We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rain Forest Retreat but expectations in check”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nicely run place, but it's really about expectations. That water around the lovely dining area is a small man made pond, and the rooms 8-12 do give you a sense of privacy and being in the rain forest, but the others look right down on the main reception area. Also, the rooms are simple, but comfortable. Finally this side if the river, is still largely agricultural and so driving 10 yards off the main road doesn't really make you feel as though you have escaped into the wild. So if you know all of this, it's a lovely place, a nice spa, (pretty old and small pool) and lovely restaurant, but both of which are overpriced. As far as food, a short 5-10 minute drive to Daintree Village gives one a couple excellent fun low key and and very fresh food options,

If you do go, make sure to cross the Daintree River as after the ferry the farming stops and the rainforest really takes over.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 10-12
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danspilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having read all the reviews of this place we are so glad we chose to stay at Red Mill House, just up the road in the village (see separate review) so we cannot comment on the rooms or the hotel as a whole. But we came here for dinner one night and had one of the best meals we had during our stay in Australia. The dining area was very pleasant and the staff were just lovely. Our main courses were excellent but the pudding was sublime - we had the chocolate mousse which a previous reviewer raved about and it was one of the best puds I have ever had anywhere! Not expensive for what we had and if we had been in the area longer we would definitely have returned - probably several times. So go for the food but stay elsewhere seems to be the general consensus.

Room Tip: Weren't staying here so can't comment on the rooms.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Before I booked my stay I did look on trip advisor to see the reviews, it's a mix of experiences but I didn't let the negative put me off!
I stay at the Eco lodge for two nights as a single person and it was the most relaxing experience I have had.
The food was the best I have ever tasted the chef's are amazing both breakfast and dinner blew my mum. If it's still on the menu when you go, you have to have the chocolate mouse with wattle. Oh my god it's the best thing you will ever eat.
I stayed in one of the spa rooms. The room was lovely and clean with no faults. The balcony with the jacuzzi was great a really surreal experience being in a tub listening to the rainforest

I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hattylovehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I read alot of the reviews before I came here so I knew it was a bit run down. I was tossing up between the Silky Oaks Lodge or this one.
I guess for the money you pay, i would expect the quality of the room to be renovated to be at least 4 star.

In saying that , there is a reason for the why this place has won awards. The awards are for the Eco impact and not on luxury/ hotel quality accommodation. I guess thats what people dont realize.
if you want a luxurious quality, then i say go to the Silky Oaks Lodge. If you read their reviews, nearly every single one is poisitive.
You can see a pattern in these reviews.

The cabins need to be fixed up to compete with Silky Oaks. I agree with all the reviewers before me.
As this place nearly closed down, i doubt the owner is willing to put in the money to compete with Silky Oaks. A bit sad due to the many awards it has one. It would do well if only the accommodation was bought up to scratch for the money that you shell out.

Everything else here is good.
The staff here is amazing and give a 5 star service. The food is very yummy but a tad expensive. Still, we went there most nights as there wasn't much around.

Cons:
- The first night we got there, housekeeping left us a present. The milk carton had about 30ml left in an opened carton. Nice..
I gave them a chance yet They didn't replace it the next day either. I had to ask them. Only then did i get regular service.
- The iron is old and the board is rusty. They only have 1 in the whole place. Seriously, how much dies it cost to get anew iron and board?
Not sure whose managing this place as they obviously aren't reading these reviews.
-The towels were hit or miss. Most were clean but One had two rusty spots in it and another had some light brown mark.
The 3 star hotel I have stayed in had better quality towels than here.
-The cost of $40 per person for the guided Aboriginal walk is a bit expensive( however it was interesting). It lasts for 1.5 hours.
-The spa place is enjoyable however the building is run down. Really ruins it after a massage when you lie there and look up to see the building eaves all broken and tattered.
- instant coffee for breakfast. I dont mind paying for good coffee, but instant? Really disappointing. Not even plunger coffee.

pros:
-Food is great (5 stars to the kitchen).
-the spa treatments are good. The ladies are lovely.
-Hearing the creek/water at night is amazing. We saw a few local animals around the place.( bandicoot and scrub fowl)
-Staff are fantastic and lovely.
-close to the Daintree ferry. Only 5 minutes drive.

My partner loved the rustic feel of the cabins so this will appeal to some people.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KangaEmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After researching places to stay that offered the extra bit, this place according to the website, appeared to offer the lot. However, in reality this was far from the case. We opted for the expensive room with the spa on the balcony and was led to believe there was privacy. I wouldn't like to use this during the day or with bright lights on- the neighbours would see you too well. And if you have the room that looks over the waterfall track, say gidday to people as they walk past whilst you sit naked in your private spa. The balcony had rotted wood and rusty rails surrounding the spa. It was all in need of a much needed make over and not worth the price tag that came with it. The room was in serious need of a reno too with the bathroom resembling that of a 3 star hotel room with fittings more like that from the 1980s and definitely no sign of eco friendly accessories such as shower head. The bathroom had a strong smell of mould or wet rot and this was evident with the mould on the walls that wiped off. The bed was comfortable but not the pillows and given the plastic Venetian mix with the wooden mix, it was a very add hoc room. It was weird with no entertainment such as an ipod docking station but it was rather nice with no tv but some magazines or books to read would have been useful. The Nescafe sachets were rather tacky given this is a supposed 5 star resort. Some coffee bags would be much better or a plunger coffee. Luckily we took our own coffee as it was Nescafe sachets for breakfast too unless you wanted to pay for an expresso. I thought this rather cheap and not in line with the supposed face of this place according to the website. The massage for the $130 for the hour was not worth it. I have had far better for much cheaper and while Delfina was a nice person, her approach was rather unique to say the least. The supposed waterfall where you can have a massage and cool off in the waterfall was dirty, rotted and definitely not private- it was a bit of a joke really. On the up side, the staff were fantastic and i could not fault their service and attention to detail. The was food well worth the price and given there is nothing really in the area, there is a monopoly here. The afternoon drinks for free was a nice touch to the resort but a small plate of cheese and biscuits wouldn't be hard to supply either. Overall, unless this place gets a reno, don't spend your money here for accommodation. The pool was freezing cold so dont think about swimming in this either. Surely some solar heating wouldn't go astray so it can be used after a spa treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for the room the furthest from the dining area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kempli24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The experience I had was amazing. I realized just how unimportant I was by going and surviving the region. I went rafting and fell out of the raft and nearly drowned. Next the Mosquitos in the Eco lodge are serious business. Wear bug spray for sure. It is a great place to go relax at the end of your trip not the beginning so plan accordingly. Go do the hiking and 3 wheelers for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSU320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is way too over priced for what it promises. Rooms and facilities are very dated and in desperate need of serious renovation. Readily evident was the rusty fixtures, rotting internal timber, cracking tiles devoid of grouting and insect screens with multiple patches on the tears.

Having a shower was a nightmare as you had two choices of temperature - freezing cold or boiling hot. It was impossible to achieve a happy medium. Add to this the mattress was very uncomfortable and not conducive to a restful, rejuvenating stay.

Our so called private spa was in full view of the communal waterfall track. No blinds or curtains were provided for privacy around the spa.

As for the promise of immersion in the rainforest this too was very disappointing. Gardens were predominately stocked with non-native plants and for the few rainforest plants that were growing in and around the cabins they were being choked by invasive creepers. it would be a nightmare to remove all of these pest plants in an effort to restore the Australian Wet Tropics Rainforest experience or at the very least attempt to protect the surrounding forest from being overrun by exotic plants - not particularly eco-friendly.

There is a very short waterfall walk on the property and this start by crossing a small, rotting and dilapidated footbridge (about 3 metres from our private spa). This then moves on to a track where in some places has been dangerously eroded (a flimsy railing has been erected to prevent someone falling down a steep slope into the creek below) or still covered by fallen trees from the last cyclone (some months ago). Once you make it to the top there is a lovely deck with some chairs for you to sit on and admire the waterfall. Unfortunately the deck and chairs is covered with leaf litter. Now not to be too harsh it is impossible to prevent leaf litter in the rainforest however it did appear that the last time someone had actually taken the time to sweep the deck was 1942! A nearby broom sitting on a large pile of leaves seemed to back this up.

Advertised as being stocked with fish and turtles the front pond was devoid of life apart from a few frogs and numerous cane toads.

On a positive note the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant was first class.

Now not being cashed up seasoned travelers it was very disappointing to have saved for what was supposed to be a luxury local holiday and have been confronted with this. We will not go back.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
18.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
14.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
959 reviews
5.7 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
7.9 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
6.2 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree EcoLodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Address: 20 Daintree Road | Pmb 20, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Price Range: £168 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree EcoLodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa IS pure escapism. We invite you to relish romance, to respect ancient culture, and to celebrate each day restfully nestled within an ancestral destination for the healing of the spirit. The Daintree EcoLodge & Spa offers a variety of accommodation choices with welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. Retreat from the world in one of our 'bayans', a private tree house designed for two. A micro screened balcony offers stunning immersion within the rainforest, abundant with a thousand shades of green growing before your eyes. Inside, luxurious and thoughtful amenities are tailored to satisfy our guests' wishes. Resting over a lily filled lagoon is Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, a magical destination for unwinding in the ambience of deep forest. A daily menu draws inspiration from the tropical surrounds showcasing contemporary Australian cuisine while the Bar selection is curated to complement this unique dining experience. Our Wellness Spa is a sanctuary in which to serenely disconnect. A harmony of nature, nurture, wisdom and healing infuses a luxuriant treatment menu using the Li'tya pure Australian botanical range. While guests may choose never to leave our rainforest escape, Daintree EcoLodge & Spa is also the perfect base from which to explore the wonders of tropical Far North Queensland. This sun-kissed corner of Australia lures travellers from all corners, providing an exclusive opportunity to encounter adjacent World Heritage sites. Ancient rainforest and the magnificent Daintree River meet untouched coastal ranges and the calm, azure waters of the Coral Sea, home to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Daintree EcoLodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Eco Hotel Daintree Village
Daintree Eco Lodge And Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing