We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About what you would expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of PK's Jungle Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PK's Jungle Village
United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“About what you would expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

In fairness to this operation, it is pretty much what it claims to be and we visited during what clearly was the off-season. PK's was just about the only thing open. We booked for two nights but split after the first night both because it was raining very hard and there was nothing much to do. I had e-mailed well before our arrival asking for assistance in finding someone to take us on a night walk. No one ever responded to that request. The beach is lovely and easily accessed, but the facilities are better suited to backpackers than to families or old folks like us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    59
    52
    46
    49
See reviews for
34
67
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this, turned up, saw the accommodation and asked for a refund. I would not recommend this to anyone unless they just want a bar with some dodgy huts attached. This place is definitely not designed for families.

The location is great and the beach is lovely. Visit the bar. Stay somewhere else.

I gather that the place is up for sale which may explain the rather run down feel of the place – perhaps acceptable if the cost is low but the room/hut rates here are very high.

One to avoid.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Tribulation hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of an overnight tour to cape tribulation. Our room was very dark and dingy with beds that creaked so much you thought they were going to fall over. Smoke alarm was beeping due to being out of battery and had to ask twice before they came then instead of fixing just took it away. Kitchen is tiny for that many people and no utensils are provided unless you rent them, someone stole food out of our closed bag in the fridge which was clearly labelled and the staff seemed to think anything we asked them was an issue for them (not very helpful) I don't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyCook_4194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We just spent Saturday night at PK's and had a great time! It's a lovely drive there through the rain forest, once there the atmosphere was relaxed, very rainforest styled and friendly. We had an ensuited double room which was back packer styled but when on holiday who wants to spend their time in a room?? The jungle bar was great, the beach was beautiful and everyone was friendly. I recommend PK's to anyone who wants have a good time and meet new people in a relaxed and friendly place. Plus the food was great and my fiancé reckons 'now that's bang for my buck'. Happy holidays :) hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Worst place I've ever stayed. Worse than some hotels in India. So many other great places to stay. Over priced, dirty, terrible kitchen with no facilities. Rat poo on bed. Thin walls. Sleezy bar. Do not stay here!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

On the plus this place has a pretty decent bar.Not bad food and is a quick walk to Cape tribulation.But none of this compensates the state of the lodges.They are horrid.They smell like an animal urinated everywhere.My linen had dirt on it when I arrived and my mattress had the springs coming up.Just ate and drank the whole evening to avoid being in there.The kitchen and bathrooms are also filthy.Due to the weather almost got stuck another night there but if I had would have moved accommodation.Have stayed in better places in Asia costing $5 a night.Do NOT stay here it ruined my Cape Trip.Have told anyone I have met to Avoid Avoid Avoid

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypoplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stopped at PK's just to check it out for a drink, and I'm glad we did because we ended up staying for four nights.
Initially, I just really liked the feel of the bar/bistro, which was very open-air - a good place to sit was the beer garden, where we met locals who were good for tips on what to do in the area.
We also talked to the quite international staff (I think German, Australian, French?) who all had activities to recommend.
The resort was spread out and surrounded by greenery, which reminded me of tropical backpacker resorts throughout South East Asia.
We chose to sleep in a 4 person dorm, for a break from camping, and it was about $25 or $30 each. The dorm was clean, with comfy beds...but then again I spent most of my time in the pool, on the beach, kayaking and chilling out at the bar. The beach was literally a 2 minute walk from our dorm!
I would recommend this place if you want a comfortable, central place to stay in the daintree.
Oh, and order the spicy prawn pizza.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK's Jungle Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK's Jungle Village

Property: PK's Jungle Village
Address: Cape Tribulation Road (PMB 7), Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PK's Jungle Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK's Jungle Village offers comfortable, affordable accommodation for families, backpackers and adventure travellers. We offer a range of accommodation from campsites and dorms through to private ensuites. All of our rooms have air conditioning. Located in the heart of Cape Tribulation, PK's is the perfect base to explore the Daintree. Our friendly reception staff can help arrange tours and activities in the area, we have an on site bar and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as an IGA supermarket located just next door. Best of all...the beach is just a 2 minute walk away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your PK's Jungle Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pk`s Jungle Village Hotel Cape Tribulation
PK's Jungle Village Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing