We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnetic Sunsets B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“paradise”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My stay at magnetic sunsets was truly amazing.The rooms are large and very attractive.You are surrounded by beautiful gardens and the sounds of local birds.Close to beautiful walks and one of the loveliest beaches l have ever seen. As a host Margaret can't do enough ,she is amazing,She made us amazing breakfasts,her fruit platters were piece of art.She is able to help with suggestions of tours and restaurant s.One night we stayed in and had seafood and drinks on the balcony overlooking the pool and gardens ,this was truly unforgettable . Beautiful house all areas available to guests.Welcoming and relaxing.You can do it your way.Special thanks must go to an amazing host, What a personality!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of equal standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I included a 4 night stay on Magnetic Island (22/10/13 - 26/10/13) during a recent trip to Townsville. We stayed with Margaret at Magnetic Sunsets B & B and it was magnificent. There are 4 double rooms upstairs and during the time we were there there was only one other couple who stayed 2 nights, otherwise we had the whole top of the house to ourselves. Margaret was the most helpful and obliging hostess from the moment we arrived - answering our questions about attractions and tours on the island and phoning operators to set up bookings. The rooms were lovely, clean, quiet and comfortable. We also had use of a large kitchen, dining, lounge and front and back verandahs as well as a pool area to unwind and relax. The lounge was also fully equipped with books, games and CDs of a range of music. All rooms have TV with Foxtel channels and wifi (though I unfortunately left my phone charger in Townsville). As has been described Margaret's breakfasts have to be seen (and eaten) to be believed - bacon and eggs, salmon, bread (with a fridge packed full of spreads),several choice of cereals freely available in the room along with tea, coffee and milk, yoghurt, cheese and an artistically arranged fruit platter with different tasty fruit every day - all ready to cook at your own convenience and enough for 2 meals rather than one. Magnetic Sunsets is only a short walk to the Horseshoe bay "strip" and beach. It is next to the Koala bungalow Village so could get more noise on the left side of the house (when facing the house from the road). Margaret couldn't have been more helpful - allowing us to "hire" her 4-wheel drive for a day for a $55 donation to the McGrath Foundation and driving us back to meet the ferry when it was time to go home. A great location to chill out and recharge the batteries - sure beat a crowded hotel / resort. Only downsides were 1) 2 rooms have to share an adjoining toilet which didn't affect or inconvenience us at all, 2) Not a beach front property but beach only 5 - 10 minutes easy walk down the road, and 3) if you have problems with stairs this property is upstairs with no lift. I highly recommend Margaret's Magnetic Sunsets B & B and if I'm fortunate enough to return to Magnetic Island I would not consider staying any where else.
Thanks Margaret
Annette & Stephen Camino (Hagley Tasmania)

Room Tip: Rooms to the left side of the house (when facing the house from the road) are next to Koala Bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went to Magnetic from a visit to Townsville rather than travelling farther away to Whitsundays or Port Douglas as originally planned. We picked Magnetic Sunsets on line, called and spoke to Margaret who was immediately helpful. From 2 earlier day trips to Magnetic Horseshoe seemed to be the best option, and so it was this time. The weather was fine but very windy from the south and Horseshoe was the most sheltered. Margaret gave us good advice on cafes and restaurants there, and offered to lend her moke and drive us places in the Prado. Apart from a lift to the ferry on the last day we didn't take up these offers but should have. great room and beautifully presented fruit plates for breakfast, and all spotlessly clean. Great work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed at this BNB and the rooms are wonderful! I was part of a large group, most staying at Shaw's on the Shore in Horseshoe Bay...I loved my room, so spacious, with fridge, kettle and the use of the home's kitchen! Unfortunately no washing facility, which they have at Shaw's...Margaret has very kindly lent us a Moke to ferry ourselves from one location to the other...having a great time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinem449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Was looking for a nights accommodation for my partner and I to enjoy a romantic escape from Townsville for the weekend. Magnetic Sunsets was perfect with its close proximity to Horseshoe Bay. Upon a friendly and warm welcome by owner and host Margaret, we were shown to our very comfortable, clean and spacious room (Rm 1). After spending the afternoon lazing around Horseshoe, we returned with a good bottle of wine and sat on the front deck listening to music and watching the world and the stars drift by. A great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed to wake up to a lavish plate of tropical fruit, yogurt, bread and bacon and eggs which we enjoyed on our balcony. Absolutely fantastic and everything we wanted in our weekend getaway. Thanks!

Room Tip: Loved being in room 1, alot more open, opposed to the other side of the house being shaded by thick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burradoo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay here and would gladly recommend both this B&B and Magnetic Island to anyone looking for a great, relaxing break. Margaret, the host, runs a spotless house which is yours to enjoy with a good collection of games and books. Add free WiFi, cable tv, magnificent breakfasts, good location and rooms with kitchen and ensuite plus easy access to food, beach, bus and shops and you have just about the perfect combination. Horseshoe Bay is ideal for swimming and is also the location of many of the water sports hire companies. The local bus to other areas is very frequent and cheap making getting around and exploring very easy.

Room Tip: We had room1 which was perfect but all rooms seemed of same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights arriving on a Sunday. Walking distance to main horseshoe bay restaurants and pub. We had room 3 that had kitchenette and a shady balcony, visited by local possums, wildlife at your doorstep, great. Saw plenty of koalas on our walks up towards the hill forts. Meal at Sandi's really good on Sunday ,but closed Monday and Tuesday. As a result of Which, if you're veggie like we are, and you fancy making something for yourself the owner Margaret has made the kitchen available, so we made a meal for ourselves on the Tuesday night and ate at the luxurious dining table.

As others have said the breakfasts are bountiful and decorative, plenty left for a snack later. Margaret is a friendly owner who's advice was useful on our stay and can give us pommes an Aussies' local knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenfaw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnetic Sunsets B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnetic Sunsets B&B

Property: Magnetic Sunsets B&B
Address: 48 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnetic Sunsets B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest in B&B accommodation self-catering. All rooms have an ensuite, private balcony,TV, Foxtel, DVD player, kitchenette with microwave, fridge etc. Sleep in and have your breakfast when and where you choose. Your tray is waiting at your door. Horseshoe is the biggest and best bay on Magnetic Island and you are only 350m easy walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnetic Sunsets B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing