We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnetic Sunsets Resort
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our fourth stay at Shaws, loads of space for six of us, clean and tidy. Nice bathrooms and kitchen. Location to almost die for right on the Shore at Horesehoe Bay, get a front balcony and watch the sun slip slowly away. Restaurants, bars and a shop right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent 2 night at Shaws on Shore on Magnetic Island. The accommodation was fantastic. Plenty of space in the apartment, immaculately clean, and great ocean views. The decor is a little 80's but don't let this put you off. We found the apartment to be very comfortable and enjoyable to stay in. The manager Margaret was a real pleasure to deal with and we found her to be very helpful during the booking process and our stay.
Shaws in right across the road from the stinger net on horseshoe bay, making it an ideal place to stay for families.
We were so happy with the accommodation that we will stay again.
The only let down was the restaurant downstairs. The service was pretty average and mistakes with our orders were not corrected despite mentioning them to the staff. The restaurant had only been open for a fews day so perhaps it will improve. The food was quite nice but not quite as described on the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttarz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Just spent 4 glorious days at Shaws on the Shore, Maggie Island. Where to start? Beautiful accomodation; spotlessly clean, extra spacious, fabulous ocean views, bright, airy, stunning tropical decor! I am not kidding, this place has it all! Our unit was completely stocked with all the comforts of home in the kitchen, bath, bedroom, living room, and laundry room! We just picked up some of our favorite foods, bevvys and we were set for a luxurious, relaxing treat!
Two nice shops very nearby, superb restaurants within minutes walk and spectacular Horseshoe Bay directly across the street! Can't ask for more than that! The pool and Barbeque area is serene and beautiful! The views from our balcony were breathtaking. There were plently of hiking trails (for those that like to stay active) and the drive to neighbouring beaches and other shopping areas is 10 - 15 minutes tops (if you felt like you needed to be on the move) We stayed put most of the time and enjoyed the beauty of Horseshoe Bay!
The owner of Shaws is one of the most beautiful people we met in Australia. She was very sweet, funny, kind, always made time to talk to us (made us feel like family)! She has a vast knowledge of Maggie Island, so if you have any questions about where to go, what to do, how to get there, etc. Margaret would more than happy to help you!
We loved our stay! Felt like we were worlds away from everything, yet everything we needed was right there - which is exactly what we had hoped for. Heavenly! We would stay at Shaws on the Shore again in a heartbeat and I would strongly recommend it to all my friends and family! I do not write reviews very often.....but I felt Shaws was certainly deserving!!
Enjoy your stay!!! The Canadians!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seabass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Horseshoe Bay is at the end of Magnetic Island looking out over Pacific, it's not that far from Townsville but feels a world away! Having spent the weekend these apartments are definatley the place to stay, close to the restauraunts and above the supermarket they are also directly across from the stinger enclosure and park/playground/BBQ.

As others have said the apartments are very clean and spacious, plenty of room for families. The area is quiet and the complex also has a great pool and BBQ area.

The only negatives were that the window blinds in the rooms were not thick and lots of light got through, for us that meant early rising children. There was also a rubbish collection at 6am Saturday morning that made sure we were all up.

Overall a great place to stay and Magnetic Island a great place to visit with heaps to do.

Room Tip: There a 3 rooms on 2 levels. The views from level 1 are just as good as level 2, so to save an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

By far one of the best places I have stayed any where in the world. Immaculate apartments spotlessly clean with every thing at your finger tips. Going to sleep at night with the waves gently lapping shore.
I was so lucky to find this area and would highly recommend it to any one. Margaret is warm,kind and friendly. The whole area is 'like the good old days'.
Every thing about Horseshoe Bay and 'Shaws' is simply heaven.
Thanks for having me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simone w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Extremely clean and roomy are two of this properties best features, along with prime location on the best beach that Magnetic has to offer and there is few. We stayed 3 nights and didnt want to leave. The on site manager Margaret was very helpful and easy going. Huge flate screen tv with reception was also a plus, if you ever stayed in doors. Great pub 2 mins walk with good value & quality meals. Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussieagent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We went to magnetic island and choose shaw on the shores as our accommodation. On arrival We were greeted by Margaret and she was lovely, friendly and very helpful. The apartment was spacious, clean and very practical. The location was awesome, the people were amazing and the restaurants in the main strip were good value and the service was excellent ESP at the marlin pub.
I would sincerely recommend magnetic island and Staying at shaws on the shore to everyone who wants a lovely relaxing holiday...we will return to Maggie....

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlfrancomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
198 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.1 mi away
Maggies Beachfront Apartments
Maggies Beachfront Apartments
#7 of 19 in Magnetic Island
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnetic Sunsets Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnetic Sunsets Resort

Address: 7 Pacific Dr | Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Shaws on the Shore)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: £124 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnetic Sunsets Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained luxury 4.5 star 1,2 and 3 bedroom apartments at fantastic rates. Supermarket, and restaurant in the resort and pub right here. Huge apartments with balconies overlooking the stunning coral sea. Fabulous recreation area with swimming pool and BBQ. Features include full air conditioning, large plasma screen TV, master bedroom TV, Austar, DVD player and free DVD hire. Wireless internet facilities and on site management. Carparking facilities, and local car hire available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnetic Sunsets Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing