We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality and advice, beautiful garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at Red Mill House for 3 nights and were fortunate to experience the excellent hospitality provided by "stand-in" hosts Carol and Andrew (the owners being on holidays in Chile). Carol and Andrew were a fantastic source of advice on rainforest walks, birdwatching and other local wildlife (they certainly know their stuff). It was a privilege to stay with hosts who are so respectful of nature and strive to be environmentally friendly. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and cool in the humidity of a tropical Queensland summer (we didn't need to use the air-con). Fantastic wildlife-filled garden was a perfect way to start and end each day (bandicoot and frogs included).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma-and-Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

Of all the places where we stayed in Australia this spring, Trish and Andrew Forsyth at the charming Red Mill House gave us the most personalized help and advice. We felt lucky to have started our visit with them in Daintree Village.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Excellent location and fantastic information provided. Felt like a home away from home and would recommend Red Mill to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floppyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay for ten nights in January 2009. Trish and Andrew were the most accommodating people imaginable. They showed and taught us about local wildlife and bird life, they introduced us to the local people and booked tours etc for us, and they provided us with a delicious breakfast every morning. To make your stay in Daintree really special, you absolutely have to stay at Red Mill House.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winniepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We spent two nights in the Red Mill House and are looking back to a unique experience. Trish and Andrew are just role model hosts when it comes to service, focusing on guests’ needs and making the guests as if they are staying with good friends. They celebrate hospitality in a perfection we have seldom encountered before.

In addition, the facilities supported what we hoped to find. So is the Red Mill House embedded in the nature and features lots of natural life. The area is very quiet and the rooms are just comfortable. The homemade breakfast on the balcony is difficult to top.

Life is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_Bon_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Red Mill met all my requirements for an idyllic bed and breakfast. The very clean rooms are simply decorated in a style fitting the beautiful bush surroundings. The food at breakfast was fresh and abundant. Trish and Andrew were friendly without being intrusive and extremely helpful in assisting us in planning day trips which included my 81 year old mother. A highlight was an early morning boat trip to see and hear the wild life on the river. I heard them helping a family with young children plan successfully for their different needs. They shared their pleasure in and extensive knowledge of the fauna and flora of their garden. I booked the hotel on a friend's recommendation and I have since recommended it to other friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We had a fantastic stay at Red Mill House. What a find! We were expecting Daintree village to be a little bigger - but the welcome and comfortable surrounds of our stay were beyond expectation.
Andrew and Trish were always helpful, friendly and willing to give ideas, advice and arrange anything we wanted to do. I appreciated their relaxed approach and their open house.
the birdwatching from the verandah was great fun - it has reinspired me to get into birdwatching more seriously again.
A lovely varied garden, enjoyed my own tour. We had fabulous breakfasts (feasts!) and I was well catered for even with dietary restricitons.
Good suggestions regarding local tours/attractions and helpful advice. Enjoyed their company and their local frog population kept us on our toes!

Lovely place to stay - cant wait to goback again!

Karen

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
574 reviews
0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
0.1 mi away
Daintree Village Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
981 reviews
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.1 mi away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: £110 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing