We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cruise on the quiet river”

Cape Tribulation Wilderness Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great cruise on the quiet river”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This goes on the smaller Cooper Creek, the only boat that can do so, so it's definitely a less "touristy" experience. We booked this as part of the Cooper Creek Wilderness package deal.
We were even the first boat of the day so the river was really calm and peaceful. We saw about 6 crocs (4 adults, 2 babies). The guide was very knowledgeable about the crocs, mangroves and the wildlife and nature there in general.
Even if we hadn't seen any crocs, the boat ride along the pristine mangroves and river was worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    5
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Crikey! Great little cruise”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had some time left on our way out of Cape Tribulation and decided to go on a croc cruise. The Wilderness Cruise appealed to us because it is the only one that goes into Cooper Creek, making it a more secluded experience than the tours on the bigger Daintree River. It is also a smallish boat that can take up to about 20 people I would guess.

We were very pleased with our choice. Our tour guide was a nice guy, very laid back like a typical Australian, and with a keen eye for crocodiles. He is good at spotting them and we ended up seeing 4 different crocs, including a huge male. The guide shared information about their habits, diets and ways of traveling and reproducing. Very interesting.

Of course we were lucky to see the animals we wanted to see but even if you are unlucky and you can't spot any (which may happen, as this is not a zoo but wildlife), the boat ride itself is very nice. Beautiful views of the mangroves and rain forest, very quiet as it is the only boat there. The boat has good views from all the available seats, though the best seats are probably those in front.

Don't forget your mosquito repellant!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank due_passi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a tour like this”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Saw crocs, views along the river were lovely. Quiet and un-touristed. Informative and amusing guide. Whole family loved it. So glad we chose this one and not the cruises on the Daintree river.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Crocs”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was a warm day so we weren't expecting a lot of crocs but we saw 4, 2 adults and 2 small.
It's not an overly commercial exercise, you basically stop at a spot signposted on the road (which could be easily missed) and quick walk in to where the boat is tied up. It probably wouldn't suit if you don't have your own transport to get there. Skipper was knowledgeable enough but no big expert. It was nice to see the crocs in the wild doing their own thing. I have been on the much bigger tour on Adelaide River NT where they practically entice them to come out of the water with pig heads & give you much more information. But I preferred this trip because it was such a small group and you're out there on a souped up tinny with shade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooperspale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delivers Crocodiles”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hour long trip on Coopers Creek was a great experience. Both the boat and it's captain were not young but he had been doing trips for around 20 years. Scenery is great. He is knowledgable about the area. We saw two crocodiles - one male 5.5 metres long. Awesome. Well worth the $30.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Tribulation Wilderness Cruises also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Cape Tribulation Wilderness Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing