We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cruise to Remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree River Wild Watch

Daintree River Wild Watch
Ranked #5 of 13 Tours in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the fabulous World Heritage tropical rainforest area of the Daintree. You can experience this beauty through the eyes and expertise of your guide, Ian "Sauce" Worcester. Ian has a real passion for this amazing natural wonderland called the Daintree River. On our Early morning or Sunset tours you will see the vast array of the unique wildlife in their natural habitat, or simply enjoy the beauty and serenity of the picturesque waters of the Daintree. Don't forget your camera!!!
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Cruise to Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our trip on the Daintree River with Ian "Sauce" Worcester was so amazing we did it twice. This was one of the highlights of our first visit to Australia. We saw 4 Great Billed Herons, 4 or 5 Little Kingfishers, Frogmouths and many other riverside birds. He also introduced us to a monster Saltie and a Green Tree Snake. Best experience ever with a kind, lovely incredibly knowledgeable man. Thank you "Sauce" you are an Aussie treasure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dalan1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    12
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Privilege”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is a privilege to share nature with a wise and knowledgable person like Ian. His understanding and knowledge of the Daintree and it's flora and fauna is so precious, I thank him for making it possible to go out with him! Can't recommend enough, gentle deep wisdom.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_and_Pete2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Special Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

loved this trip.. Ian 'Sauce' Worcester was our very knowledgeable and informative guide.. we saw crocs, snakes, birds, comfy boat.. the river was beautiful...must do!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevlea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great River Float with lovely Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Sauce the name of the guide is a wonderful sweet and kind guide and seems to tailor the trip to what you want. We aren't Birdies but he was very good at spotting all kinds of birds and when we asked for snakes and crocodiles he found those for us too. We even saw a rare Kingfisher.
Even without the sporting just the river trip is beautiful and peaceful and quite. We did the afternoon and I hear the morning is full of even more birds. I would highly suggest this trip and I think it would be great for any age.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Danspilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Naturalist, patient and experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had been recommended Daintree River Wild Watch by one of Queensland's best birders. So our expectations were high. And I'm an older African safari guide of 30 years experience, so I know what it takes to be an informed companion to visitors. I'm also a pretty serious bird photographer that needs to know facts, history, recent discoveries etc. In short - I'm a demanding passenger!
I wasn't alone either! My 3 friends were serous naturalists as well. We don't entertain fools, cowboys or BS in any form! We hired 'Source' the guide in his small open boat for two trips, one AM and the other PM and were truly delighted by how special these two very different excursions turned out. If you like a quiet, natural history oriented and leaning experience on this beautiful river THIS IS THE OUTFIT!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daintree River Wild Watch also viewed

 

Been to Daintree River Wild Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing