We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night on a way through to Townsville. We had the room which faced directly to the beachfront with a private balcony. The room had just been refurbished and offer a great space to chill out and take in the views and ocean breeze. We slept with the sliding door open so we could hear the ocean through the night. Lovely friendly owners and we had a lovely too short a visit.
PS: hubby spent half a day reading on the Balinese day bed. Soooo comfortable!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kegs1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    48
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
99
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We just overnighted here on a road trip from Cairns to Airlie. The host were friendly, helpful and made us feel at home. The room was very large and the bed very comfy and also spotlessly clean.
It is an older motel and while they have repainted and done the place up a bit it still has the original sinks and kitchen cupboards, they could do with being replaced but this did not distract from our stay. Everything was so clean and comfy, who cares? It's on the highway but the traffic noise was not an issue.
Between the hotel and beach there is a lovely walking path, an evening stroll with the sun setting and Hinchenbrook island in the background was delightful.
Nice playground close if you have kids.
Definitely would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Give_Me_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This has to be one of the best motels in Australia. Situated right on the beach you feel instantly relaxed from the time you arrive. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which overlooked the beach meaning we woke up each morning to the most magnificent view of the sea and Hinchinbrook island.

The hosts are so friendly they make you feel so welcome. They are always up for a chat and whilst we stayed we were enjoyed a drink with them most evenings. They are very knowledgable about the area and can you recommend restaurants and book on you a tour around the island or give you ideas of other things to do nearby. They even offered us the use of their washing machine and when we to hang it out they had already done it for us.

Whilst we were there me and my wife had a mix of relaxation and activities. The trip we did around Hinchinbrook was amazing but we had some equally great days lazing next to the motel's pool or taking a walk down Cardwell's new walkway which follows the coast and is about 5km long (I think the motel is somewhere near the middle). The walkway also goes past the town centre so you can follow it down to a cafe/pub which takes 5/10 minutes.

The rooms themselves are very clean and comfortable. Our room had been recently renovated so was great. I think they have renovated about half the rooms. You can choose a room with cooking facilities if you are on a budget or feel like a night in. Our room had these facilities and it was great for getting breakfast ready each morning.

Overall I would recommend for a week's holiday like me and wife had in Cardwell but equally it would be a great place to stop for a night on a trip between Cairns and Cardwell.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a great view of the beach. I can't think of a better view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Cardwell has to be one of the nicest spots to stop in FNQ and this motel enhances the experience. Overlooking the beach and Hinchinbrook island is the best way to spend a night.
Nicely refurbished rooms and welcoming owners make a great change. Also free wifi with no restrictions big hotels should take note.Plenty of food shops and 24hr petrol in town
Lovely place to stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodlovers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed overnight in Cardwell and walked along the beachfront to the Coral Sea memorial in the morning. It was a pleasant walk and the historical information interesting.
The room was self contained so we were able to prepare a continental breakfast and sit outside.
The owners were extremely helpful. We arrived just just as the owner was going to the local fish shop which was outside walking distance and we could have had 'room service'. This obviously required good 'timing'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just returned from a great 3 night stay in Cardwell Beachfront Motel with hosts Steve & Janet, who made us very pleased with our choice of motels. Looking for a town to go to have a Sunlander train trip before it is terminated at the end of the year, we chose Cardwell because we left & reboarded the train at very convenient times.. We chose this Motel after reading Trip Adviser & the glowing reports. Janet picked us up at the station on arrival, pointing out things of interest on our way to the Motel, & Steve dropped us back to the station to catch the train home. From the website we had chosen the Crab no 6 room, a refurbished self contained room. This was an excellent choice & would recommend it for longer than 1 night stays. The view from the front balcony out to sea is spectacular.
Steve advised us to walk north along the path for something of interest. It turned out to be the area set up as a memorial of the WW2 Coral Sea naval battle in May 1942, with tributes to 3 American ships lost there, 2 were sunk & one that was scuttled there because of excessive damage.
We found an IGA for groceries & cafes & a hotel within walking distance for either dine in or takeaway meals. A variety of newspapers is available within a short distance from 4.30am at the Choice service station.
I noticed that Cardwell is serviced by Greyhound Bus Service with the bus stop closer than the railway station to the Motel

Room Tip: No 6 the Crab room is the one to pick but others I saw were also good depending on your length of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your very comprehensive review! The bus & train is an ideal means of reaching Cardwell from either direction, and as you mentioned, the Cardwell Beachfront Motel is an easy walk to most things in town. Otherwise, we are happy to drive our guests if a need arises. Glad that you also absorbed some of the 150 year history of this lovely town :) J&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

An excellent choice for a long or short stay in Cardwell. Listen to the waves at night (the water is that close), stroll along the foreshore and down to the visitors centre and shops, or jump on the boat to Hinchinbrook just metres from your room. Janet and Steve are as good as it gets, friendly, helpful, flexible and generous. We'll be going back for sure.

Room Tip: The self contained apartments are the best option for a little more per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45owenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to immerse yourselves into the laidback Cardwell lifestyle! Look forward to your return visit..... J&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#2 of 5 in Cardwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Taihoa Holiday Units
Taihoa Holiday Units
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
23.1 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
24.8 mi away
Mission Beach Shores
Mission Beach Shores
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardwell Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardwell Beachfront Motel

Property: Cardwell Beachfront Motel
Address: 1 Scott St, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cardwell Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing