We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B on Magnetic Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B on Magnetic Island”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Oskar's Rainforest Retreat is a must for any overseas traveller who visits Magnetic Island, it is unique. It is beautifully furnished, intimate and secluded. A lovely couples retreat overlooking lush rainforest gardens.
Your hosts Debbie & Derek are a wealth of knowledge on the island and know all the best spots to visit, they leave you to enjoy the surroundings. The continental breakfast and generous fresh fruit platter are yours to enjoy at your own leisure.
The coloured birds in the morning are there to greet you. Highly recommend you stay at Oskar's.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazza_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed for two nights at Oskar's last week. Place to go if you like wildlife up close, on the balcony. Parrots, possums ( with baby), feeding out of your hand. Best wildlife is the rare stone chested curlew, which choruses into the night from the forest and grassland across the creek - in front of the balcony. This is my third stay at Oskar's, and I prefer the winter and spring to come north for Townsville business. House is secure and secluded, rooms are open to balcony, hosts ( Debbie and Derek) are unobtrusive.So it's not your normal Q&A B&B where your life history is required. Like almost everybody in the tropics, they will have a drink with you on a hot afternoon, and will tell you the best local spots . Magnetic is warm and sometimes monsoonal in summer, and the trade winds are wonderful for the long walks on the granite headlands and beaches . It can get cool occasionally in the winter - if cool is 12C. I found the blankets on the shelf in the room and the dogs left me no do-dos.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'aldosa, Andorra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Beautiful place, excellent views to the rainforest, amazing sounds of the birds, even at night.
Cozy room, lovely terrace, but only two warns.
If you travel there in winter, must be prepared, there isn't glasses at the windows and only a thin blanket, and the second, lock the door of the terrace (it was broken) or block it with a furniture, the dogs of the owner can come in and leave a "present" for you.
After check-in, we went to dinner outside, when we arrive late, the dogs were inside, a warm welcome and the returned at their home through the terrace, no problem because we love animals, but later we discovered what were they doing. five or six dog mess.....we didn't want to wake up the owner, it was late, and ourself clean it.
We don't want that the incident sullys the stay in the B&B. At the morning we enjoyed so much the rainforest, the breakfast and the birds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editor_paradise, Owner at Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Having sent an email to our guest after reading this review , to date there has been no reply.
There were extra blankets on the chair in the room and we have plenty of extra blankets and a heater we could of supplied if we were asked. That particular night is was cool for the tropics about 10 degrees.
As for the dogs we have no idea how they managed to escape their confines, but we do apologise. I would suggest that if any guests have a complaint they should have told us and we would have tried to rectify the situation. We have travelled extensively in several countries and we have always taken this approach, so improvements can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubeck, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We spent such a great week in this Bed & Breakfast! You are in good hands and well advised to discover the Island! You can have a nice breakfast with the rainforest just in front while you get to see colourful birds and sometimes even wallabies! It's clean and really beautiful furnished!
We can totally recommend this accommodation on Magnetic Island!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svenja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Trana Court Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'A B & B with a view' REFURBISHED Oskar's is the only Bed & Breakfast accommodation in Nelly Bay. Oskar's only caters for 2 people at a time , we do not cater for children. Stay in a tropical architecturally designed large wooden Queenslander. In real terms Oskar's is a very large one bedroom unit with an expansive deck and endless stunning views of the rain forest garden we have created, Gustav Creek and the hills of Nelly Bay as a back drop. Oskar's has its own private entrance, own private verandah, a large bedroom with high cathedral ceilings and its own ensuite. We have combined our love of vintage Australian furniture, historical local original art works and photographs, with a touch of serene Asian influence of beautiful Thai silks. Paintings are all by local artists and reflect the beauty of the island. We offer our guests privacy. Oskar's Rainforest Retreat has some modern appliances like Air conditioning, Fan, TV, micro wave, jug, toaster, fridge. We provide a gourmet continental breakfast of cereals, toast, a platter fresh seasonal fruits, yoghurt and fruit juice with good quality teas and coffee. Guests can make at their own leisure whether it be for breakfast or brunch. We have hotel quality bed linen and towels, Oskar's is cleaned and serviced daily. The owners have lived on Magnetic Island for 26 years and have vast local knowledge of where are the best beaches and bays to visit, how to get there, where are the best walking tracks and the best places to eat. Oskar's provides an intimate timeless setting with an abundance of bird life, the occasional koala and a couple of resident wallabies, all our guests need to do is just relax and enjoy the view. If you like something out of the ordinary and enjoy the charms of a bygone era then Oskar's is for you. Named after the family Shih Tzu, your host Debbie looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing