We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Jungle Surfing Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.68*
and up
Cape Tribulation Jungle Surfing Canopy Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jungle Surfing Canopy Tours take you into the beating heart of the Daintree Rainforest on a guided zipline experience through six tree platform and the world's first Human Hamster Wheel cable lift. This is nature's own spectacular high definition live stream, available every day from Cape Tribulation. The guides are with you every step of the way, sharing their wit and wisdom with interpretation on every platform and they also control your flight throughout the tour, so there’s absolutely no experience necessary, making the tour suitable for all ages from three to 103. The platforms range from 3.5 to 19.5 metres above the ground and each one reveals a different level of the rainforest with unique and spectacular views into the canopy, over the treetops, down to cascading streams and out to the Great Barrier Reef (don’t forget your camera!!) There are eight two-hour tours daily, with at least one hour up in the rainforest canopy. It’s essential to book, especially during school holidays.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently went on this excursion and had a blast! I've been zip lining before but this was better. Our guides, Ryan, Giggles and Mowgli (I can't remember Giggles and Mowglis real names!) we're fantastic. They were funny, safe and very knowledgable. They all worked together to ensure we were safe and having a great time. We were lucky enough to see a tree kangaroo on our tour! There are only about 400 left so that was exciting!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    201
    63
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A different way to view the rainforest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

As others have mentioned. It's not a "thrill seekers" tour, yet it is lots of fun!
The guides seem knowledgable enough about the area, and they genuinely seem to enjoy their job.
Our tour was fully booked, so there was a bit of waiting around whilst the crew hooked us up and sent us sailing off the different platforms. However, the time passed quickly though, as everyone was really friendly, and soon we were all chatting. There were three "elderly" people on the tour, and everyone gave them big supportive cheers and claps.
Considering the time spent out in the rainforest, I feel the cost was justified.
We'd certainly recommend it to friends.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Okkie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Interesting, different, lovely staff, over-priced?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

First the good bits - we had a really interesting afternoon seeing the jungle from the treetops and the staff tried really hard (probably *too hard* in places) to make it an interesting and enjoyable day out. They are all such nice people that they came across best when being themselves and not forcing the pace or trying to be funny - be yourself guys!

My kids loved the staff to bits and the zip wires are really cool if a bit tame if you are used to "Go Ape" or other tree-top adventure courses. The human hamster wheel is fun too.

We really enjoyed it as a family despite the torrential rain so it must be a good experience overall so take the negative comments to follow in that light.

The downsides are basically the waits at each platform and the cost. It takes 2 hours overall but that really is just because each platform takes so long to clear. With so many staff needed to run it I can see why the costs are high but to not offer any discount at all for kids makes for an expensive family trip.

And finally... the legal waiver you have to sign (and initial - in 10 places?!?!) is absolutely bonkers and needs ripping up. To be asked to sign to say that the providers of the experience are not liable even if *negligent* surely wouldn't stand up in any court? Madness. The truth is that it feels completely safe anyway so the forms are irrelevant but what a paperwork mess. When I read some of the Tripadvisor reviews and found some people had decided to walk away when presented with the paperwork I thought they must be pedants but the paperwork really is that bad. My advice is to do it anyway and ignore the paperwork but if you decide to take that advice please be aware that I take no responsibility for any advice even if I have been negligent in offering it to you!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific value, great fun, great guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

It may look a bit pricey but the jungle surfing is well worth doing for adults and kids. We were picked up at the Snake House bang on time, and taken 5 mins up the road into the jungle. The guides were terrific and very focused on safety as well as ensuring everyone had a good time. They also imparted plenty of interesting facts about the local flora and fauna as well as a few old jokes that still make the kids laugh days later! The whole thing takes 2 hours, highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveandGita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting way to see forest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good way to see the jungle as limited ability for self driven tours of the older parts of the daintree but the experience is pretty tame. Certainly not an adrenalin rush and plenty of waiting around on platforms. A bit overpriced and have had better tree top adventure experiences. Was humorous to hear that Australia was once known as New Hungry from the guide.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ventura100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jungle Surfing Canopy Tours also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Jungle Surfing Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing