We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant but not long enough”
Review of Tropical Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Palms Inn
A TripAdvisor Member
“pleasant but not long enough”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Tropical Palms. Location was great and rooms comfortable and clean. People very friendly. I would recommend this place. Very relaxing

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It was in a great location. The service was really friendly and the room rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank PierceMagneticIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for one night in a family room. There was a queen bed & bunks with a double bed on the bottom. The rooms have been updated & everything is clean. It is a short stroll to the beach, jetty, pub,shops cafe's etc. There is also a childrens playground near the shops. There is a pool at the motel & a lovely grassed area for barbecues. This isn't a top of the range motel, but quite sufficient for the average person/family. We were here at Picnic Point during school holidays & it was still very quiet. The pier was being renovated at this time, The bus stop was right outside the motel & will take you to the Nelly bay Ferry terminal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We come here often and always stay at the Tropical Palms, The staff are always friendly, and very helpful. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced, and there is everything you need, as to the car hire, The pool is always inviting, and there are bbq amenities to use also, it has a nice relaxing atmosphere for an enjoyable time. We recomend this place to anyone for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I'm very happy you have enjoyed your stays at Tropical Palms Inn. We try hard to please our guests and have a continual upgrade program. Thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This place is in a good spot in Picnic bay and is a short walk to the shops and the beach.
The service was sometimes good but they kept replacing the flat batteries in the TV remote with more flat rechargables which was annoying..
The Motel was nice & clean and cheap with polite staff, that is until we decided to stay one day less, they then became unreasonable. We gave 48 hours notice but they claimed they would only refund us half of the last nights fee, this is unfair and not even legal in Australia so we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geelong09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your time at Tropical Palms Inn. As owner / managers we try and make everyone's experience as enjoyable as possible. I'm sorry about the mix up with the remote batteries, as soon as we identified the issue you were given a new replacement remote that was tested and known to work OK.
Our cancellation policy is in line with all major hotel policies. For any cancellation of nights after check-in there is no refund. I'm sorry but that is our policy and is widely accepted throughout the industry. When you asked to cancel one night we offered a credit in the form of a gift certificate to use in the future or a refund less 50% admin fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My wife and I travelled 4 months up and down the East coast and for us this was the business.
A 12 room Inn with all you could ask for, comfort, amenities,friendliness (Dave and Michelle were so accomodating, it was unbelievable). The pool was so clean, constructed with convenient depths, huge brolly for the sun and comfy sunbeds made our afternoons so enjoyable. David kept us updated as to what was going on and advised us to go to various sights/places, some of which only the locals used but the classic for us was the sundown at West Point - amazingly beautiful. David and Michelle ( she is a great cook) hire out 4-wheel drive cars at good prices ( and he saved us loads of Insurance costs - just ask). On our return to Australia, this is where we will stay as long as they can accomodate us!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 12 are best for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place was inexpensive and so the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the room was a nice surprise! The room was self-contained, allowing us to save money by cooking our own meals. The staff were friendly and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quiet_traveller_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.7 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palms Inn

Property: Tropical Palms Inn
Address: 34 Picnic St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnetic Island's Tropical Palms Inn provides comfortable accommodation in a garden setting close to Picnic Bay Beach, hotel, restaurants, jetty and Golf Club. You can swim, soak up the sun, stroll through the park and explore the National Park. The self contained, air conditioned units include a kitchenette with cooking facilities, microwave, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, television and DVD player (movies available). Facilities include pool, guest laundry, gas barbecues, landscaped gardens, & car hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tropical Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing