We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely B&B in a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Catalonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely B&B in a lovely place”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We enjoy very much our stay, including the famous breakfast. Thank you very much for the attention and kindness to the owners: it is not possible to find any better accomodation. If we return to Daintree area in Australia we will repeat in Red Mill House. Hugs and kisses.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
254
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

After a business trip to Sydney we decided to head north for a few days of R&R. We found the Red Mill on the web under driving Queensland. So grateful for the article. Trish gave us driving pointers from the airport that made the most of our short 4 days. Arriving at the B&B we were greeted with a smile and a quick tour of the grounds and our bright airy room by Andrew. The whole place is Peaceful, beautiful and squeaky clean. So many little touches, flashlights, fans, umbrellas,airconditioning(not needed, kept the windows and doors open to smell the fresh air and listen to the night noises:). Tea coffee 24/7. The common areas had comfy furniture, tons of books, and travel info for the area. We were impressed with their commitment to the environment. Arriving around dinner time Trish suggested a new place called the Croceye. The food was awesome and the owner was so friendly. Everything was delicious and the place was open air and immaculate. We bought wine next door and relaxed at Croceye, never rushed. Trish set us up for a river trip early the next morning and said breakfast would be waiting when we got back. The river trip with Sauce was informative and we got a lot of great pictures as he pointed out birds, reptiles, plants etc. Frank added over 90 new birds to his list while there. We returned to homeade yogurt and breads, an array of local fruits and a hot meal! The best ever!!Their attention to details amazing, even a cooler with water for our trip to the beach. A trip to a winery(Andrew suggested trying the ports which was a great idea) a guided tour to Wild Wings and Swampy Things with Barbara, because of our interest in reforestation, she has done a excellent job making a place for nature, and her lemonade is good too!! Daintree Forest ferry to Cape Tribulation(make sure you stop at the Daintree icecream Shop), a day at 4 mile beach and our last day back to the airport via roadtrip info provided by Trish. Thanks to Andrew who hooked us up with wotif for a nice reasonable room at the Holiday Inn at the airport in Sydney before heading back to the USA .Our hosts took the time to share a bottle of port with us and discuss similar travels at the end of a long day. Trish and Andrew compliment each other and seem to appear with helpful info when needed but at the same time they give you enough space and solitude to feel like you are the only ones there. Making dinner reservations and scheduling tours is no bother. Kudos to them and thanks for a wonderful first trip to Australia. If you are in the Cairnes area heading to the rainforest, reef or the Tablelands you can see it all staying at the Red Mill House!!! Say hello to our little tree frog if you have a room upstairs:) Ellen & Frank

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our visit to see the sights and (most importantly) the birdlife of Northern Queensland got off to the best possible start when we were called up from our unpacking of the car by Trish to see our first Little Kingfisher perched over the pond in the garden. That typified Andrew & Trish's helpfulness - well beyond the call of duty - to visiting birders. Not just advice on locations, they also enlisted the Daintree River boatsmen to ensure that I saw Papuan Frogmouth, and took us out to a friend's garden to catch up with Lovely Fairywren. When you add in a very comfortable room in a beautiful location, you have a perfect resort for birders (and non-birders too).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RW_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Trish and Andrew are exceptional hosts providing a special stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rita Guam
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

For my wife and I, this was the nicest B&B we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. We do not say that lightly either. We’ve stayed in some real crumbs. Anyway, our room in the Red Mill House was clean, clean, clean, spacious and had a great view of the garden. The bed was great and the sheets smelled of fresh air. Better than home! The hosts were very attentive when we needed something (directions, bird tours etc) but also left us alone to enjoy the piece and quite of their lovely house. The pool was a religious experience for me. I just floated around staring up at the trees and sky. It was a bit of a bracer but I really like a cool swim so it was right up my alley. Oh well, I won’t go on anymore but this place is tops on cleanliness and value for money. Just wish we had had time to stay longer. If you get the chance, I would suggest a visit..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zepley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The buildings and location are great, "BUT" the truth is that Trish and Andrew Forsyth are what make this location so wonderful

Room Tip: If you have a downstairs room and there are children upstairs it can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birderbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Wonderful hospitality, breakfast, easy walk to fantastic lunches and dinners, very quiet not high-tourist frenzy,sight seeing help,crocodiles in native habitat, glorious birds, peaceful,thank you for a great few days.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowlybard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
6.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
8.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing