We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oustanding B&B in the rain forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oustanding B&B in the rain forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

A cassowary crossing the road welcomed ud on the way to this B&B. Located in the middle of the rain forest the place is outstanding. Everything has been built by the owner Dutch Rob and his artistry is just amazing. I would recommend the cabin with the open air bathroom facing the rain forest. Cute leaping frogs had to be expelled. Rob is very friendly and passionate and will answer to all your questions regarding the rain forest.
Do not miss the sculpture trail.-

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adolfo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
87
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and i stayed for three nights in the roundhouse and loved every minute of it. Such an amazing experience to be in the rainforest and be able to relax and enjoy it rather than visit on a day bus tour and leave as the sounds of the forest through the night are fantastic. The accomodation offered more than we expected with hot water, drinking water and the best shower ever! We would definately come back if we had the chance. We visited from Scotland and are now the third couple from a small scuba diving club to have come and stayed and enjoyed it. One piece of advice is to arrive in the daylight simply to improve the wow factor (although there are no issues arriving after dark)
Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Do not stay if you are looking for a luxary resort hotel - this is a place for people who really wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

As locals we thought we knew the area very well - but we didn't know how wonderful this place was!
Enchanting and magical the mix of art and the rainforest is amazing. You must go!
The service was fantastic - we felt right at home and the bathroom is quite spectacular!
Thoroughly recommend it and you must do the walk through the rainforest.
Great breakfast of local tropical fruit.
Definitely a must do in Cape Trib.
Franck

Room Tip: Select the cabin! The bathroom is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

This was a great experience. You can't be closer to nature than this. The rainforest walk behind the B&B is really cool with some really cool sculputres. If you like being in the nature it's a definite must

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panteleiputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

A wonderfully quirky, picturesque b & b designed by the owner with his [also quirky] works of art scattered through the surrounding rainforest. It only has 3 rooms [ours was very comfortable] and the guests who were there when we were, were really interesting and we lingered over breakfast for some time talking to them each day. Rob was away but had a friend as host who was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and helpful. The frogs "sang" all night in a VERY loud symphony, but that's all part of the rainforest experience. We stalked frogs with the camera at night, were entertained by the brush turkey who visited the sitting area in the open lounge and sat happily on the deck watching raindrops pattering on the beautiful ponds and pools around the main building.It's not for people who only love resort living, but it's a great place. We'd love to go back any time.

Room Tip: Check the place out on the internet - the three rooms are different, in different locations on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myselfandhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you love nature and can do without your phone, TV, PC, hairdryer etc for a few nights..... do yourselves a favour and stay here.
We were lucky enough to get to enjoy just one night of paradise here recently and we will always treasure the memory.
This is a very special place indeed and Rob has created it with great love and sensitivity.
This is a special man who obviously is not out to make lots of money... he clearly loves what he does and where he lives.
We just loved it. Hanging about in the hammocks, wandering through the jungle with our torches at night discovering frogs and seeing magical fireflys....The following day we wandered around hoping we would literally bump into the elusive cassowary which apparently visits Robs property daily.
We sat on his sculptured couches, crossed his crocodile bridge,showered in the open air.
It was like being Adam & Eve for 24 hours! We felt we were the only ones there, at one with nature.
Go..... and be prepared to emerse yourselves in the beauty of the rainforest....you won';t regret it...honestly.
Special mention also goes to the two lovely young ladies who help Rob with the business...they are so friendly and happy. One girl had just started working there the day we arrived.
Hey girls.... we DID get to catch a glimpse of the Cassowary before we left the area, it was on the road near Cape Kimberly..... What a way to end our holiday in this unique place Thank you.

Room Tip: All unique....all fabulous...all very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our stay here has been excellent on August the 9th for three days. The location is very good, in the rainforest, with a very original trail with nice sculptures made by Rob ( right now, when we go out for a walk in the forest, we miss the sculptures!), a friendly host who made us feel very comfortable. Sorry I don´t remember her names, but the two girls from Japan who attended us where very nice too. One of the highlights is the bathroom, located in the back of the room with a superb rainforest view, having a shower there is an experience. Good breakfast, though we only had it once, because we woke up at 6AM and it´s served at 7:45. Didn´t see the cassowaries in the property, but saw them driving on the road. The climb to Mt Sorrow is worthwhile if you are in good fit and you don´t have to miss the reef experience or the crocs cruise.
Would come back again ( if Australia wasn´t so far from our country...).

Room Tip: We stayed in the room 1092, with the bathroom outside, though both are nice.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DiegoRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.2 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Hideaway

Property: Rainforest Hideaway
Address: Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation deep inside the world's oldest rainforest. Solar powered eco-accommodation without some of the luxuries and facilities of the big resorts, but comfortable and located within walking distance of beach, restaurants, shop and National Park boardwalks. On the two hectare property there is a sculpture trail showcasing sculptures created by the owner and several visiting artists, fishponds and a beautiful freshwater creek. This place is owner-built and owner-managed, and your host is always happy to provide you with tips on where to go and what to do and book any activities you'd like to do. Prolific wildlife is another feature of this property, especially the cassowaries that frequently visit the place. You can make your holiday action-packed with the local tours such as snorkeling, jungle surfing, horse riding, sea kayaking etc. or total relaxation by hanging out on the property on the seats on the sculpture trail, or in the hammocks around the house. Keep in touch with the outside world through free Wifi. If you are an artist you might even like to add your own creation to the sculpture trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Rainforest Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hideaway Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing