We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B award?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

You cannot fault this place - it was excellent. Our hosts were sitting in or Andrew and Trish (owners) who were on holiday. They were really helpful in getting us settled and giving us tips on what to do each day. Breakfast was amazing and we even got treated to homemade Anzac biscuits. Rooms were fantastic - spacious and a little bit rustic which added to its charm. Will be recommending this to friends and hoping to make it back next year.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Mabbitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

As all the other reviews say, Trish and Andrew have made a delightful place to stay at and to experience the Daintree area. They appear to really enjoy their hosting, and it is no wonder that they appear in Trip Advisor's top B and Bs of the world.

The en suite rooms are very comfortably and individually furnished, with thoughtful touches, and floor to ceiling windows and doors on opposite sides of the room. The rooms aren't locked - and don't need to be. The attractive garden is part of the rainforest and attracts birds and wildlife to it and its pond. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.

Breakfasts are served on the balcony overlooking the garden, and including a salad of 7 different fruits with homemade yogurt and cooked food, with locally grown coffee, are part of the special experience. Guests are welcome to make tea and coffee for themselves at any time and have a fridge which always has cold water available.

In their time there, Trish and Andrew have built up an extensive knowledge of the area and all it can offer, and in particular a love of and enjoyment in the wildlife especially the birds. They are very involved in many aspects of wildlife in the area and have a good local network. They offer packages including bird guides, river trips, a walk with themselves, as well as on the spot suggestions and planning, without ever being intrusive. They can also help advise non - birdwatching guests, and will book any activity for them.

There aren't many places to eat locally but these offer a range of foods and prices, and again Trish and Andrew can advise and book for guests.

We do hope that their clearing and restoring after the recent damage by Cyclone Ita goes well.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Probably better views from the first floor rooms but can be noisier if heavy tropical rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived at Red Mill House for a four night stay and, on meeting Trish and Andrew, immediately realised that we were going to have an enjoyable stay. They are genuinely enthusiastic about, well, everything! It was a pleasure to have two people go out of their way each day to recommend great activities and dining options (all booked by them for minimum hassle). It was like having our own personal travel agents!

Neither of us are birders, or particularly keen on getting up at 6 am for birding river cruises. I'm not sure that we fit the profile of Red Mill House's normal clientele. Having said that, we felt completely at home and not once did we feel unwelcome. Whilst Trish and Andrew would be more than happy to organise your entire itinerary if you wanted them to, they also seemed to judge quite well when to leave us be. They also seemed to happily tolerate our nightly chess showdown despite the fact that we turfed them out of their armchairs, against our protestations.

Breakfasts are tasty, big and as healthy / unhealthy as you wish. The yoghurt is good, the fruit salad even better. We really enjoyed watching the birds wander the garden in the rain as we sat down to eat each morning.

The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfy. This is the first place I have ever stayed where the doors aren't locked. Keys are available if required but to be honest it made a refreshing change from home, for us at least.

Dining options are limited but easily sufficient for a four night stay, even in low season.

We used RMH as a base for exploring north of the river, making several trips up to Cape Tribulation. Horse riding and Cassowary spotting on the boardwalks were particular highlights and much recommended.

Overall, a very good b&b with stand-out hosts. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Trish & Andrew couldn't have been more kind and helpful. They have an incredible knowledge of all the wildlife in the area and had great suggestions of where to go and where to eat. The rooms are very comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank youngja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Red Mill House is a charming rustic retreat run by two great people, Trish and Andrew whose limitless hospitality included booking day trips for birding and snorkelling, local walking and birding advice and wonderful breakfasts of homemade and local products. Could have chilled here for a month. Thanks to them both.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our second time of staying with Trish and Andrew. We just couldn't praise this B&B enough. The breakfast is outstanding and the help and guidance from Trish and Andrew is just fantastic. This is a place that everyone can enjoy but if you are interested in the local birdlife then this is heaven.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterKemp939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An ideal situation for two mature couples travelling around Australia together. The rooms were most comfortable and clean. The shared balcony worked really well. Coming back to the excellent "full English" breakfast after an early morning atmospheric boat ride was just special.
Both Trish and Andrew have a deep knowledge of the local area, flora and fauna and could not have been more helpful. We even got to see Cassowary!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Modav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
969 reviews
6.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
0.1 mi away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: £115 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing