We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a unique place on the edge of civilization. The owner, Rob, has created a wonderful, comfortable experience to make you feel at one with the surrounding rainforest. We stayed two nights in the detached bungalow with the outdoor bathroom. Very cool! Rob was a gracious host and served us delicious breakfasts of tropical fruit, most of which we had never had before. He has built creative sculptures on a set of trails through the property, which add to the interesting atmosphere. At night, you can hear the jungle come to life, including bullfrogs and other animals. We just missed a cassowary encounter while we were there. Oh well. It was still a memorable experience, and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rainforest hideaway is a lovely retreat hidden in the rainforest. Rob was very welcoming chatting with us about the area and his sculptures. He has many sculptures in and around his property and he has created a minigolf course throughout the grounds which when finished is going to be awesome, the holes that are there are fun to play on and free to lodgers. We had the room by the pond and it was fun sitting out on the terrasse listening to and trying to spot frogs. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was awesome with lots of different exotic fruit, some of which I had never heard of. I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a very unusual place. The landscaping that owner Rob has achieved with his incredible sculptures and beautiful little section of rainforest have to be seen to be believed. Rob and friend were so welcoming and we really enjoyed the many informative and enjoyable chats we had with them. We had the room next to the pond and marveled at the weird and wonderful sounds of the frogs at night. You really feel a part of nature here. Then on our last day a pair of beautiful cassowaries spent 2 hours with us over breakfast and seemed in no hurry to leave. We are so glad we tried this place as it is so unique. Only be aware of the mozzies (although they did not both my husband). I was glad of my insect repellent. Thanks Rob for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This place is Heaven on Earth, Rob was a great host and has amazing knowledge of the rainforest. The sounds of the rainforest at night are so relaxing, if your lucky you get to see the cassowaries around breakfast time eating fruit. This place has to be seen as no words can describe this incredible place.
Adrian and Tarez

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adriandeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Eating owner Rob's varied tropical fruit at breakfast with 2 "brightly coloured" cassowaries polishing off all the bits we didn't eat, was an absolute delight!
Their quizzical faces kept looking expectantly for more, for over 2 hours, plenty of time to let their startlingly coloured heads star in your photos.
Cape Tribulation also has a few great restaurants, our favourite " Whet", walking distance from Rob's unique cottages and rooms.
What more could a visitor want?

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage with the outdoor shower, right amongst the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranY44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were the only guests here but had a great time hiking the hotel's trails and seeing the cassowaries that hang around there. The creek was refreshing and crocodile free. Our room had a bathroom outside that opened up to the rainforest. Pretty cool. No tv"s or anything but a great place to chill. There is Internet and the owner was so helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank czechpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

An incredible place in the rain forest. A warm welcome. The B&B is in the rain forest where you can feel and hear the wildlife. We had the chance to receive the visit of a young cassowary during our breakfast. Don't forget to spend time to go around the cabins to see the sculpture made by Rob, amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
580 reviews
10.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
9.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Hideaway

Address: Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range: £73 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation deep inside the world's oldest rainforest. Solar powered eco-accommodation without some of the luxuries and facilities of the big resorts, but comfortable and located within walking distance of beach, restaurants, shop and National Park boardwalks. On the two hectare property there is a sculpture trail showcasing sculptures created by the owner and several visiting artists, fishponds and a beautiful freshwater creek. This place is owner-built and owner-managed, and your host is always happy to provide you with tips on where to go and what to do and book any activities you'd like to do. Prolific wildlife is another feature of this property, especially the cassowaries that frequently visit the place. You can make your holiday action-packed with the local tours such as snorkeling, jungle surfing, horse riding, sea kayaking etc. or total relaxation by hanging out on the property on the seats on the sculpture trail, or in the hammocks around the house. Keep in touch with the outside world through free Wifi. If you are an artist you might even like to add your own creation to the sculpture trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rainforest Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hideaway Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing