We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable B & B in a fantastic area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very comfortable B & B in a fantastic area”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We spent 3 nights at Red Mill House and enjoyed it so much that we went back for a further 2 nights later in the month. For anyone interested in birds and nature in general it is a great base for visits on the Daintree River, up to Cape Tribulation and to Mount Lewis and beyond.
The room was very comfortable with an excellent verandah. Trish and Andrew are very welcoming and extremely helpful with advice on where to visit and the breakfast is excellent.
Options for lunch and dinner in Daintree Village are limited but acceptable and there are other options further afield.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
254
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed at Red Mill House in October 2010 - from the minute we arrived Trish and Andrew were the perfect hosts, experts on the local area, particularly the bird life, which was the main reason for our visit. The bedroom & ensuite were great, and the shared lounge filled with books and other useful information on the area. ANd what can I say about the breakfasts? Magnificent! We had a wonderful few days. The only downside to the area is the lack of restaurants - apart from a cafe in the village its a drive to the nearest evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_AElliottPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yass, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We spent four nights at "Red Mill House" and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Trish's tailored advice regarding what to do and see in the area, and her friendly persona, ensured we made the best of our time there without feeling rushed. Her extensive knowledge of the local birdlife was very evident, which she demonstrated when advising other guests staying there at the time.

The easy walking distance to the Daintree Village, but far enough away not to be bothered by noise, was also an advantage.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brassil_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We are a couple who came to Daintree to relax in a natural setting and recuperate after a long trip direct from Canada. The hospitality and professional help provided by Trish and Andrew was outstanding. We enjoy nature and this is a lovely spot to experience the variety of the tropical rainforest experience. Trish and Andrew are expert and assisted us with valuable advice and practical help. The Red Mill property abounds with interesting birds, plants, animals and insects. Most importantly, it is very comfortable and is made all the more so by the friendly atomosphere. We had an excellent start to a successful trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Our stay was extremely comfortable, with a charming room with large shared balcony and excellent breakfasts. Trish and Andrew were always ready to advise on trips and visits and generally help us to make the most of our time. Most of all we appreciated their readiness to share their considerable knowledge of the Daintree area and its wildlife.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen-troughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Make sure you have a boat trip with "Source " he is excellent, take notice of Trish and Andrews advice on where to look for birds their local knowledge is exemplary, you don't have to travel far to see so much .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanminehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We were spending 10 days in the Cairns area en route from UK to NZ. We chose this B&B because we are interested in birds - but are not 'birders' and have no knowledge of Australian birds. It turned out to be an excellent choice.
We had a room upstairs (probably the best choice) with the large balcony overlooking the garden which had a regular flow of visitors. Also nice and close for the excellent breakfast.
Trish & Andrew were excellent hosts and very helpfully lent us binoculars & wet weather gear which we were unable to carry with us. They were very helpful with suggestions for trips (albeit two of the three days had heavy rain). The 6.30am trip on the Daintree River Experience was a great success (on a beautiful morning), and the guy who runs it is very knowledgable and a master at spotting birds (there would be no way to see a Papuan Frogmouth without his help). Good views of crocodiles. Excellent breakfast on return.
Foodwise we ate twice at the Village Restaurant (OK but very large portions) and once at the EcoLodge (excellent, beautiful setting but as you would expect more expensive). Enjoyed a trip halfway up to Cape Tribulation but then a bridge got washed away in a downpour so retreated (lucky we were in the dry season).
You'll like this place, especially if you are interested in birds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
914 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
6.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing