We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Friendly camping by the Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cardwell
Cairns Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly camping by the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Recently spent Easter with our dog at Cardwell. Had an excellent powered site to park our Jayco Camper. Most of the sites along Raleigh Road side of the park are divided with little wooden fences which is great as it gives you a little extra privacy. Get one of them if you can. The park management are friendly and helpful. I hear the restaurant is great but did not get around to eating there. It was always full once happy hour started. Lots of dogs around but everyone seemed good picking up after them and all the dogs seemed to be enjoying themselves too. Never once saw dog droppings on the ground. Also very children friendly. Amenities very clean, good pool and camp kitchen. Also right on the beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jawiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park.We are pleased that you (and your pet) enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.We have two dogs which you probably met ( Aby and Mini ) and appreciate from our own travels finding parks where pets are welcome.Again, thank you for your review and your positive comments will be passed on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    49
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
67
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We've been dining here regularly for years on our visits up from Brisbane, the location and views across Rockingham Bay towards Hinchinbrook Island are so peaceful with lovely breezes making sitting outside the Restaurant so enjoyable, the high quality of the ever hanging imaginative menu with friendly North Qld service makes dining here such a pleasure, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

As we only live just over an hours drive away from Cardwell we thought we would try this van park out. We like to try different van parks every other weekend or so. We had not booked a site but were very welcomed when we arrived on Valentines Day afternoon. Lots of sites available for us to choose from. The amenities are quite old and not very clean. We did not try the restaurant as it was fully booked. It is a lovely spot and I know would be very busy in the winter months for the southerners. Also a great range of cabins available. We will return there again.

Room Tip: Only stayed on a powered caravan site this trip but we have stayed in the rooms overlooking the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the caravan park here in Cardwell. The lady at the reception was very helpful and friendly plus also accepting of our dog which is a bonus as not all places are. The restaurant is fabulous, happy hour and excellent meals. The bathrooms / toilets are quite old but overall stay here was great and a good start to our trip! Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HJW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirwan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My overall experience at Beachcomber was enjoyable however there was some miscommunication regarding fees. Cardwell Information Centre Lady rang hotel on our behalf. In front of me she advised the type of room we wanted & beds. The hotel also advertises wireless internet which was a key factor when choosing the room. A price was given & I wrote it down on their brochure given to me by the lady at the info centre. On arriving at the motel 5 minutes later the lady at the front office did not appear to know anything about a call. The room jumped from $120 to $152. I was tired so accepted the room but then was told the wi-fi was out of action. Would have liked a heads up, So people confirm your price.
Regardless of this the room was situated across from the beach, (specify this) provided tea & coffee, was modern, clean & fresh. The swimming pool is lovely with shade provided.
Just a kudos to the cleaning ladies for their friendly & helpful nature.

Room Tip: Air- cond. was situated directly over the King Single which made it to uncomfortable to sleep in. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Manager at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
We are sorry about the confusion regarding our rates, often people enquiring do not realise that rates are based on a double occupancy and do not realise that extra people sharing a room are charged an additional surcharge..This is a general industry standard..All our tariffs are shown on ouir website and should clearly show what rates apply.We are now pleased to advise that our internet issues are now resolved and we will offer all gueste staying in our beachfront motel rooms one hour complimentary internet access.Please advise us on check in if you require this service.
Regards
The Beachcomber Motel and Tourist Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this motel three years ago just before the 2011 cyclone which destroyed much of Cardwell, in one of the motel units right next to and facing the sea. As our last trip was such a pleasant experience we booked two nights in advance in one of the newly constructed family units also facing the sea . If you like a quiet peaceful position with excellent views away from all the activities associated with noisy holiday makers then this is the place for you. The unit was very clean and spacious and contained everything which we needed except for any internet connection which wasn't a problem in view of the length of our stay. However it is worth noting that up until the point of our stay at the Beachcomber we had stayed in eight previous establishments in our touring holiday and this was the first one with no internet capability. The reception staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay ,apart from the internet issues!.In the five years plus that we have owned the Beachcomber we have had major issues with various internet providers.We have paid a considerable amount of money to a number of companies offering all sorts of promises.We are currently working with a local company who can hopefully offer a reliable, consistent service.Alternatevly, on your next stay please advise reception and we connect you via our office service.

Regards
Graham Hennessy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Beachcomber - one night in an executive motel room and one night in a queen motel room. Both rooms were very clean and recently refurbished and had quiet air conditioners. The queen bed was softer and more comfortable than the king bed and the executive room had a more modern bathroom, but both were clean and functional. Both rooms were on the upper level and had magnificent ocean views. There is a street between the motel and beach but it is pretty quiet. They have a beautiful restaurant downstairs with tables inside and outside on the grass and a happy hour from 4.30 to 6.00pm every day. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was fabulous. It wasn't cheap, but I am happy to pay for good food! I would definitely stay here again! We looked around the caravan park and it is clean, well maintained with plenty of shady sites and a very nice swimming pool. They also have some large 3 bedroom cabins which have lovely ocean views and look fairly new. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our car there for 4 days while we did a hike on Hinchinbrook Island, which we really appreciated!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 6 in Cardwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Cardwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 6 in Wongaling Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mission Beach Shores
Mission Beach Shores
#3 of 6 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
22.8 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Property: Beachcomber Motel
Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing