We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect rustic chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect rustic chill”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Red Mill House is a charming rustic retreat run by two great people, Trish and Andrew whose limitless hospitality included booking day trips for birding and snorkelling, local walking and birding advice and wonderful breakfasts of homemade and local products. Could have chilled here for a month. Thanks to them both.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
88
257
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our second time of staying with Trish and Andrew. We just couldn't praise this B&B enough. The breakfast is outstanding and the help and guidance from Trish and Andrew is just fantastic. This is a place that everyone can enjoy but if you are interested in the local birdlife then this is heaven.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKemp939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An ideal situation for two mature couples travelling around Australia together. The rooms were most comfortable and clean. The shared balcony worked really well. Coming back to the excellent "full English" breakfast after an early morning atmospheric boat ride was just special.
Both Trish and Andrew have a deep knowledge of the local area, flora and fauna and could not have been more helpful. We even got to see Cassowary!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Modav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer than three nights! We ditto every rave review already given here. We arrived quite tired and hungry, the usual restaurants weren't open, so Trish whipped up wonderful sandwiches, which was not really part of the deal. That just illustrates how Trish and Andrew go out of their way to help out and ensure that your stay is completely enjoyable. They really made us feel at home. Breakfasts were luscious - Trish's home-made yogurt is something special, and the daily large assortment of fresh fruit was a real treat. Our room was comfortable and the shower worked well. The place was quiet and peaceful and beautiful.

Trish and Andrew arranged a birding river cruise for us with Murray Hunt. He is a great guide and a great skipper. We saw many species, and he maneuvered the boat skillfully, being quite patient with the shutterbugs on board, making sure that everyone saw and was able to photograph the birds and other wildlife we encountered.

Trish and Andrew also arranged a day of guided birding for us with Doug Herrington. He was the perfect guide for us, patient and skillful. The weather wasn't ideal, and Doug was able to maximize our travels to avoid areas of heavy rainfall. Again, we saw many species that we wouldn't have been able to find in such a short time without his help.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent an amazing 3 days at this wonderful B&B. Trish and Andrew are just fantastic hosts and a very warm welcome awaits everyone who visits their guesthouse from the time you arrive. Nothing has been too much trouble from the moment you have your first fantastic breakfast followed by a recommendation and organisation of activities for the days you are staying. All the rainforest walks and stop offs enroute were spot on. The riverboat ride great and even Andrew dusting off 2 bikes for us to be able to ride to a spectacular fresh water waterfall and water hole to take a dip in was fantastic. Sitting on the veranda outside our large room enjoying a glass of wine while listening to the soothing rain and the wildlife of the rainforest just tops it all off. Make the trip to this amazing B&B you will not be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wurzel0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed a lovely 3 nights, Trish and Andrew could not be more helpful from amazing breakfasts to sound advice on rain forest adventures and even dusting off the bikes for a waterfall swim...waking up to the sounds of the rain forest is an unforgettable experience. All the restaurant recommendations were enjoyed and the dip in the salt water pool was very refreshing...tree frogs in the guest lounge...very cool!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband, an avid birdwatcher, and I spent three days in early November at the Red Mill House in the Daintree rain forest. What a wonderful place! Innkeepers Andrew and Trish Forsyth are 100% cut out for what they do! Right away we felt welcomed, valued and cared about. Experts on the regional birds, they gave my husband location info and even a free guided walk on their amazing property. I enjoyed the lovely pool, serene meditation garden and waking up each morning to an otherworldly symphony of birdsong. We stayed in the Family Room, a spacious apartment with living room, loads of books, fridge, kettle, and charming porch. Each morning, Andrew cooked up a fantastic complete breakfast, Trish served her delicious yogurt, and all the guests enjoyed the view from their outdoor breakfast porch. I cannot say enough about this inn and its proprietors - making their acquaintance was a highlight of our three weeks in Australia!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
545 reviews
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
8.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing