We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place...”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed a lovely 3 nights, Trish and Andrew could not be more helpful from amazing breakfasts to sound advice on rain forest adventures and even dusting off the bikes for a waterfall swim...waking up to the sounds of the rain forest is an unforgettable experience. All the restaurant recommendations were enjoyed and the dip in the salt water pool was very refreshing...tree frogs in the guest lounge...very cool!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
88
257
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband, an avid birdwatcher, and I spent three days in early November at the Red Mill House in the Daintree rain forest. What a wonderful place! Innkeepers Andrew and Trish Forsyth are 100% cut out for what they do! Right away we felt welcomed, valued and cared about. Experts on the regional birds, they gave my husband location info and even a free guided walk on their amazing property. I enjoyed the lovely pool, serene meditation garden and waking up each morning to an otherworldly symphony of birdsong. We stayed in the Family Room, a spacious apartment with living room, loads of books, fridge, kettle, and charming porch. Each morning, Andrew cooked up a fantastic complete breakfast, Trish served her delicious yogurt, and all the guests enjoyed the view from their outdoor breakfast porch. I cannot say enough about this inn and its proprietors - making their acquaintance was a highlight of our three weeks in Australia!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malanda, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Andrew and Trish are energetic, enthusiastic hosts who make you feel more than welcome as soon as you arrive. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. En Suite is spacious.. . Great breakfasts - fruit, yogurt, cereals and "full English". Really good value If you are into wildlife this is the place to stay for trips on the Daintree River and access across the ferry to Cape Tribulation and Cow Bay. Plenty of reference books and advice on where to find what you want to see. We saw Cassowary, which at 2m from us , was a bit scary for some of the party, but it ignored us and fed on fruit on the ground.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Trish and Andrew run a very tight ship here at Red Mill House. They are committed to you getting the absolute maximum out your stay with them. The rooms are comfortable and airy, we a had a good sized bathroom with a well functioning shower. The verandah where breakfast was served was spacious and pleasant to sit in. Whether you are enthusiastic bird watchers or just have a casual interest in the natural environment, Andrew and Trish will ensure that you will get the most out of what Daintree and North Queensland has to offer. Red Mill House is close to the amenities of Daintree Village with regard to restaurants and river trips, although when we stayed in November, restaurants do close early because it is not high season, so make sure you book!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamS4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Many reviews of Red Mill focus on the bird watching which is undeniably great,assisted by the wonderful Trish and Andrew. But this location is also great for getting away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. A place to sit back and relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility. You can't help but make good friends with the hosts. The accommodation is excellent, comfortable and spacious. Lovely breakfast with local fresh fruit. Nothing is too much trouble here.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which gave good views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to focus on birding in the Daintree. The birding was excellent and greatly helped by Trish and Andrew’s local knowledge. Each morning they gave us tips on where exactly to find the speciality species, as well as having some very good sheets of local walking and driving tours stating specifically what birds you might see at each spot.

The accommodation was of an excellent standard. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom roomy and good. A delicious and plentiful hot breakfast was cooked to order. We particularly liked that coffee/tea were freely available all through the day.

All in the all we had a great stay.

Chris & Ursula, UK

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBandUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gualala, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Trish and Andrew are the ideal hosts for nature lovers. Their passion for the birds (and all things natural) is incredible. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful and the perfect way to start a day of adventure. If you are heading for the Daintree, this is THE place to stay. We spent 3 nights here and wold have stayed longer if we had more time. Our room, the grounds, our hosts, all perfect. If (When) we return there is no doubt we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirderRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
545 reviews
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
8.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing