We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wow, what a great 1/2 day of fishing!

Thankyou Mark! You engaged with the kids 9 & 10 Y/O’s). We caught no less than 9+ species of fish... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
Jamie M
via mobile
Great fishing trip with Mark

My wife and me went for a half day fishing charter with Mark. We caught plenty of fish: several... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2018
Moritz R
via mobile
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
47
4
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
4
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mangrove jacks fish weather was perfect great guide endeavour river sense of humour live bait great morning his knowledge mark gt rod techniques barra skills charter reef
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Thankyou Mark! You engaged with the kids 9 & 10 Y/O’s). We caught no less than 9+ species of fish in only a total of 4.5 hours. We released most & took 4 “keepers” home for diner! An AWSOME morning of fishing & the best “bang for buck”. We even saw 2 Salties (1 of which was over 4m)
Keep up the great work by putting them on the fish Mark!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went on a half day trip with Mark which is about 4 hrs. We spent the first 2 hours watching him trying to catch the bait. (Bait was to be supplied) This meant we could not go right up the river as we expected. His advertisement also states morning tea is included but all that was on offer was a bottle of water. We caught two small fish. Cost us $230. We caught 2 flat head off the jetty the next day. Cost - 2 prawns. We feel really ripped off. Worst charter we have ever been on.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Beryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
privali, Owner at Gone Fishing - Cooktown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

We were disappointed in the charter too Beryl, but for different reasons to you. Alarms bells rang as soon as you stepped on the boat and your husband announced he was a professional fisherman. A half day charter is 4.5 hours, not 4, your charter was 4.5 hours. 7am – 11.30am. On the morning of your charter we had an opportunity of beautiful weather to fish out the front, where fish are plentiful; opportunities aren’t many for offshore fishing at this time of the year. The other people on the charter were looking forward to this. You let us know on the way out that you get sea sick, which meant Mark having to turn around and rethink the mornings fishing. We organise the fishing based on the best conditions for the day, we knew the river would be hard fishing on that morning and bait was at a minimum but due to having to change plans at the last minute we were left with no choice.
This meant coming back in and trying to catch bait to fish the river. You made it clear you knew best, refused to listen to advice and suggestions on where to cast and how best to fish the conditions, you did your own thing and didn’t catch much. I don’t know why you didn’t hire a tinnie as you obviously knew much more than us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and me went for a half day fishing charter with Mark. We caught plenty of fish: several Mangrove Jacks, perches, one Trevally and a decent sized Bara. One Jack and the Bara were gutted by Mark on site and kept cool till we returned.

I can recommend the trip even it is quite pricey.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Moritz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We recently spent 5 fantastic days fishing with Mark in the lovely Cooktown region, where there were always options as to where to fish depending on the weather. We learnt heaps, had a great time and brought back lots of fish - yum! We found Mark to be very knowledgeable and extremely easy to get on with. Mark is the perfect guide to anyone willing to learn new techniques (irrespective of their level of experience and looking to have a great time out on the water and obviously catch lots of fish! Cooktown is an amazing place and Mark’s skills, sense of humour and knowledge of local places to eat certainly made our fishing trip a holiday we will always remember. We never met Ali but she was amazing in the booking process and communication prior to our arrival. Thanks Mark and Ali - we had an awesome holiday. Cheers, Jane and Matt

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank JLC_MJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Had a great day out with Mark. Initially it was to be a family affair but the teens opted for a sleep in which meant mummy and daddy day out on the water!

We notified Mark the night before so he could have all the gear ready to go. Not a thing was needed, just us.

The options were endless and up to us with Mark to guide the way. We did both! Reef and river fishing in a morning. Some for luch and some for fun.

Was a great morning. Can't wait to do it all again.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank daniellecV5566FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews