We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainforest Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Daintree Rainforest Retreat(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$399
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reflections of Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$663
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$615
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
125
22
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
22
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomsculpture trailb bthe main houseunique experiencethai massagetropical fruitan absolute delightgreat charactersolar panelsnice bedhot showerfreshwater creekbeautiful breakfastenjoy natureoff the beaten trackkind of place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2007

We wanted to live the rainforest and we looked for something special and cossy, but not very expensive.
We stayed for two nights in the room in the main house who has a private access.

All was clean and ready when we arrived late night. Rob was waiting for us and explained about the place.

He has done everything with his won hands!!! the beds, the house, the other rooms outside the house...The rainforest is everywere and you hear it when the sun is raising in the morning.

You can have a lovely breakfast with tropical fruits, cereal, toast, etc with the birds (we didn't get to be lucky enought to meet the cassowary).

Two lovely green tree frogs were waiting for us the second night and did lots of pics of them!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosabcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2006

I cannot begin to describe this experience. This was our first trip to Australia that took about a year to plan and the Rainforest Hideaway was the highlight of the whole trip. it really is getting back to nature. The place is in the middle of nowhere. The drive up the coast from Cairns is spectacular and it's the last post before the road turns into a track for 4 wheel drive vehicles only.
I stumbled across Rob's website whilst surfing for something different and we certainly got that! This is a small place run entirely by Rob and his lovely partner Delphine is on hand to offer spa treatments (she does a wonderful massage). There are only four guest rooms. One attached to the main house which is open plan to the rainforest. it has two living rooms and a kitchen and reception area with plenty of information about what to do and see in the area. Then there are two log cabin rooms with on suite (round the back of the cabin a private outside bathroom with only a rope fence between you and the rainforest!) and a cabin with one whole wall missing just covered in mesh so you have a real feeling of sleeping right in with nature. We opted for an en suite log cabin.Obviously the accomodation is basic but it is clean and even after staying in a luxury hotel before arriving we soon got used to it. There are no wardrobes so we didn't bother unpacking. The room had a bed, clothes pegs, 2 bedside tables and a bench and that was it. The outside bathroom was a real shock to start with and the first night I found it hard to sleep because of all the rainforst noises, trees swaying, branches creaking and birds calling. But having a hot shower in a morning outside amongst the trees is something you have to experience, and by the end of our four day stay we'd really got into rainforest living. The breakfasts were good with fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt and toast and plenty of good hot coffee. Rob was a fantastic host and really helpful with local services and trips. It was nice to mingle with the other guests at breakfast and we had a pleasant evening playing jenga and having a few beers with a young couple from Japan. Rob stocks the fridge up with wine and beer at very reasonable prices. There are a number of restaurants and bars in the area but they are not open all day long so beware. On our arrival we struggled to get something to eat as some of the places on the way up had closed for lunch but not opened for dinner. We eventually found Mason's a shop come snack bar that has its own natural swimming hole round the back just before you get to the Rainforest Hideaway. Other places are PJ's, which is a complex for travellers with a good bar - cheap beer and reasonable food. It's very laid back. We can also recommend the Dragonfly restaurant and bar. We enjoyed an excellent curry and steaks there. Cape Tribulation is a truly wonderful place. We went jungle surfing on arial slides through the canopy led by a fantastic group of young people. We went crocadile spotting on the Daintree River but just taking a walk on the many beautiful beaches and through the boardwalks was amazing. On the way to our next destination we went to the Discovery Centre where you can go round the boardwalk and see the beauty of the rainforest. We were lucky enough to see a cassawary emu type bird with a black neck and spectacular brilliant blue plume. Altogether a fantastic experience in an awe inspiring place.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CASTLEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

The Rainforest Hidaway was built by a guy called Rob over the past 13 years and features a 4 unique lodges and rooms slap-bang in the middle of the Cape Trib rainforest. We stayed in the main lodge which is a single wooden room (double bed) with a bathroom and toilet built on the side of the lodge facing out to the rainforest. Honestly, going to the toilet and looking out into the rainforest is a pretty great experience!

Each morning you can go to the main house and have breakfast and chat to the fellow guests and Rob and his partner, Delphina. Breakfast consists of local tropical fruit (gorgeous), home made yogurt and cereal and toast. All very relaxing and the bonus is that each morning a Cassowary comes in and joins you (it keeps it's distance!) - trust me, this is a pretty rare experience, most Aussies would kill for this, but we had it every morning.

This is true eco-acommodation - all electricity is solar powered so there's no fridge in your room, instead you use the gas powered one in the main house, and you can't use things like hair dryers. Being in the rainforest, obviously expect it to be humid and there to be creepy-crawlies everywhere - but there's no mosquitoes or any dangerous creatures in this rainforest, so it's all gravy. Rob keeps everything immensly clean - we had a 6 month old baby with us (the first baby ever to visit apparently) and we had no problems at all.

Rob will make all the tour bookings for you and Delphina is on hand for a crystal healing massage (recommended!). Cape Trib is a beautiful place - we recommend the Rum Runner Reef tour (100% living reef) and the Crocodile Tour on the daintree river (bargain at $23). To top it all, on our way back from the reef we spotted 4 humpback whales, and two of them came within a few feet of the boat. Unbelievable experience.

I totally recommend the Rainforest Hideaway - don't be scared, we had a baby and had no problems - it's clean, relaxing, friendly and a totally unforgettable experience. We stayed for 5 nights, I wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steelcity_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews