We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent time at the zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An excellent time at the zoo”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Daintree Wild B&B is probably one of the best accommodations in Daintree. We had the Bee Eater room overlooking the zoo. The room was very spacious and comfortable with satellite TV. There really aren't many places to stay in Daintree and this may have been the most modern. Breakfast was good, but dining wasn't an option when we stayed. At one point, we may have been the only guests and had the zoo to ourselves.

The zoo itself is an excellent collection of native species and all animals are well cared for. My wife and I were drawn to a baby kangaroo that we named Peanut for our stay. We also had the opportunity to accompany Gil for a personal crocodile feeding one morning. When you stay, you have the zoo to yourself at all times. We didn't venture out at night because it was dark and we were just too tired, but the option is there.

One should note that Daintree is slightly isolated and dining is done between 6-8 pm. Bookings are essential because a restaurant may close up early otherwise. You shouldn't expect to drop in to any restaurant in the area at 8 pm and expect to be fed. We highly recommend the 10 minute drive to Daintree Eco Lodge for dinner. We had some of the best meals ever there.

We highly recommend staying at the Daintree Wild. It was a unique experience for animal lovers that we will talk about for years to come. While the zoo is an added bonus, don't overlook the fact that this is one of the best accommodations in all of Daintree. I don't think there is any better value in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a named bird room on the second floor overlooking the zoo. We personally did not see the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The rooms upstairs here are excellent and breakfast was wonderful. And we were joined by a red tailed black cockatoo that didn't eat too much. A walk in the zoo area is both uplifting and a little sad but I highly recommend it from an educational view point. Definitely a great value stay of 3 nights. The owners were patient when I nearly burnt the place down as I couldn't turn off the toaster....... They are very informative and as an introduction to the animals of the area this is worth doing. So sad that so many birds end up in places like this ....... If only people would drive a little slower .......

Room Tip: Stay in the upper rooms for 20$ extra..... Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My Girlfriend Katherine and I stayed at the zoo on our way back from Cape Trib. The place was absolutely fantastic, the rooms seemed brand new and were very clean, spacious and comfy. We had a fantastic breakfast prepared by Donna every morning. And we spent plenty of time in the zoo, they have a great range of animals and Gill the owner took us along to watch him feed the crocs one morning which was great.

I highly recommend staying at the Wild Zoo, it was a fantastic experience as well as being a nice place to stay with very helpful and knowledgeable staff and owners. We'll definitely be back !

Room Tip: The zoo view rooms definately look nicer, although we didn't go inside the pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We thought this would be cool - sleep at the zoo. But we expected the rooms to not be too nice. Boy were we impressed. The room was GREAT! We stayed in one of the bird rooms that faces the zoo. Large room and large bathroom as well.
Breakfast was pretty basic, but we stayed there for the animals.

It was really neat to walk the grounds at night (with a flashlight) and see all of the nocturnal animals out and about. Find the crocs by their glowing eyes. Hear the owls. See the wallabies.

Then we walked during the day to see the other animals. Early AM the roos get fed and come out. Good time to get close. But if you get the food sacks ($2) they will come.

We were impressed with the size/quality of the zoo. The hosts were very friendly.

Just note that food options are limited. We ate at the Daintree Eco lodge one day and in Port Douglas on the other.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We are seniors, and my wife is what I'd call a Creature Freak, so I followed the advice and chose Daintree Wild B&B as base for our Daintree Rainforest visit. We ended up just doing a self-drive tour, including a riverboat nature cruise, but June was always anxious to return to the menagerie among which we temporarily dwelled. Many others have described this experience in more colorful language than I am capable of and my wife insists that nobody has overstated the pleasure of staying here.
Gil and Donna are wonderful hosts, the price is right, it is as convenient as anywhere can be to the various attractions of the area, and both food and rooms are great.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the zoo-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast (daintreewildbnb.com.au/) was a magical find on the internet. To wake up and step onto a balcony overlooking lush greenery, towards black swans airing their wings, a parading emu and a pair of wallabies boxing in the rising sun was sublime.

We felt totally comfortable with the owners Gil and Donna and their helpers. They were all informative, helpful, friendly and chatty. Above all, you can feel the enthusiasm. The website contains everything you need to know and information about local attractions. They will endeavour to answer any queries.

The roos and wallabies are hand reared. While we were there we helped bottle feed two wallabies in arms. fussed over them and tipped them into their pouches for an afternoon siesta. Soft brown eyed expressions and nuzzling noses linger in the mind as we offered the goodies provided by the staff or they clustered at the gate at dusk to see if there were any morsels going. You soon realise though that ooohing and aahing cuts no ice as, just like us, the stronger types are quite capable of elbowing small fry out of the food queue.

We strolled the ten acres and had a dip in the hotel pool, a quaint experience with with wallabies nochalantly nibbling grass a foot away. We wandered in and out of the aviaries, trying at all times to capture THE photo. The kookaburra can make you jump if you are there to see feeding time. As with some varieties, they live freely within the aviary. Then dingos wagging their tails, the vivid blue flash of a cassowary cosying up to the wire. There are scores of varieties here of Aussie wildlife. Here a little cage with a miniature furry thing, there python taking his ease - behind wire of course.

The first morning we joined the volunteers to feed the families of crocs who were quite capable of leaping over each other to claim their fodder. Mesmerising. Later we joined feeding of the owls and others but fled when the mossies started to attack.

We stayed three nights which carried the bonus of half price entry at any time to the zoo to include the chance to observe the nocturnal residents.

A simple breakfast was part of the tariff. A choice of breads, muesli, conserves, including the zoo's own honey, tea and coffee and their own mango juice, yummo.
Our accommodation was in one of a row of six freshly decorated, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms complete with tele, power shower, fridge and tea/coffee. Each room was named after a bird. We were in Cockatoo.

Up here and posh city hotels take note, internet was free which was invaluable.

If you give notice no later than 4.30pm you can order an evening meal from the menu. We had spag bol which my husband praised. I ordered a fish burger and was served a real fish fillet, the tasty barramundi we ate so often in Oz, plus the bun, an egg, cheese, salad etc. A beer and a wine or two, together with a chat with Gil and Donna and we went to bed happy.

The drive from Cairns was about an hour and a half. We had a great day out experiencing rain forest boardwalk on a trip to Cape Tribulation. Took a river cruise for an hour with informative Bruce Belcher who explained mangroves and knew crocs by sight and their habits.

And we visited Mossmann Gorge, all within easy reach of the zoo.
this paeon of praise must contain a complaint and Teddy the black cockatoo could have held his pose on my shoulder for a second or two longer. Australia for us Brits is expensive at the moment with the exchange rate and all. But a hands on close up attraction like Daintree Wild is worth every impoverished pound.
Gail and Martyn

Room Tip: We wanted ensuite but the rooms by the pool are cheaper because of shared facilities. The have a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesThacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Amazing experience! If you like animals than this is the place for you! (if not than you can spend your day sunbathing by the pool!) The room was really large (there were 5 of us in it and we didn't feel at all cramped). The room was clean and was cleaned every day. The bathroom was shared but was just outside the door. You could literally step out the back door and you were in the zoo. They have a great collection of animals and the best part is you can explore them at your leisure day and night. You can spend your day by the pool or laze around with the kangaroos. Its a great place for kids and very safe. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and they invited us to a private feeding of the crocodiles as well as various other interactions with the animals. The breakfast was very nice, the mango and orange juice from the garden was especially delicious. Staying here was the experience of a lifetime and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkjunkie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
0.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
6.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
6.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
15.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast

Property: Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2054 Daintree Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of 4 poolside bed & breakfast family rooms with shared bathroom facilities and 5 luxurious en-suite rooms overlooking zoo. The accommodation is located inside our wildlife zoo of over 100 species of Australian animals. Entry is discounted by 50% for our guests who can enjoy 24 hour access to the zoo for the duration of their stay - see the nocturnal animals become active at night and have kangaroos greet you at your door in the morning. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on site Mangroves Restaurant. We are located just 5 minutes drive from the beautiful Wonga beach, 15 minutes from the Mossman Gorge, and 30 minutes from Port Douglas. Ferry to Cape Tribulation only 5 minutes away! **Guests who stay for 3 nights can enjoy a FREE Crocodile River Cruise for 2 people**. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Wild Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing