We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PK's Jungle Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
68
77
67
56
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
77
67
56
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget accommodationcamper vanunpowered siteremote locationcooking facilitieshorse ridingcamp kitchencape tribulation beachbeautiful beachswimming holebeautiful placejunglejugsbunkvibecampervanproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is a cool pub with really yummy pizza, however we did not appreciate the bar staff lady telling us that the Bushman mozzie spray we had on the table is like a poison and that we should have got organic spray instead of Bushman's and that people were complaining about it!! (hang on your working behind a bar serving alcohol, which is considered toxic if you want to get "organic" on me) To which we look around and see only a couple of possible staff members on the other side of the pub on their laptops! She even turned the fan on us! When your venue has all open windows and your in the rainforest with wet weather expect someone to spray mosquito repellent! We did leave and come back for dinner, we had fettuccine and pizza, both were awesome. My rating is based on the staff member making us feel uncomfortable

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Sara290186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm but luckily it was just us so that was a bonus, however, the rooms were pretty dated and the single beds had barriers all up the sides. I felt like I was sleeping in a cot!! I didn't expect too much as it's in a remote location and thought it'd have a rustic rainforest feel, but considering they know most people go to Cape Trib and need somewhere to stay, had hoped it'd be a bit more spectacular and make your stay memorable. Never mind hey!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I agree with what other people are saying, the girl at reception was unfriendly and didn't like answering our questions.

The room was smelly, had a hole in the floor and my mattress had a big stain on it.

The shared kitchen was dirty and had no utensils.

The food in the bar was over priced for what I expected at a hostel. But there was a good atmosphere in the bar.


Wasn't really too impressed with PKs.. maybe this is the standard for hostels but I prefer something a little nicer than what's on offer here

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillan W, Manager at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Hello Abbie,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for Pk's.

Firstly would like to apologise for the receptionist we had. We now have three really nice, enthusiastic and outgoing receptionists who are more then willing to help anyone with anything.

Also we have just done a massive overhaul of all the room and they have new beds, mattresses and fresh coat of paint to ensure all the rooms are to high level satisfactory for our guests.

The kitchen however is up to the visitors discretion, its a shared facility and if people decide to steal our utensils and make a mess, then that's letting it down for the other people who are honest and clean up after themselves. I know its disappointing but we do our best to ensure its cleaned daily by our housekeepers, and if you ever need any utensils please do not hesitate in asking reception.

I'm sorry your stay wasn't what you wanted but if you are ever looking to come and stay up in Cape Tribulation again, please feel free to call us here on 0740980040 and we will be more then willing to help you enjoy your stay with us.

Cheers;

Dillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at PK's for a whole week, which I wouldn't recommend as there's really not a lot to do in the local area - I'd recommend a full day or two max.

The accommodation was adequate, but basic - probably as you should expect for the rainforest though. The rooms however were a bit smelly, and the toilets a bit dirty.

The food is very good! Big portions and very tasty - shame about the prices though. The pool tables, table tennis table, and swimming pool are great; don't rely on getting wifi - you're in the middle of nowhere.

Definitely do Jungle Surfing and the night walk, but don't ask reception for help as they can be a little rude at times.

I've been to nicer backpackers, but this is good enough for a few nights to see the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillan W, Manager at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Hey Ben,

Cheers for writing a review on Trip Advisor for Pk's.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the meals.

Also apologies for the rude receptionist. We do have three brand new enthusiastic and outgoing receptionists now who are more then willing to help you out if you were ever to come back and stay with us.

Thankyou;

Dillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Nice location, not far from the beach and near a wonderful swimming hole called Mason's. You can get to Cape Tribulation in 20minutes.

Rooms are incredibly basic! You can definitely feel the springs on the mattresses and the rooms are slightly musky smelling- but it's ok.

Don't buy the $40 food voucher for three meals as some of the meals are only $10.50! So, it's not actually worth it. The food is good though- big portions and very tasty. They have a good Chef and nice bar staff.

The red/brown haired receptionist however appeared to be having a permanently bad day all the days I was there. Ask her a question and she'll bite your head off! No need to do the crocodile tour with her snapping at you like you're an idiot for not knowing where somewhere is (regardless of the fact you're from the other side of the world). She was incredibly moody, rude and unfriendly. Maybe encourage your staff to work on their customer service skills PKS!

In the meantime, stay at the Beach House instead- I've heard it's nicer :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillan W, Manager at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Hello Laura,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for Pk's Jungle Village.

I am disappointed that the mattresses and or beds you slept on weren't comfortable, we have just done a massive overhaul of all the rooms and have fixed all the beds (mostly replaced) and they all have brand new mattresses. So the rooms should be nothing less then satisfactory now.

As for the food voucher deals, we only do them now for tour companies and most of the meals you get are anything on the menu. So there is now alot of savings to be had there if you were to purchase the room and meal deal.

Also we now have three enthusiastic and efficient receptionist who are more then willing to help you with any enquiries.

Please feel free to come and stay at Pk's in the future, we are more then welcome to ensure you stay is enjoyable and more then satisfactory.

Dillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews