We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachcomber Restaurant Cardwell”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beachcomber Restaurant Cardwell”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We've been dining here regularly for years on our visits up from Brisbane, the location and views across Rockingham Bay towards Hinchinbrook Island are so peaceful with lovely breezes making sitting outside the Restaurant so enjoyable, the high quality of the ever hanging imaginative menu with friendly North Qld service makes dining here such a pleasure, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    52
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
70
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

As we only live just over an hours drive away from Cardwell we thought we would try this van park out. We like to try different van parks every other weekend or so. We had not booked a site but were very welcomed when we arrived on Valentines Day afternoon. Lots of sites available for us to choose from. The amenities are quite old and not very clean. We did not try the restaurant as it was fully booked. It is a lovely spot and I know would be very busy in the winter months for the southerners. Also a great range of cabins available. We will return there again.

Room Tip: Only stayed on a powered caravan site this trip but we have stayed in the rooms overlooking the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the caravan park here in Cardwell. The lady at the reception was very helpful and friendly plus also accepting of our dog which is a bonus as not all places are. The restaurant is fabulous, happy hour and excellent meals. The bathrooms / toilets are quite old but overall stay here was great and a good start to our trip! Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HJW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirwan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My overall experience at Beachcomber was enjoyable however there was some miscommunication regarding fees. Cardwell Information Centre Lady rang hotel on our behalf. In front of me she advised the type of room we wanted & beds. The hotel also advertises wireless internet which was a key factor when choosing the room. A price was given & I wrote it down on their brochure given to me by the lady at the info centre. On arriving at the motel 5 minutes later the lady at the front office did not appear to know anything about a call. The room jumped from $120 to $152. I was tired so accepted the room but then was told the wi-fi was out of action. Would have liked a heads up, So people confirm your price.
Regardless of this the room was situated across from the beach, (specify this) provided tea & coffee, was modern, clean & fresh. The swimming pool is lovely with shade provided.
Just a kudos to the cleaning ladies for their friendly & helpful nature.

Room Tip: Air- cond. was situated directly over the King Single which made it to uncomfortable to sleep in. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Manager at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
We are sorry about the confusion regarding our rates, often people enquiring do not realise that rates are based on a double occupancy and do not realise that extra people sharing a room are charged an additional surcharge..This is a general industry standard..All our tariffs are shown on ouir website and should clearly show what rates apply.We are now pleased to advise that our internet issues are now resolved and we will offer all gueste staying in our beachfront motel rooms one hour complimentary internet access.Please advise us on check in if you require this service.
Regards
The Beachcomber Motel and Tourist Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this motel three years ago just before the 2011 cyclone which destroyed much of Cardwell, in one of the motel units right next to and facing the sea. As our last trip was such a pleasant experience we booked two nights in advance in one of the newly constructed family units also facing the sea . If you like a quiet peaceful position with excellent views away from all the activities associated with noisy holiday makers then this is the place for you. The unit was very clean and spacious and contained everything which we needed except for any internet connection which wasn't a problem in view of the length of our stay. However it is worth noting that up until the point of our stay at the Beachcomber we had stayed in eight previous establishments in our touring holiday and this was the first one with no internet capability. The reception staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay ,apart from the internet issues!.In the five years plus that we have owned the Beachcomber we have had major issues with various internet providers.We have paid a considerable amount of money to a number of companies offering all sorts of promises.We are currently working with a local company who can hopefully offer a reliable, consistent service.Alternatevly, on your next stay please advise reception and we connect you via our office service.

Regards
Graham Hennessy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Beachcomber - one night in an executive motel room and one night in a queen motel room. Both rooms were very clean and recently refurbished and had quiet air conditioners. The queen bed was softer and more comfortable than the king bed and the executive room had a more modern bathroom, but both were clean and functional. Both rooms were on the upper level and had magnificent ocean views. There is a street between the motel and beach but it is pretty quiet. They have a beautiful restaurant downstairs with tables inside and outside on the grass and a happy hour from 4.30 to 6.00pm every day. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was fabulous. It wasn't cheap, but I am happy to pay for good food! I would definitely stay here again! We looked around the caravan park and it is clean, well maintained with plenty of shady sites and a very nice swimming pool. They also have some large 3 bedroom cabins which have lovely ocean views and look fairly new. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our car there for 4 days while we did a hike on Hinchinbrook Island, which we really appreciated!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the place to stay in Cardwell. Grahame and Sandy keep this place spotless.
We stayed here 5& a half years ago. Yasi smashed them and their up and running.
Great service, great food on site and a happy hour to boot.
Clean ammenities and ground. Great sites. We will be back.
Thanks guys. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your great review.We pass on all reviews to our staff and trust that they appreciate all comments from our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#1 of 23 in Mission Beach
129 reviews
24.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
129 reviews
21.8 mi away
Taihoa Holiday Units
Taihoa Holiday Units
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Property: Beachcomber Motel
Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing