We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and laid back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First time to Cooktown, this hotel appeared the best in the town. Historic area which was interesting. Booked room described as partial view of the river, was actually put in a downstairs room with zero view, except a tall fence surrounding the small courtyard. Upstairs restaurant closed due to private event - politicians +++ so security heavy. Great band in downstairs bar and great food there also. Lots of renovations going on which we weren't expecting so a heap of noise constantly. Car parking offered was simply street parking, not on site. Not particularly relaxing but an interesting place overall.

Room Tip: Not downstairs, there is zero view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchTiadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, General Manager at Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you ChristchurchTiadog for your review. I understand your concerns about security and noise and apologise for any inconvenience during your stay. I will pass on your feedback to my staff. Cheers,
Brendan Cullen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having stayed at the Sovereign on many previous occasions, I was very impressed with the new management. Rooms have been extremely tastefully renovated, but the greatest surprise was the new menu and staff at the Balcony Restaurant. Eating with a friend who has won many food and catering awards in Melbourne, we loved the menu. Quality was well above expectations and we requested the chef for a chat and compliments. The staff showed a polish and professionalism not seen in most Queensland restaurants. For Northern Queensland, I was astounded!!
Location of the Resort Hotel also cannot be bettered...Back soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, General Manager at Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for your glowing review, it is very humbling. All of what we have to offer can only be made possible by the wonderful team that work together here at the Sovereign Resort. We look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first ever visit to Cooktown and we stopped at the sovereign for lunch because it looked nice. The service was good I had a fabulous salad and there was live music which was great ! I'd definitely eat here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, General Manager at Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you andream0402, Chef Jens is responsible for the new menu at our Cafe Bar and it's getting fantastic reviews from all the locals too. Cheers & thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We attended during their renovations but despite the early drilling going on, and the long walk to the room, it was still a great stay
The new rooms are very professional and well presented, polished concrete is great!
I didn't specifically request a room for business, and it didn't have a desk which was a bit of a bummer trying to work, however their was an outdoor table
It was disappointing the restaurant wasn't open as I've had great food there before.
I'll be back next time when the renovations are done!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just stopped by for quick coffee and cake, both excellent and quick service. They had run out of cake, but we had a really nice date and ginger big cookie each. Coffee was smooth and great tasting. Gentle breeze followed by a good rain that was much needed for a hot day. Very pleasant, would stay here if you wanted something a little above the pub stays etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had dinner here with friends after spending the day in the Cooktown region. It was holiday time and many other eateries were closed. Our table was on the verandah where we could enjoy the breeze - it was a hotter inside. The restaurant is bistro service with ordering at the bar, the service was friendly and prompt. Meals were very well sized and tasty. We can recommend the lamb shanks, chicken parmigiana and sirloin steak. There was nothing extraordinary about the decor but overall the place was clean and tidy. Music provided by Max TV inside. Good meals for a reasonable price. Go with a group to make you own fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazdi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Cooktowns best hotell the pool excellent and the Staf 've been there twice and and going back.
Cooktowns best hotell the pool excellent and the Staf 've been there twice and and going back.
Cooktowns best hotell the pool excellent and the Staf 've been there twice and and going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chevyvega1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
1 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
180 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mungumby Lodge
Mungumby Lodge
#3 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
River of Gold Motel
River of Gold Motel
#3 of 3 in Cooktown
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown

Address: Corner of Charlotte and Green Streets | PO Box 100, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Price Range: £81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hotel Cooktown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing