lot 11, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Tribulation Camping ground is in the heart of Cape Tribulation on beautiful Myall Beach and provides absolute beachfront rainforest camping. We cater for campervans, tents, motorhomes, camper-trailers and caravans.We have two fully equipped camp kitchens with free BBQ's, gas cook-tops and fridges. We also have four amenity blocks with hot showers, laundry facilities, beach showers, card payphone, kiosk/reception, cold drinks, ice, bait and ice-creams. The Sandbar is open 7 nights a week so drop in for a cold one and enjoy one of our famous wood-fired pizzas. Coffee and snacks also available from the bar. Our reception offers a tour booking service for all local tours in the Daintree and Port Douglas region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Trib Camping Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing