We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in town”

Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charleville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Set in a quiet street near the Historic House Museum, the friendly and helpful staff are outstanding going above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your stay. Clean and comfortable and welcoming. Great tips about things to do and places to eat. We loved our weekend stay here returning to the town where I was born after 45 years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    55
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
51
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This motel is in a very good position right on the edge of the, the CBD. The rooms were clean and comfortable, a typical old style motel. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The only negative I could find was the tight parking. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juss83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a well appointed motel right in the middle of the CBD. The layout of the motel was superior to anything we had previously encountered in the outback. We were made to feel welcome. Staff were business-like, helpful and friendlyon all occasions and indeed the other guests who were mainly contract worker in the outback.

The rooms were of a good size. The furniture was good quality and came with all the add on domestic facilities - settee, table and chairs, desk, good sized fridge, microwave etc. The bathroom was very modern. Outside there were tables and chairs, pool and a barbecue. There is also a good laundry which was free of charge. There is an in house restaurant but with limited choice.

Following advice from the proprietors we chose to walk out to the nearly RSL, about 10 minutes away which was pleasant tin the cool of the evening. Unfortunately for us as we did so the drought broke, saturating us and especially hard hit were the feet in the streams of water. This led to rejoicing for a lot but certainly not us! The quality, choice and price of the food did a lot to compensate.

This motel has a lot to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Staying here for two nights, on arrival was immediately greeted and asked about our plans - we had minimal so the suggestions started to flow... I love a passionate owner as they are the best advocates for their town. A simple thing that would have bumped up.... turn on air con on 40 degree days so that room is more enjoyable on arrival. Everything to date has been wonderful.

Room Tip: if you are arriving like we did after a 10 hour drive on a 40 degree day - suggest that aircon be tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very clean and fresh. The location is very central and the staff could not be more helpful. We were provided s free lift to the airport which was most helpful. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

A great motel to stay at after a long day out on the road. The room we had and the beds were very comfortable. The location is great as its not too far a walk to the local shops and drinking establishments. We ordered the big breakfast and it certainly was big and very tasty. I would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our stay in Charleville was brief but the accommodation at this motel was all that we could wish. All our needs were met and the room was well appointed, clean and the bed comfortable. It is easy to walk into the business area and the bakery and newsagent opened early so we could supplement the breakfast we carried with us. This proximity to town did not make the motel noisy at all and we passed a peaceful night. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleville hotels
1.2 mi away
Mulga Country Motor Inn
Mulga Country Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Charleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Motel
The Rocks Motel
#1 of 5 in Charleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charleville Motel
Charleville Motel
#4 of 5 in Charleville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Warrego Motel
Warrego Motel
#2 of 4 in Charleville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cosmos Country Motor Inn
Cosmos Country Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Charleville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corones Charleville
Hotel Corones Charleville
#5 of 5 in Charleville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn

Property: Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn
Address: 125 Alfred St, Charleville, Queensland 4470, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Charleville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn is an owner operated motel. Your hosts, Martin and Cathy, wish to extend a warm welcome to all our guests whether staying for a few days or just overnight. Our dining room opens Monday through to Thursday evenings, we offer free Wi-Fi to guests, laundry service, comfortable rooms and relaxing gardens, a pool and nature walks close by. Our Motel is situated a short stroll to the shops, local pubs and cafes in Charleville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waltzing Matilda Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing