We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with one hiccup!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay with one hiccup!”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Peppers is beautiful, spotless surrounds, perfect staff and a can do top bloke Manager. The restaurant was magnificent, as was the day spa.
Just one word of warning try to deal direct with the property, I thought I was but was dealing with central reservations. They painted an unrealistic expectation of the rooms I booked but to the Managers credit in his can do way all was fixed. Also they have an ECO deal that would have me $100 on my 3 night stay which was not offered.
Overall fantastic but deal direct, well done MAGGIE team!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franes3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
This would have to be our Wonderful guests from the deep south.

Thank you for your review and I will ensure to pass your kind words onto the team, your approach was fantastic and one that I welcome. if you are unsatisfied with your room then come down and let us know. My small team of staff will do everything they possibly can to ensure your stay is perfect.

Please except my apologies on behalf of central reservations, the team at CRES deal with over 130 different hotels around the country and sometimes training of new staff slip into the mix. I have since notified both team leaders of your booking difficulty and they responded accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and it was a pleasure looking after you, also I hope your stay at Port Douglass was equally as enjoyable.

kind regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    344
    143
    55
    26
See reviews for
293
494
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The Hotel was very clean & tidy & the staff so helpful & friendly.
The complex was fantastic & would be a great place to stay with a family. The swimming pools & grounds were amazing & very well maintained..The boardwalk was a great place to
enjoy your morning breakfast or coffee and watch the Ferries come in & leave again. Being so close to the terminal was a plus as you did not need transport to get to your Accommodation.
We would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janjohnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear reviewer,

Your wonderful review is greatly appreciated, and I will ensure to pass onto the team. It was great to hear of your experiences, especially those of sitting and watching the boats go by. My family and I have made it our Sunday ritual to have breakfast and coffee on the deck in the sun as we too love to just soak up the sun and watch the yachts go past.

Thank you again for your review and hope to see you return again sometime.

Warm regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Top spot with gorgeous views but the restaurant needs attention. To be told the restaurant was booked out and then to find there was no one in there was rather discombobulating. This was not the first time I had this experience having dined at the restaurant two weeks prior. Despite this, we did get a table without any problems and the food was very nice. Bar staff, however, were not so efficient and a little terse. The rooms were well equipped but the soft furnishings were stained and dirty. All round, some closer attention to the bar and restaurant would improve the overall appeal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimble26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwickau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in this resort during our Australia trip! It was just beautiful. At first of all, Magnetic Island is a really awesome Island!!! We also liked the Peppers Resort from the beginning on. We were warmly welcomed and we were well looked after during our whole stay!

Our room was nice and clean - we felt very comfortable! The resort is also really nice and clean! It has two nice pools. One of them is just amazing big - we haven't seen something like this before. We also liked the good atmosphere in the restaurant. The food was just unbelievable - for me it was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten! However, our stay was very good and I can recommend it to everyone who needs a break from his/her daily routine!

Pascal and Anna from Germany...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal080488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

we had our wedding reception here. and would do it all again tomorrow if we could. Jackie the events co ordinator was nothing but professional and made our day perfect with all that she did she was amazing! and all the bar staff especially Tiffany where fantastic Peppers are very lucky to have such wonderful staff... this made our wedding day so much more special we enjoyed the whole week that we stayed with peppers.
The food for our canape style wedding was delicious and all off guests where amazed with the quality and the taste of the food, so again we where very happy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rissj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Lovely wrap around pool, overlooking a very pretty marina, on a friendly island only 15 mins by ferry from a major city (Townsville, Qld). Room service polite and obliging, restaurant very modern. Magnetic island is a beautiful location, hirena mole to drive around, spectacular views in every direction, not highly developed or spoilt commercially.

Room Tip: Room 1232 is hotel style, next to marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revjge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband, 2 children and parents recently stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse apartment at Peppers Blue on Blue Resort on Magnetic Island. We are a big fan of the Pepper's resort in Kingscliffe so were excited at the prospect of staying at Pepper's on Magnetic.

We were paying top price for the apartment (no discounts were on offer at the time we booked) and while it was a modern and spacious apartment we were a little disappointed with our stay.

Upon arrival we noticed that the floors were filthy. They appeared to have been swept but not mopped so after a short while, the soles of our feet were brown. We asked for it to be mopped which housekeeping did except they neglected to do the balcony which meant we continued to bring the dirt inside.

We got the buffet breakfast as part of our package and it was a big disappointment. Its supposed to be valued at around $28 but we couldn't see the value in that price. The problems were that the bacon was cooked in bulk so some parts weren't cooked at all while other parts were over cooked, some of the breakfast cereals, breads and other bakery items were stale, the orange juice tasted like powdered mix with soda water added, the scrambled eggs looked like the powdered variety, some of the fruit that was on offer looked like it had been recycled from the day before especially the grape fruit and the flavoured yoghurt tasted terrible.

We also had dinner at the restaurant one night and that too was disappointing for what we paid, especially my husband's paella. It was bland in taste, had no colour to it and very little seafood. We complained about the quality of it and got 50% of that meal.

We asked reception if they had a guest booklet which explained things and were told that they didn't have one but were putting one together. I think the resort has been there for almost 5 years so you'd think in that time they'd be able to pull a guest booklet together???

The beds were only queen size whereas when we've stayed at Pepper's in Kingscliffe their beds were king size. A small point but still for what you pay, you do expect more.

Based on our experience and the price, we won't be staying at this Pepper's resort again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynRob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 18 in Magnetic Island
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Property: Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing