We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This motel was a pleasant surprise with wonderful views across to Hinchinbrook island. Our room was very spacious & clean. The beds were comfortable. Our airconditioning wasn't working so had to keep door open with security screen shut & were woken at 5am with road noise.
It was great having restaurant & bar on site & our seafood was terrific.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    52
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
69
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is another great caravan park right beside the beach, lovely tropical gardens, older facilities but spotlessly clean. A real bonus is the super bar and restaurant overlooking the beach. happy hour starts at 4.30pm and is not to be missed, friendly helpful management and staff, would have stayed longer if we could have.

Room Tip: We prefer sites away from the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanut1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just had delightful 9 nights in the caravan park here. Grounds are tidy and functional with that wonderful tropical lushness. The facilities whilst a little old were kept clean and functional. Camp kitchen and BBQ's.looked good and were always clean.
The highlight for us though was the restaurant. Bar opened at 4:30 and you would normally sit outside looking across the bay to the islands. Priceless!. Drinks were very keenly priced. Down as low as under $5 for some very good bottled wine. Way less if you you wanted a glass from a cask.
The food whilst not cheap was very good quality. As a rough guide steaks were $27-32. (my rib eye was perfect ) Chicken parmi $23. The parmi was huge and absolutely delicious. I also calamari as a main for about $23 as well. A lot of locals eat here and without saying a lot this place definitely has the best food in town by a country mile. There are also very good pizza's available on Sunday nights and during the week (I think). We had the seafood pizza that was one of the best we have had.
The hosts Sandy and Graham do a great job and importantly are real down to earth people that you can have a chat with .and they are genuinely interested in what you have to stay.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have site 17. This is probably the largest site on the park and opposite a number o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A big thank you to Sandy and Graham for the wonderful stays we have had here. We have stayed in the hotel rooms the cabins and the villas and camped. Always clean and tidy and the staff are wonderful and helpful. Right on the beach with a relaxed atmosphere. Great for family's. This is our home away from home.Thank-you again.see you soon.
Brad Nikii and the kids

Room Tip: Large family spend that little bit extra on the villa, but overall whether your camping, family or j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in a self-contained cabin which offered everything we basically needed and was clean enough on arrival. It seemed a bit too pricey though for the rather run-down state it was in – we paid 95 AUD per unit per night. We liked the location close to the beach and the pool, but were a bit annoyed that free WIFI was limited to an hour and some areas of the compound. The owners were friendly and helpful enough, but not overwhelmingly so. All in all it was an okay stay for two nights, but we got more for our money elsewhere in Queensland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent a very comfortable, quiet and reasonably priced 2 nights here just over a week ago and couldn't be happier with the friendly staff, beautiful location and great little restaurant. It was a bit of a friends' reunion for a group who hadn't seen each other for quite a while. It was wonderful to step out the room almost straight onto the beach and I had some great early morning walks along the restored (post-Yasi) foreshore. The charming restaurant was light, bright and open to the fresh air and magical views - even in poor weather the glass doors would preserve the views while keeping you warm and dry. We had great breakfasts both mornings and a very enjoyable dinner for 6 on the Monday night. Obviously Cardwell locals enjoy eating there too (why wouldn't they?) so make sure you book. The meal was excellent and service prompt. Loved it!

Room Tip: All the motel rooms seem to look out onto beach, bay and Hinchinbrook and Goold Islands. We were dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Recently spent Easter with our dog at Cardwell. Had an excellent powered site to park our Jayco Camper. Most of the sites along Raleigh Road side of the park are divided with little wooden fences which is great as it gives you a little extra privacy. Get one of them if you can. The park management are friendly and helpful. I hear the restaurant is great but did not get around to eating there. It was always full once happy hour started. Lots of dogs around but everyone seemed good picking up after them and all the dogs seemed to be enjoying themselves too. Never once saw dog droppings on the ground. Also very children friendly. Amenities very clean, good pool and camp kitchen. Also right on the beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park.We are pleased that you (and your pet) enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.We have two dogs which you probably met ( Aby and Mini ) and appreciate from our own travels finding parks where pets are welcome.Again, thank you for your review and your positive comments will be passed on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
22.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#1 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
22.8 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Property: Beachcomber Motel
Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing