We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalrymple Tourist Van Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We used this park as a base for a few days spent seeing the sights of Charters Towers. The kids loved the pool (though it was freezing) and we all enjoyed the jumping pillow. We stayed in a cabin, it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here, so much we recommended it to our friends who stayed just a few weeks later.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z-Chickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having travelled through most of outback Queensland we found this to be a very pleasant park to stay at. The reception was friendly and helpful and our site was good for our needs. Amenities were clean and tidy for a country park. We enjoyed our stay as there was not a lot of dust like in some other parks. Well done to the managers for their efforts

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here in two years. We noticed some improvements and still enjoyed the very pleasant surroundings. Nice sunny and shaded sites with concrete pad and enough room to leave the car hitched if needed. Saturday night was a BBQ for guests at $11 per head for the Flying Doctor - Great idea and value. Staff very helpful to assist with our four van party and although only ringing the day before were able to fit us very close.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The reception we received upon arriving was the worst in 28 camps we stayed at this trip.
The receptionist was rude and very off hand.
We ended up staying one night as we were also not impressed with the very small back to back van sites with a maximum gap of one to two metre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 87unhappy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our group of six travelling around Australia in vans, chose Dalrymple for a 2 night stay several reasons. The park is well kept and the amenities are very clean. However, we were soon to find out what deplorable customer service is all about. These guys wrote the book on bad service. We (seperately) found out how rude, non caring, disrespectful and so forth they could be. We complained we were overcharged as prices were not clarified nor were they explained. We are all seniors and therefore have been offered seniors discount wherever we have been. Not here, when I queried that, I was told in a very rude way, 'did I ask for it'. No, but do I look like I'm under 50? She told me we didn't ask for it so we don't get it, end of story. We have never had to ask and for the sake of 10% saving for them, they have done themselves a great disservice, not only for the discount we lost but more for their couldn't care less attitude. We would never go there again because we have other choices. Go somewhere else and don't bother with arrogant front office staff. The most appalling customer service I have EVER experienced. They do not deserve their rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank zsazsa1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

While this park looks lovely and we stayed in a cabin that was neat but not particularly clean, it was the attitude of the owners that amazed us. Upon arrival our cabin wasn't quite ready and the friendly NEW (had been there 2 days) receptionist said she would need to make up the bed, we said if she gave us the sheets we didn't mind making it up ourselves. Then the owner (female) turned on her and abused her in front of us. We couldn't believe the behaviour displayed. Then we were "chatted" for washing the bugs off the front of our car. Next day we were abused for moving the chairs in the BBQ area , which we had to do as the sprinklers came on and we moved a few meters so as not to get wet. Next time we go to the Towers we will be staying somewhere else. Will never stay at this place again unless there is a change of owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the van park in August 2013. The park accommodated us with a beautiful shady area as we are close on 19metres. We didn't have a slab but we enjoyed the grass under our feet. The other park residents were very helpful and so friendly.
The park holds smoko mornings where you bring a cup and plate with a 2dollar coin and for that is a hot cuppa and freshly made scones jam and cream. They also hold BBQ nites for the residents. We stayed four days and I would recommend to stay here. The amenities were really clean and the staff we had any interactions with were quite hospitable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charters Towers hotels
1.7 mi away
Big4 Aussie Outback Oasis Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Charters Towers Tourist Park
Charters Towers Tourist Park
#3 of 6 in Charters Towers
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kernow Charters Towers
Kernow Charters Towers
#1 of 7 in Charters Towers
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Charters Towers Motel
Charters Towers Motel
#3 of 7 in Charters Towers
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Park Motel
The Park Motel
#5 of 7 in Charters Towers
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
#4 of 7 in Charters Towers
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrymple Tourist Van Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrymple Tourist Van Park

Address: 24 Dalrymple Rd | Follow signs to Greenvale, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Charters Towers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Charters Towers
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalrymple Tourist Van Park 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resident owners Brad and Tanya invite you to stay at our lovely park. We offer good old fashion country hospitality and have all the features you would expect - spotlessly clean amenities, self contained cabins, grass and slab powered sites, tent sites, tropical pool, huge well equipped camp kitchen, BBQ's, dump point, kiosk, free wireless internet, jumping pillow, ensuite van sites and we are the closest park to town. Our large fire pit is a great place to share a drink and travel stories with your new found friends. Our chooks, vege and herb gardens provide fresh produce for us all to enjoy. Head chef, Tanya, will do her best to provide delicious and value for money meals over the winter months. To burn off some calories after enjoying Tanya's famous sticky date pudding... why not a game of golf. The course is just next door with clubs and buggies available for hire. WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU TO YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Dalrymple Tourist Van Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing