We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual stay at a wildlife park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unusual stay at a wildlife park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely couple of nights spent here. Loved the park, great to be able to take the kids in for a few minutes at a time - we never got bored of going to look at fabulous crocs!.
Very special experience to be able to walk in at night and have a look around - something very haunting about seeing 2 red eyes in the water looking at you ...
Rooms we extremely clean and well kept.
Only thing that would have made it better would of been fly screens on the doors so we could listen to the night noises.

Room Tip: Wonderful to hear all the sounds at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked the aviary room which was a beautifully clean and spacious room with a balcony overlooking the zoo. We had dinner at the restaurant twice as it was lovely food at very reasonable prices with personal and friendly service. The zoo itself was a lovely walk with the animals in spacious enclosures and many animals were free ranging. It was very special hand feeding the wallaby who came up and asked for a snack! We were given great advice on local attractions and I can't really fault our experience at Daintree Wild BnB :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Second extended visit and yet another thoroughly enjoyable stay. This is accommodation with a difference and will suit anyone wanting a unique wildlife experience. When the zoo closes you have the grounds to yourself and can walk the premises with complete freedom - watching the crocodiles, walking in the extended aviary or simply enjoying the 'tame' wallabies and pygmy goats which are tame and apt to follow you around. Accommodation is spacious and well appointed and breakfast is hearty and includes lots of fruit and healthy nuts and cereals as desired. All the staff and owners engender a free and relaxed atmosphere and I left having thoroughly savoured each day......oh yes, there is a small outdoor swimming pool to cool off if desired.

Room Tip: Cheaper accommodation to the end of the complex - better ensuites above the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thann
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I think the rate for the room is expensive but if this is to finance the zoo I'm ok with it.
They have many australian animals and the highlights are to go with the volunteers to feed the animals. I felt in love with the young kangaroo and the goats!
It's really interesting to see what's the work of a keeper. But be careful to put insect repellant!
Some animals seem happy but I thought that many birds had a too small cage.
The rooms with ensuite bathrooms are above the reception and those with shared bathroom a little bit further in front of the pool.
When I went there the pool was not available. The shared bathrooms and toilets are clean but there were no toilet paper in the morning any more.
I had the Sunbird room: just next to the bathrooms and toilets... and in the morning it was annoying to here all the people going there...
There is a fridge that is shared with the volunteers and the other people from the shared bathroom rooms.
The owners were not really welcoming, I had the impression to annoy them when I was asking something. In the morning they were more friendly.

Room Tip: don't take the sunbird room beside the shared bathrooms and toilets or you will here everybody w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was a bit skeptical when I booked this place. It sounded a little weird. Even off the road my husband was wondering what I'd gotten him into.

It was freaking amazing. I only wish that I'd booked us for a second night, but I had a non-refundable reservation for the next night. We stayed in the Bee Eater room. There was a bit of comedy involving the air conditioner unit -- note to future guests -- your room key slides into the thingy by the door and it turns on the a/c. Voila!

We were sadly the only ones staying in this lovely place the night that we were there. The next day we found out that we could have ventured into the zoo at night, which I wish we would have done.

After a disappointing trip to the Discovery Center at Daintree, it was nice to see a cassowary in real life, that's for sure!

Anyway, back on to the B&B... the room was enormous and the tile was lovely. The owners were incredibly friendly and we had a nice chat before we left.

They also breed crocs there, which is pretty cool. Just don't get drunk and wander off the boardwalk. You could be a tasty snack for the critters. Also, don't tease the emus. They bite.

Oh, and wear mosquito repellent when you go into the zoo, otherwise you might get carried away.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor - we loved the Bee Eater room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Daintree Wild B&B is probably one of the best accommodations in Daintree. We had the Bee Eater room overlooking the zoo. The room was very spacious and comfortable with satellite TV. There really aren't many places to stay in Daintree and this may have been the most modern. Breakfast was good, but dining wasn't an option when we stayed. At one point, we may have been the only guests and had the zoo to ourselves.

The zoo itself is an excellent collection of native species and all animals are well cared for. My wife and I were drawn to a baby kangaroo that we named Peanut for our stay. We also had the opportunity to accompany Gil for a personal crocodile feeding one morning. When you stay, you have the zoo to yourself at all times. We didn't venture out at night because it was dark and we were just too tired, but the option is there.

One should note that Daintree is slightly isolated and dining is done between 6-8 pm. Bookings are essential because a restaurant may close up early otherwise. You shouldn't expect to drop in to any restaurant in the area at 8 pm and expect to be fed. We highly recommend the 10 minute drive to Daintree Eco Lodge for dinner. We had some of the best meals ever there.

We highly recommend staying at the Daintree Wild. It was a unique experience for animal lovers that we will talk about for years to come. While the zoo is an added bonus, don't overlook the fact that this is one of the best accommodations in all of Daintree. I don't think there is any better value in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a named bird room on the second floor overlooking the zoo. We personally did not see the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The rooms upstairs here are excellent and breakfast was wonderful. And we were joined by a red tailed black cockatoo that didn't eat too much. A walk in the zoo area is both uplifting and a little sad but I highly recommend it from an educational view point. Definitely a great value stay of 3 nights. The owners were patient when I nearly burnt the place down as I couldn't turn off the toaster....... They are very informative and as an introduction to the animals of the area this is worth doing. So sad that so many birds end up in places like this ....... If only people would drive a little slower .......

Room Tip: Stay in the upper rooms for 20$ extra..... Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
7.3 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.7 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
8.0 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
6.2 mi away
Daintree Valley Haven
Daintree Valley Haven
#3 of 5 in Daintree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast

Property: Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2054 Daintree Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of 4 poolside bed & breakfast family rooms with shared bathroom facilities and 5 luxurious en-suite rooms overlooking zoo. The accommodation is located inside our wildlife zoo of over 100 species of Australian animals. Entry is discounted by 50% for our guests who can enjoy 24 hour access to the zoo for the duration of their stay - see the nocturnal animals become active at night and have kangaroos greet you at your door in the morning. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on site Mangroves Restaurant. We are located just 5 minutes drive from the beautiful Wonga beach, 15 minutes from the Mossman Gorge, and 30 minutes from Port Douglas. Ferry to Cape Tribulation only 5 minutes away! **Guests who stay for 3 nights can enjoy a FREE Crocodile River Cruise for 2 people**. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Wild Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing