We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was very nice and the free in house movies was great. Very disappointing that the pool was so cold, even for us Tasmanians!!! Too cold for us to get in which was a bit sad! Thoroughly recommend the hotel restaurant, delicious!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzypreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    342
    143
    55
    26
See reviews for
293
490
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We desperately needed to escape the Melbourne winter and Magnetic Island and Peppers Blue on Blue were the perfect choice for us. The island is beautiful with something for everyone. The resort was conveniently located right next to they ferry terminal and the IGA supermarket. the pool was great (although very cold) and having breakfast included made for a nice relaxing start to the day. Our apartment was spacious and clean - make sure you ask for one away from the carpark. we booked and paid for for our family of five on the Peppers website and were pretty disappointed after travelling for 10 hours to get there that there to find that there were only beds for 4 of us and that they may not be able to supply a rollaway for the 3rd child. Eventually a bed was found. Apparently you need to ring them upon booking to tell them that you need a roll away - don't presume that they will look at the number of guests specified in the booking or you risk spending 7 nights with a child sleeping on the couch in the lounge room.
Breakfast staff were lovely and worked extremely hard - could have been more of them. Abraham did a great job of constantly fixing our TV. Got a great massage at Endota. Hope to be back again soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank HolidayLovers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Victoria
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For our first visit to Magnetic Island we played on the safe side and chose a newer, larger resort near the main ferry terminal. "Blue on Blue" is a development of self contained apartments, conference facilities and marina in Nelly Bay.

Most of "Blue on Blue" is managed and serviced by Peppers, however we decided to book an independent apartment through property managers "Best of Magnetic". These apartments don't provide access to room service or daily cleaning, however the benefit was we knew exactly what we were getting in Apartment 1361.

Blue on Blue is literally next to the Ferry Terminal so no transport was required (although if you really want to experience Maggie, hire a four wheel drive on the island). Check in is through "Best of Magnetic" in the adjacent IGA building, not through hotel reception.

Access to our apartment was via several flights of stairs - a real haul with luggage - or a longer walk by a lift which still involved two small flights of stairs. Definitely not recommended for anyone with mobility challenges or a pram.

For local supplies we initially shopped at the IGA opposite. However we found the Foodworks further away in Nelly Bay a much better choice - about a ten minute walk. Note that there is no bottle shop near the Hotel, also located ten minutes away near the Foodworks, with a very well stocked pharmacy next door.

There was a pleasant view over the marina from a very large wrap around balcony, looking across the ferry terminal, and out to sea. The apartment has a separate bedroom (good hanging and drawer space), a large bathroom with laundry facilities, and a large living area with a dinning table and kitchenette (bar fridge, microwave, cooktop, no dishwasher, aircon). The condition of the facilities and furnishings was good, bed comfortable, and the kitchen sufficiently well equipped with quality materials to cook up a full breakfast. The adjacent Ferry terminal was busy and I suspect we would have become rather tired of the endless coming and going on a longer stay.

We had access to the resort's two pools, however in July despite the warm weather the nights were cold and the water too chilly for all but the bravest swimmers, but they were pleasant places to sit and enjoy the wonderful magnetic island ambiance.

The onsite restaurant was OK - the menu was over fussed and sadly lacking in local content (fish and beef both from Tasmania, for heaven's sake), however when they arrived the dishes were well prepared and flavoursome: they tasted far better than they sounded. Service was well meaning but a little clunky, the wine list uninspiring and F&B prices high - however this is largely the case on Magentic Island.

There is an Endota Spa on site - book in advance if coming in holiday season! A visit for a massage was very enjoyable with wonderful essential oils and a skilled masseur.

Do note - as other reviewers have - that while the Pepper's name may conjure up images of luxury and exclusivity this is a pretty standard, modern apartment complex: I'm sure some are disappointed. Having viewed all the images and info on "Best of Magnetic", we knew what to expect.

While we were very happy with our choice, on any future trips to Magnetic Island we would strike out further afield to the townships of Horseshoe Bay or Arcadia: Nelly Bay is not much of a place - and Blue on Blue is rather isolaged at its tail end - and certainly lacks the charm of the other townships plus there is a lot more traffic due to the ferry terminal. However, for our needs on this trip Blue on Blue served us well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hawks2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Peppers Blue on Blue resort is a very nice and clean hotel. The rooms are very modern and light and are having a kitchen and a wash machine. The location is very central right away next to the harbour.
Also Magnetic Island is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiaR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Piar,

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you choosing to visit the beautiful Magnetic Island.

The team and I wish you all the best in your new life together, come back for your honeymoon.

Cheers
Abraham & The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

They gave us a 2 bedroom apartment next to the Ferry terminal carpark and bus terminal. The master bedroom has louvre windows so you hear every noise from the traffic, buses, delivery trucks and cars all hours of of the day and night, non stop. So if you are unlucky enough to get one of those apartments don't expect to get any sleep. The balcony was even worse the dining table was falling apart. The rest of the furniture was in poor condition, the fridge was dented, the couch was dirty and side tables had the varnish pearling. The reception wasn't really interested in helping with our concerns with the noise. Locals told us Peppers get loads of complaints about the noise but choose to ignore the problem.
The buffet breakfast service was poor, with some mornings no cleared tables to sit at. The food was nothing special, dried out bacon burnt tomatoes and very ordinary juices. Not a even a 3 star experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello B,
Thank you for your review giving us the opportunity to learn from your experience.

Please accept my apologies, we did not deliver to your expectations, there are areas we need to revisit, to ensure we achieve our goal of constant growth and improvement.

I would like to offer an opposing opinion to your comment regarding ‘choosing to ignore the problem’. The team and I review all TA comments for areas to improve, as a result of TA we have made significant changes to the way we run our business, the contractors and services we engage and many, many more. We thank TA for allowing us to engage our customers post experience in a forum they feel comfortable in sharing.

I agree we have apartments that are better than others, call the property direct this way we who know the property intimately can tailor a room to suit your needs, not travel agents!

Thank you for sharing and my apologies for not delivering a true experience of our property.

Cheers
Abraham & The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

During the June/July school holidays, we enjoyed 4 nights and warm, sunny days at Peppers with family who were keen to escape the Victorian cold! Fantastic service, quick check-in and we were overwhelmed by the modern and spacious 2 bedroom apartment, including gorgeous kitchen. Super view from generous balcony overlooking massive resort pool. We also ate at their restaurant for dinner one night and whilst the prices were on the high side (mains a bit over $40), the service and quality of the food was excellent. Location is perfect - across the road from the terminal and an IGA supermarket right across the road. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Apartments are situated away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and other readers on Trip Advisor.

Great to read you loved it, the team and I work very hard to ensure your holiday time is special, and memorable.

Cheers
Abraham & The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a very long time, we ventured back to Peppers Blue on Blue, and found a number of improvements from last time.

We were given a friendly welcome, and everyone we came into contact with throughout our stay was unfailingly polite and helpful with any requests for information.

The free new release movies were very much appreciated by hubby, and we both enjoyed having free wifi included.

Even though the weather was fairly warm, we didn't need to use the air-conditioning at all, as with the sliding doors open we could get a cool breeze.

Bed was very comfortable, especially as it had a comfy mattress-topper. I always take my own pillow when I travel, so didn't really try out the pillows.

These days we always book directly with the hotel, as we find we get better service that way, and can better communicate what we are looking for. There are a number of different standards of rooms and apartments, so basically you get what you pay for and request. We had a marina view which was lovely.

It is so convenient having the resort within easy walking distance of the ferry terminal. No waiting for buses and having to leave early to get a bus in time for the ferry on departure. Because we stayed for over a week, we bought a ten ride ticket, and used it to make a couple of trips back to Townsville for markets and shopping. Much cheaper per ticket than buying separately, if you intend to make a trip back to the mainland.

Once again we enjoyed the walks on Magnetic Island. Discovered that the rock wallabies are in abundance on the breakwater if you wander around there just before dusk.

The new walkway to Arcadia is great! I remember last time having to walk precariously along the road at night, so it is so much safer and easier with the walkway. We found the best time to walk was in the morning and late afternoon and into the evening.

This time, we both left thinking we would have liked to have stayed longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Adelaide,

Thank you for sharing with us and other readers on Trip Advisor.

We love reading the responses and yours we enjoyed especially. Great tip in calling the property direct to tailor the room to suit your needs, industry tip: this is the only way we ever book.

The Movies are turning out to be a real hit, and this week we launch our Margarita & Mojito Bar on the deck, we look forward to welcoming you back for a cocktail as the sun sets.

Cheers
Abraham & The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 18 in Magnetic Island
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Property: Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing