We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”
Review of Charleville Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charleville Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Charleville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean, well appointed rooms. Staff were great & even booked our next night for a good price for us. Good hot showers with decent water pressure & a good nights sleep after a very long day. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

1 night $129
26 May 2014

Not a lot of accommodation in Charleville but we hit the jackpot with this motel. A pleasant surprise after some of the accommodation we have stayed in Central Australia. Booked through wotif but reception told us it would of only been $115 if we booked through them....oh well next time! Reception area is very inviting, bright and tidy. You can walk through reception to the Menzies Restaurant.
Very nice friendly owner who told us they are slowly doing up all their rooms.
We were given room 11. No unpleasant smells when the door is first opened, nice furniture and linen, carpets clean and the bathroom is the same and so clean. They even give a complimentary bottle of water which we haven't had in 16 days of travel.
Good selection of pay tv stations. The usual amenities AC, microwave etc. A comfy queen size bed and a single as well. There is an adjoining door if you need extra room.
The motel isn't in the centre of town so you really need transport to get around.
Really if you are in Charleville you must stay here, you will be surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Charleville Motel, Charleville in Western Queensland. The rooms were well appointed and most comfortable. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
We dined at the Menzies Restaurant attached to the Motel and were most impressed. The food was divine and cooked to perfection. We would recommend this restaurant.
We look forward to returning to Charleville to have another great steak. Congratulations to owners and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen10352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

being from charleville many many years ago my wife & i attended a recent reunion in the town. we stayed at this motel & were very surprised to see the great renovations being done by karen & colin. once the new bbq area is complete the motel will be like a home away from home. free wi fi (unheard of in the bush towns), pool, free washing facilitys & friendly staff. will def be staying there next time in town for visit. short walk to town centre is also a plus

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent a night in the Charleville Motel and were quite comfortable, the room was not spectacular but certainly was a notch above the average. Very clean, well-maintained room and grounds. There was some kind of landscaping work going on right next to our room but as it was knock-off time when we arrived we were not disturbed by this, although it made parking the car a bit difficult. Our daughter tried out the motel pool and gave it two thumbs up - it was nice and refreshing on a warm evening.
Unfortunately the restaurant was closed as it was Sunday night so we had to find our own food - the only place open seemed to be a local takeaway which took a bit of driving around to find.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitylexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The motel it's self was clean and well kept, not too cramped.
The water in the shower was very smelly but this has to be expected as it is probably bore water.
Our main complaint was the Steakhouse Restaurant, we ordered our meal at about 7.15pm and were finally served at 8.45pm. When we complained the staff although apologetic were very defensive and when we spoke to the owners the following morning the excuses were "small kitchen, two large tables of patrons, filling room orders, and the cook said he was doing the best he could"
The meals were by no means inexpensive so I would expect far better service and if the issues listed above are addressed things would be better. Once our meals arrived they were quite reasonable.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

It seems the new owners are slowly renovating the hotel into a very fine country establishment, and by country standards it's a great place to stay. The little things they have done make the difference: free wifi (that you struggle to get anywhere these days in Australia), free laundry facilities, and a good choice of digital tv and selected foxtel channels. The rooms are clean and comfy enough. I struggle to find anything to nit pick about really.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lachy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Corones Charleville
Hotel Corones Charleville
#5 of 5 in Charleville
52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn
Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Charleville
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mulga Country Motor Inn
Mulga Country Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Charleville
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rocks Motel
The Rocks Motel
#1 of 5 in Charleville
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cosmos Country Motor Inn
Cosmos Country Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Charleville
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Warrego Motel
#2 of 4 in Charleville
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Motel

Address: 148 King St, Charleville, Queensland 4470, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Charleville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Charleville
Price Range: £70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleville Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Charleville Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing