We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hostel in the middle of the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PK's Jungle Village
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I didnt know what to expect when I booked into PK's Jungle Village - but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The common area/dinning/bar area was spacious, fun and clean. The food was much nicer then most hostels, however, expensive. The cabbins were basic cabbins, nothing special, as were the shower area and kitchen area. They had a gorgeous pool area and the grounds were kept in great condition. Behind the main hostel bit, theres the camping area, which looked nice as well. Theres also a little pathway leading down to the beach - which is a must see if youre at PK's. Overall, this hostel was nice, clean, and fun and I would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenNicole91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi LaurenNicole91,

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback about your stay at PKs Jungle Village.

We value your feedback as we try and make everyone's Cape Tribulation experience the best that we can!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

It's rare that I ever rate any where poorly but this place was poor. The reception was chaotic and the French receptionist not interested and only concerned about me paying a $20 deposit in cash. As I was camping I asked what the deposit was for? I never received a a satisfactory reply and can only assume the deposit was a bonus for the staff if I forgot to collect it the next day as was told that it could only be collected between very narrow times? Next was the potential for credit card fraud, so pay attention dear reader; I offered to pay with my credit card, but it was not processed there and then. I was told to write down my card details on a piece of paper including the expiry date and the three digit security code. No way would I be so stupid so I paid cash, but I wonder how many guests, especially young and vulnerable backpackers, find that their card details are used for fraudulent transactions? This was a disgraceful lack of security. The bar was dreadful with a stoned youth trying his best to grope every female in sight and the staff just ignored him. The cooking facilities for campers in the campers' kitchen consisted of two gas rings for all campers, a filthy microwave oven, two broken kettles and a dead electric hot plate ( no pans provided). The bins were overflowing with rubbish and whilst eventually eating outside I saw my first Australian rat running around the kitchen , and no it wasn't a rare marsupial , it was a rat. Do your self a favour and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi raadjjh,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your stay at PKs Jungle Village.

I am sorry to hear you've had a bad experience upon check in, however, the $20 cash deposit is required when guests pay their stay with cash and acts like a bond for your stay, just like any other hotel would put a hold of a certain amount of money on your credit card in case of damages etc..

Our check in process requires guests to put down credit card details, this is the same in 99% of hotels in Australia, so I am not quiet sure why this would call for accusing our staff of being involved in fraudulent activities.

Lastly, PKs Jungle Village has a zero-tolerance for illegal substance abuse on it's properties for both guests and staff alike.

I invite you to please give me a call on 07 4098 0040 as I would like to learn more about your experience and find out where and who you dealt with in order for us improve our business.

Kindest Regards,

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I found this an over priced cabin. The sheets were stained, the beds are worst than terrible. There are no windows. The bathroom is in desperate need for a screwdriver.

On top of this, the continental breakfast does not include coffee.

On the bright side, the beach is beautiful surrounded by unbelievable mangroves

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

PKs is the heart of Cape Tribulation, and there are some lovely things about it. It's in a good location to explore the Daintree, has some lovely staff, and the pool is really nice. It has a large clean kitchen (that said if you're planning on cooking bring supplies with you as the little supermarket is super-expensive!) and a nice vibe among travellers. It's a short walk to the beach through a mangrove boardwalk. There's a variety of accommodation from dorms and private rooms to camping.

There are, however, lots of down sides. The dorm rooms need some maintenance - the beds squeak with a ridiculously loud high-pitch squeak that I got woken up every time the person in the bunk above moved. For $25 a night in a small dorm they could do it up a bit.

Sleep quality is also reduced by a really noisy bar on site. The loud music doesn't finish until just before 1am. There's a bit of a mis-match between wanting party types but also having families staying. When we were there they were stupid enough to allow a Bucks party to stay - so you've got chilled out travellers, families with children and a bunch of obnoxious morons harassing all the female guests, yelling throughout the night and vomiting all over the place. The owner talked to them a lot and seemed fine with them - clearly happier to get their money and let the rest of us have a sleepless night.

One final problem is that I think I may have been bitten by bed bugs here!

Room Tip: If you're not there to party don't stay in the rooms closest to the bar, ask to be down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The cabin was adequate, beds ok. Not the sort of room you would want to do anything but sleep in. That said, it is a very convenient place - good if you have been on the road. Showers, laundry room and kitchen. Close to a great beach! A bar and restaurant with basic food is right there. And a store. A good stopping off point

Room Tip: Think about distance to the toilets - or rent an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Cape Tribulation is fairly remote, so taking that into consideration PK's was a good place to stay. I had a double room with ensuite, and slept very well. The water pressure in the shower was fairly average but at least it was hot.
PK's is a backpackers joint but the crowd is quite diverse (even a few grey nomads). The bar/restaurant is exceptional with Icy cold beer and very tasty food.

Room Tip: I can see how the dorms here could be rough, but the ensuite cabin was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew81Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

In fairness to this operation, it is pretty much what it claims to be and we visited during what clearly was the off-season. PK's was just about the only thing open. We booked for two nights but split after the first night both because it was raining very hard and there was nothing much to do. I had e-mailed well before our arrival asking for assistance in finding someone to take us on a night walk. No one ever responded to that request. The beach is lovely and easily accessed, but the facilities are better suited to backpackers than to families or old folks like us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#7 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
29 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.2 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK's Jungle Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK's Jungle Village

Address: Cape Tribulation Road (PMB 7), Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range: £29 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PK's Jungle Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK's Jungle Village offers comfortable, affordable accommodation for families, backpackers and adventure travellers. We offer a range of accommodation from campsites and dorms through to private ensuites. All of our rooms have air conditioning. Located in the heart of Cape Tribulation, PK's is the perfect base to explore the Daintree. Our friendly reception staff can help arrange tours and activities in the area, we have an on site bar and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as an IGA supermarket located just next door. Best of all...the beach is just a 2 minute walk away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your PK's Jungle Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pk`s Jungle Village Hotel Cape Tribulation
PK's Jungle Village Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing