We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smashing”

Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises
Ranked #2 of 12 Tours in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been conducting tours on the Daintree River since 1987 and run a family operated, one hour river tour from a private jetty. Our boats are small and personalised for a quality experience and our tours focus on wildlife such as snakes and birds, with an emphasis on crocodile spotting. The tour includes commentary about the area and the mangrove ecosystem. We also provide good quality binoculars and complimentary hot and cold beverages.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“smashing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was alone and arrived without a booking. the cruise needs a mionimum of 2 so I was lucky 2 others also arrived. One hour, very knowledable young guide/captain, son of teh owner. Every seat has a good quality pair of binoculars which were useful especially with the wonderful birds that he pointed out. We were really close to them but some where very tiny.

His trusty dog Duke kept us company but at a respectful distance from the three guests.

And crocodiles. saw plenty including a male whopper which is about 4.5 metres long and weighs half a ton. Green tree snake too.

Definietly recommend this. An hour was enough but

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    106
    24
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Tour with a real aussie guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 1 hour tour of the Daintree River. Our tour guide (Ray) was a wealth of information and a great character with an awesome sense of humor. He took the time to make sure we saw as many crocs and wildlife as we could. Thanks for a great afternoon with an ice cold beer to go with it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A day out exploring was made even better by arriving just in time for a non advertised boat cruise! We arrived at 12.15pm and with just four of us, we set out at 12.30 for our river cruise! Ray (and Jet) was a extremely knowledgable guide who answered all our questions with a great sense of humour and experience. His sighting skills are incredible and we spotted our first croc within 30 seconds of leaving the dock. In total we would have seen at least 10 crocs in all shapes and sizes including the infamous scarface and thin Lizzy. Highly recommended and well worth it! Loved it.

Helpful?
Thank makka9781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Eco Adventure with the family. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We took a trip on the Daintree with these guys. Great value, personalized and professional. I highly recommend this company (there are plenty to choose from) but from our experience it was tremendous. Got off the boat and they even give free pies and drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scottanthonyedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic time, well worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our family had the best time on the Daintree with a really knowledgable guide. He took so much time to point out the crocs from 1 month of age to the big daddy "Scarface". Along with showing us the crocodiles he also took great delight in pointing out a white lipped frog and many birds and a variety of plant life. Thank you so much for a memorable time. Free coffee and hot chocolate after the tour.The owners also advised us of a great place to eat in Port Douglas, so once again thank you for your hospitality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SAW118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing