We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Kookaburra Holiday Park is one of those little gems you find from time to time in your travells. From the moment we walked into the office we loved the place. Everything is neat and tidy and the staff are extremely courteous and friendly people. Our unit was immacculately clean and well appointed and we'd definitely choose the same unit for our next visit to Cardwell. The gardens and surrounds are very well cared for and very attractive. The common laundry has every convenience conceivable,even soft background music. The laundry itself is a "must see" as it also doubles as a tourist information centre. We'll be back !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Fantastic place to stay highly recommended to anyone, lovely gardens, the hosts were very friendly, the amenities were spotless, our rooms were very clean and there was accommodation to suit everyone, will definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our family were recently stranded in Cardwell due to Bruce Highway flooding and were advised by local retail traders to seek accommodation at the Kookaburra Holiday Park. We found Peter and Denise to be very helpful in our situation, not only were they able to provide well maintained basic accommodation (self contained with air-conditioning), but also provided good advice on local facilities, food outlets, road conditions and just lovely people for a chat. The grounds were were well maintained and laundry facilities better than some accommodation we experienced in Victoria last year. We were very appreciative and grateful for both the hospitality and accommodation and would easily recommend the Kookaburra as great place to stay if you happen to be stopping in Cardwell. Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kookaburra_Hol_Park, Owner at Kookaburra Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thanks for the great review of the Kookaburra Holiday Park, we all work very hard at maintaining the high standard of the park and it is reviews like yours that make it so worthwhile.

Your feedback and the time you have taken to review your stay at the Kookaburra is very much appreciated. We strive to provide decent accommodation for an affordable price.

The villas that you stayed in have since been repainted and freshened up. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again to the Kookaburra in the future, but under less stressful circumstances next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed at kookaburras on my own in a one bedroom Donga, which had air con, small plasma tv, wardrobe.. It was small but suited my needs at the time, the room was right next to the kitchen and bathroom facilities. The owners I found very pleasant and made me feel welcome at all times I would have a chat with them when I saw them round the campsite etc. there is a very nice swimming pool,which is enclosed i spent most days there to cool down from the heat. unfortunately I had to leave due to having no work in Cardwell, it's a small town with very little to do so I had to leave.the owners refunded me my money back for the rent on my room , no problem and also printed off directions for my next destination.also the cleaners were very friendly, the kitchen and bathrooms were clean always. Will revisit if not just to go back and see them and stay on the campsite. Happy backpacker.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kookaburra_Hol_Park, Owner at Kookaburra Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your very kind words and review, Margaret. We are glad that you enjoyed your time whilst staying at the Kookaburra and we hope to see you again some time on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We needed a bed the next night.........so I found a "twin roomette" in this van park in the centre of Cardwell on the internet. We just needed a bed with linen and a pillow........PLUS an air conditioner for December's hot weather. And I suppose we go it.
A little rough around the edges but clean, tidy PLUS friendly staff to great and direct us.
The advert DID say that these rooms were very suitable for fishermen, and the advert was NOT wrong. But we survived, sleeping in a "donga" style room with many other working men around us in their little rooms. WE went to the pub for tea.........not too hard to do....... and we had an early night in preparation for an early start next day. Another interesting experience to mark down!!

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest priced TWINETTE. Aim higher if possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungJenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at this caravan park in our own caravan (powered site) for 3 nights. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The amenties were older but were always neat, clean and tidy. The caravan park is on the highway, but we found that there was little traffic noise during the night. The park was good value for money and we would happily recommend this park to others.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kookaburra_Hol_Park, Owner at Kookaburra Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thanks for the great review of the Kookaburra. We, as owners, work very hard at maintaining the high standard of the park and it is reviews like yours that make it so worthwhile.

Your feedback and the time you have taken to review your stay at the Kookabura is very much appreciated.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

stayed with my siblings in 3 cabins over 2 nights.... accommodations were basic but cosy with all the amenitites you need..

only problem I had was the bedding was not 100% cotton and as i have an allergy to Polyester, i had to use my own bedding...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardwell hotels
0.3 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#2 of 5 in Cardwell
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Holiday Park

Address: 175 Victoria Street, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cardwell
Price Range: £51 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Holiday Park is situated on 3 acres of lush tropical gardens and has villas, motel units, camping, backpacker rooms and cabins with free high-speed WIFI, pool, free BBQ areas, laundry. Clean, quality accommodation at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kookaburra Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing