We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This B&B was selected because of comments from previous guests. What we found was that every thing wonderful written about this place, together with the hosts Trish and Andrew, was absolutely true. The location was perfect for daily excursions to enable us to experience a host of activities. The warmth of our welcome and the ready assistance with our daily sightseeing could not be faulted. For birdwatchers there was help with tour booking as well as on site reference books and tripod mounted spotting scopes. Detailed guides to local viewing places were made available and Andrew always had up to date information on road conditions and accessibility. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who booked us for tours and local dining. The rooms were clean and comfortable and each had its own verandah outdoor table and chairs. The included breakfast gave a wonderful choice with lots of fresh fruit. Personal requests were attended to with a smile. An all round fantastic experience. My score, 6 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Red Mill House in Daintree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Trish & Andrew are the best hosts that you could ever wish for, they aimed to make sure that our stay was perfect down to the smallest detail. Their local knowledge meant that they were great at suggesting trips and activities for us to see and do. They also provided us with binoculars, wildlife guides, and an Esky (cool bag) with cold water for the day trips. Andrew took us on a bird watching walk showing us the local birds and kept us all entertained.

Breakfast - Breakfast on the verandah was wonderful: fresh local tropical fruits, cereals, homemade breads and a hearty cooked breakfast - we didn't need lunch!

Dining - There aren't a huge number of evening dining options in Daintree but Trish and Andrew were great at outlining what was open and arranging bookings. We had great fun eating with the locals in the village, as well as enjoying some delicious food at the Daintree Tea House Restaurant.

Wildlife - There are torches to adventure round their garden at night to spot a variety of wildlife. Also, you can feed Bandicoots or just watched them from the verandah. White-lipped Tree Frogs can be seen around reception sleeping throughout the day.

Location - We found Daintree a great location to travel north across the ferry towards Cape Trib or south to Port Douglas for a trip to the Great Barrier Reef.

Highly recommended, and a thoroughly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beefy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just back from a short stay at Red Hill house, it was amazing! Such a warm welcome from the owners, delightful setting of trees and birds and Andrew knowing everything about them all. The breakfast on the upper deck was delicious, all fresh and such a lot to choose from, I loved it.
When asked recently what was the best part of our tour of sydney/Cairns etc I said, "my stay at Red Hill house" so am delighted to be able to pass this on to anyone visiting Daintree. I came with My son and his partner, Peter and Di, sincerely Barbara.

Room Tip: not applicable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This really is a wonderfully situated B&B with the best hosts in Trish & Andrew. They made sure we were informed and equipped for getting the most out of our 3 days in the area without any pressure. From lending us binoculars and wildlife guides, to packing cold water for our car trips, to taking us on a bird-spotting ramble - nothing was too much trouble. We had a magical early morning cruise on the Daintree River and were well-placed to explore the gorgeous beaches and National Park area between the ferry and Cape Trib.
Breakfast on the verandah was a highlight: tropical fruits, homemade bread and a cooked breakfast - we didn't need to eat lunch! There aren't a huge number of evening dining options in the area but Trish and Andrew made sure we knew what they were and we had great fun eating with the locals in the little settlement and at the delightful Daintree Tea House Restaurant.
This is a great place to stay if you want to combine relaxation and comfort with the chance to explore a very special natural environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Daintree is a great birding spot and this is the place to stay: so perfectly set up for birders. Hosts are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Their meter-by-meter guides to a couple of the best local birding routes were like following a treasure hunt map.
When we did the dawn boating trip on the river, we were assured ahead of time that a full breakfast would be waiting on our return. There’s nothing more delightful than spending a couple of hours birding in the first light and then coming back to an excellent and hearty breakfast served with a smile and keen inquiries as to what we saw that morning.
We had a spacious two-bedroom suite downstairs, which was clean and well appointed. We were encouraged to join the gatherings in the evening upstairs in the common room, but we were always too tired to do so. Still, it felt welcoming. Birding info, book, photos, pamphlets are everywhere. I love staying in a place where the passionate interest of the owners is obvious.
Free Internet in the common room and breakfast area is a nice perk.
Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Trish and Andrew are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, and they really go out of their way to make you feel at home. For those interested in nature and especially birdwatching, you could not pick anywhere better. Breakfast is plentiful and really lovely - cooked breakfast, lots of cereal, toast and delicious fresh fruit. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious - we were three adults sharing and we had more than enough room. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a wonderful experience here! Andrew en Trish are such nice hosts. They make you feel comfortable and at home. You can ask them anything you want: information about the things to do like Cape Tribulation, Great Barrier Reef, River cruise, Bird walkings,..., you can use their bikes, they are provided with transformers, .... We only stayed one night and I regretted it that we didn't spend more time here. The rooms are clean and well organised. The breakfast was very good. They have a lovely garden to walk in. I would recommend this place to all people, certainly young people (like us :-)). Thank you once more Trish and Andrew! Hugs from Jan and Isabel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
556 reviews
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
956 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.1 mi away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: £114 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing