We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

When researching caravan parks in the Emerald region it would be very strange if Lake Marraboon didn't come up as a popular choice amongst all reviews. I can honestly say its advertising and reviews proved to be on the money when describing this popular little park.

Even though the park it self is going through some up grades such as additional sites and renovations of the restaurant we were still impressed which means it will only be better once these up grades are complete.

The amenities are near new and very clean.the grounds are well looked after with nice grassy sites which makes it more inviting for the kids to stay out side of the van and play.

The van park has a pool and also hires kayaks and go karts so the kids are looked after in that respect.

The dam it self is a short walk down a hill from the park however it is not a very inviting area. Good area to kick the footy around but that's about it.

The best parts of our stay was the lovely meals on wheels service the park provides which allows you to make a order and have your meals delivered to your site. Well priced and delicious and also the lorikeets that are very tame and friendly. It is not uncommon to have up to 6 birds sitting on you if you have a piece of Apple in your hand.

All In all this park is a good stop over or location to stay if you have business in Emerald as we did however I would definitely not make a specific trip to this location.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank j L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Cheers from the Lake Maraboon team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was put up at the Holiday Village for a couple of days by my Brisbane Office while attending Emerald for business. They obviously had no idea about the distance into town (possibly they got confused with another accommodation provider with a similar name). However our accommodation was very comfortable, the staff were friendly, the whole park was spotless and the scenery was great! The campers & caravanner's seemed to be enjoying themselves. Wild birds "visiting" us on our verandah in the morning was a highlight. It was unfortunate that work commitments kept us in town for most of the daylight hours. All I can say is I'd recommend this spot to recharge the batteries and I will be coming back with the family and the boat for some R & R in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank CQSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for the review =)

Cheers from the team @ Lake Maraboon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

On arrival we were escorted to our site and directed in which was a wonderful change as most parks draw you a map and say goodbye good luck. Immaculate amenities, very clean and spacious sites. The wild life is also amazing. Lovely walks around the dam and lake. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our team is stoked to hear that you loved your stay here with us and gave us a 5/5!! We strive to achieve the best and thank you very much =)

Travel Safe!

Kind Regards,
Melanie Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a great spot to take some time out and enjoy the lake. We had a very pleasant site down near the trees. Spent some time kayaking on the lake and trying our hand at catching the local red claw. The meals on wheels service is a great initiative and we enjoyed the crumbed barramundi, chips and salad delivered to our van.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justretired617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your great review!
We always get positive feedback on our Meals on Wheels service! Its great to hear traveller feedback and our team thanks you for taking the time to write a nice review =)

Regards,
Melanie Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Fantastic location alongside a vast expanse of water in a relatively dry area.
Very popular with very friendly campers.
Great facilities and absolutely the best showers I have ever encountered in 40 years of caravanning.
The management are to be congratulated for extending a warm and friendly welcome on arrival .
A great feature of the park on a set night is the door to door delivery of dinner menu meals, and entertainment on another evening.

Room Tip: A relaxing and pleasant park for a holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely park and thank you very much for the 5/5 score! That is wonderful and our team very much appreciates it =)

Kind Regards,
Melanie Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here overnight on a road trip to Alice Springs! So wish I could have stayed for a few days to appreciate the place. Beautiful modern cabin that faced the dam with great kitchen. Air conditioned etc. I was really impressed with what I saw and would love to visit again one day but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerriHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

From all the team here at Lake Maraboon HV we thank you for your lovely review!
Hope you enjoyed your trip to Alice Springs!!
And we hope to welcome you back again some time =)

Kind Regards,
Melanie Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We only stayed here one night, but wish we had longer. Reasonably easy access to the lake where we enjoyed an afternoon in kayaks. We brought our own, but you can also hire them from reception. There is also a boat ramp if you want to take your boat out and maybe do a spot of fishing. There was lots of interesting bird life around the site too.
Most importantly you must go down to the lake in the early eveing and watch the sunset. It is just so beautiful. Take your camera too.
The showers were amazing! The toilet block was clean and looked quite new and the showers were great.
We didn't use the camp kitchen, but it looked very good and clean, with all the usual facilities. There is also a pool, which the children enjoyed cooling off in.
The reception sells a small selection of drinks, basic food items and souviners.
The staff were friendly. When we went they had only been there about 6 weeks and said they are working to further improve the site.
All in all a great site, beautiful location and well worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Stanandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review! We appreciate the time you have taken to write this.
Since we only recently took over and have made some expansions/improvements its great that people are noticing =)

Thank you,
Melanie

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emerald hotels
10.1 mi away
Emerald Tourist Park
Emerald Tourist Park
#4 of 11 in Emerald
29 reviews
11.0 mi away
Emerald Maraboon Motor Inn
10.5 mi away
A & A Lodge Motel Emerald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Emerald Motel Apartments
Emerald Motel Apartments
#2 of 11 in Emerald
51 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Irish Village
The Irish Village
#7 of 8 in Emerald
1 reviews
10.1 mi away
Abode37 Motel
Abode37 Motel
#4 of 11 in Emerald
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Maraboon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Maraboon Holiday Village

Address: Fairbairn Dam Access Road & Selma Road | Central Highlands, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Emerald
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Emerald
Price Range: £1 - £3 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Maraboon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water lovers rejoice - this park is for you. Lake Maraboon is set on the banks of Fairbairn Dam, overlooking the tranquil waters of Lake Maraboon, no less than three times the size of Sydney Harbour. This magnificent location is sure to delight, with endless aquatic pursuits including fishing, swimming and water skiing. Lake Maraboon is fishing heaven, with eight different kinds of fish to catch - but most famous for its plentiful Red Claw Crayfish.Lake Maraboon is midway between Rockhampton and Longreach, under seven hours from Townsville and close to Emerald. The Sapphire Gemfields and coal-mining town of Blackwater are under an hour away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing