We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainforest Hideaway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
125
22
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
22
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomsculpture trailb bthe main houseunique experiencethai massagetropical fruitan absolute delightgreat charactersolar panelsnice bedhot showerfreshwater creekbeautiful breakfastenjoy natureoff the beaten trackkind of place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The rainforest hideaway is just that! Nestled a few hundred metres up a track off the main highway in Cape trib, it blends in effortlessly with its surrounds. This it does so well because it is mostly constructed from its surround, crafted over the years by its owner Rob. We stayed in the cabin room 1092 with its open air bathroom. Be warned if you don't like rainforest creatures you probably won't like this place so don't go there then moan about it after the event! If you do like rainforest creatures you will love it. We were visited by stick insects, tree frogs, spiders, brush turkeys and on our last day the endagered Cassowary, all of which we happy to pose for the camera! It is a short walk to several restaurantsand shops and not far beyond that is the beach. Breakfast is taken in the main house on the decking with plenty of cereal, toast and fruit to keep anyone happy. Great room, great place great people! I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dananmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Was my favorite place to stay during my entire trip! For the following reasons:

1. A real rain-forest retreat :: off the beaten track, quiet, solitary, private, peaceful and immersed in rain-forest cover, yet close walking or driving to everything (including the Whet Restaurant which is the best restaurant in Cape Tribulation). A perfect balance.
2. Eco-friendly :: a completely sustainable environment, solar powered, low-flow water, etc.
3. Very cool owners :: a Dutch couple own it, have lived there for 15 years and run the B&B for 8 -- they know the area very well, including the wildlife and the best places to go
4. Delicious tropical breakfast :: included with room, amazing local fruits and a selection of cereals, teas, coffee, etc. (uncommon to have this in Australia I found -- not like the US)
5. Affordable :: very competitive pricing with surrounding hotels, resorts, and other rain-forest lodges (in our case it was cheaper than the others)...however, a smaller, more personal experience

SO, if you want a romantic, tucked away, non-touristy, eco-friendly experience I highly recommend you check in!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladolceveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We spent a few days at this property in August 2007, and simply loved it. Set in dense rainforest, it is possible while staying at this property to imagine that you are the only people around. It's hardly quiet though - the forest hums with birds (up in the canopy so you often can't see them, just hear tantalising cries) and the sounds of the wind moving through the various levels of plants.
It wasn't a sanitised experience - if you like your forest locked behind strong glass walls while you sit in airconditioned comfort, this won't suit. But while we were there, the weather was perfect, while there were dozens of insect species in the area, we didn't get bitten (mozzies are thankfully scarce), and while we met a few small marsupials, none of them were in the least dangerous.
We barely saw out hosts in the time we were there - which was as we wanted - but they were available when we needed something. We intend to come back for a much longer stay next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cassie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

If you want to get away from the crowds and enjoy nature this is the spot. All you hear at night are the creatures in the rainforest. The facility is spotless and one of the most unique places I have ever stayed. The hosts are very helpful and personable. They made calls for us changing some of our reservations elsewhere and were very understaning when we had to change our schedule slightly. Our entire family enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tribeportlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

We wanted to live the rainforest and we looked for something special and cossy, but not very expensive.
We stayed for two nights in the room in the main house who has a private access.

All was clean and ready when we arrived late night. Rob was waiting for us and explained about the place.

He has done everything with his won hands!!! the beds, the house, the other rooms outside the house...The rainforest is everywere and you hear it when the sun is raising in the morning.

You can have a lovely breakfast with tropical fruits, cereal, toast, etc with the birds (we didn't get to be lucky enought to meet the cassowary).

Two lovely green tree frogs were waiting for us the second night and did lots of pics of them!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosabcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews