We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable magic trip in a tropical rainforest wonderland, with expert , friendly hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
1 review
“Unforgettable magic trip in a tropical rainforest wonderland, with expert , friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Superbly clean Queenslander hidden away in tropical rainforest brimming with birdlife and exotic fauna. Spotlighting the white-lipped green tree frogs, bandicoot and striped possum at night was a highlight, as was the dawn trip up the flooded Daintree river with expert guides. Trish, Andrew and Nicola brought this enchanted area to a new level for us, with their intimate local knowledge, and encyclopaedic knowledge of North Qld flora and fauna - who else would know about a purple yabbie with hot pink claws and antennae that only lives in the freshwater creeks at Mt Lewis, 50k away? Breakfast was delightful overlooking the garden and forest with sunbirds flitting back and forth. Simply unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
253
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Andrew and Trish are delightful hosts with plenty of useful information, great service and a very high standard - of everything. In Daintree village yet feeling like the middle of the rainforest we were entertained by them and the evening visitors to the garden including flying foxes ! Enjoy their full breakfast and unusual tropical fruits including mangosteen and stay for a dinner which will be talked about beforehand to meet your needs and with the wine the price is very good too.The rooms are large and comfortable and with your own piece of the verandah relive colonial times. They are expert bird watchers but if you want other things they can suggest lots of activities.We felt relaxed and keen to stay longer than 3 days in a "we're definately coming back" mood as we left !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AucklandBronwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodvale
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Our stay at Trish and Andrew's B&B in the Daintree Forest was like staying with friends. Trish greeted us as we drove up the gravel driveway. You could tell that she went out of her way to do this. She made us feel right at home.

Red Mill House is a great place to stay at the end of a long day exploring the Daintree Forest. It means you don't have to rush. We spent the weekend up there. I would definitely recommend that you do the Daintree in two days. One day is just not enough.

The highlight of our stay at Red Mill House was the breakfast. It was an amazing smorgasboard of home-made yoghurt, tropical fruits and home-made bread. The tropical fruit was exceptional. We tried fruits we had not even heard of, let alone seen. The mangostein was the best! A great way to experience tropical north Queensland.

Trish and Andrew also cater for kids. We took our 18-month old son and they were great with him. They have a cot available for the little ones and didn't mind his occasional sooking.

If you want a family friendly B&B in the heart of the Daintree look no further!

Brett, Carly and lil' Ethan Tooker

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonsofmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Diane and I are bird watchers from Canada and we wanted to stay somewhere in the Daintree area to do some birding. We had an old brochure from a previous trip to Australia from Red Mill House that was from before Andrew and Trish took it over. We stayed 4 nights and took the birding package which was an outstanding value. Trish and Andrew made us feel right at home. We had a room on the second floor of the new building which was very nice with a large bathroom.
Trish's breakfasts were very good. We ate suppers at the small restaurant around the corner (only one open after dark) each night and were very satisfied. We knew ahead of time that there were few places in the area to eat since we were going to be essentially at the end of the road. There is a common fridge available on the porch to keep food and drinks cold as you ned them. There is a bottle shop beside the restaurant where you can get wine and beer as well as other drinks and goodies.
The birding package while it looks expensive really isn't . Have you ever tried to hire a birding guide in Australia? Included was 2 days of birding with Ellen Terrell. She is an excellent birder and naturalist who really knows where to find the hard birds. Only sorry the Pitta wasn't more forthcoming. We went north to Cape Tribulation and the parks in that region and we went into the interior (running away from the rain) and got most of our target birds and many otherswe thought we wouldn't get. We also did a river cruise which was quiet the morning we went and went to tour Swampy Things which again were quiet but our hostess was excellent.
Whether you are going to Daintree to just experience the rain forest or you are going to do some birding Red Mill House would be an excellent place to stay. Thank you Trish and Andrew for a great stay. Hope your trip to Argentina was good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7continentsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne-Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at Red Mill House for 3 nights and were fortunate to experience the excellent hospitality provided by "stand-in" hosts Carol and Andrew (the owners being on holidays in Chile). Carol and Andrew were a fantastic source of advice on rainforest walks, birdwatching and other local wildlife (they certainly know their stuff). It was a privilege to stay with hosts who are so respectful of nature and strive to be environmentally friendly. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and cool in the humidity of a tropical Queensland summer (we didn't need to use the air-con). Fantastic wildlife-filled garden was a perfect way to start and end each day (bandicoot and frogs included).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-and-Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Of all the places where we stayed in Australia this spring, Trish and Andrew Forsyth at the charming Red Mill House gave us the most personalized help and advice. We felt lucky to have started our visit with them in Daintree Village.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Excellent location and fantastic information provided. Felt like a home away from home and would recommend Red Mill to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floppyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
8.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
6.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing