We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing weekend in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent the weekend at the Grand Mecure Apartments with my family. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. I was to die for. The view was amazing, not only from the living areas but the main bedroom also overlooked the ocean. There were 4 incredible pools to chose from. And the location was great. Just a short walk from the ferry terminal and the local IGA.

I booked this through wotif but I phoned them to confirm my booking. The reception staff were so friendly and accommodating. They even organised a travel voucher for us for the ferry. The receptionist knew that we were arriving on the 5pm ferry and even stayed open just for us. Next time we visit we will definitely be booking directly with them. Fantastic service and very friendly staff :) . Thanks for an amazing weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Townsvillelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    112
    58
    31
    22
See reviews for
103
160
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Don't stay here as the service is terrible especially off the manager. The room had a funky smell when we arrived, after letting reception know nothing was done, they just wrote it down in there little book. To use the pool in there own complex you need to rent a towel off them but it must stay at the complex, after you rent the towel you still can't take it to the beach or extra cleaning fees would apply, and if you get caught using the bath towel out side your room (pool area) still more extra cleaning fees apply. STAY AT PEPPERS..... Most recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drq82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013. We booked a 1 Bedroom apartment with ocean views. The apartment was very functional, the kitchen was well-equipped. IGA within walking distance. There was plenty of undercover parking available. The pools were nice, although sometimes a little crowded.

One small problem was that our apartment was located above a permanent-stay apartment that was occupied by heavy-smokers. We had to close the balcony door to keep the smell out once or twice. But for $169/night we can't really complain.

Room Tip: Only book rooms with an ocean view. Rooms on higher floors usually have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleppo, Halab, Syria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lets just start by stating that this is not a budget getaway resort. For the rates they charge, and a 4.5 start rating, you would reasonably expect a premium experience.

The reception staff weren't rude by any means, but certainly not what I'd describe as warm or welcoming.

We had two identical rooms side by side. One room had a BBQ on the balcony, while the other did not. One room had a CD player, while the other did not. Both had Foxtel, with hardly any channels. There was no tissues supplied in the room. The walls had marks everywhere and the fridge in one of the rooms had a rust stained door. Overall, the rooms looked 'tired', certainly not $250 a night rooms.

The layout of the rooms is nice, but the maintenance of them leaves a lot to be desired. Half the lights did not work. One of the shower heads was held in place with a rubber band!! The sliding door catch onto the balcony was busted thereby rendering our room unlockable. The kettle was broken and the stove pots had been placed back in the cabinet dirty. In fact, we had to wash all the kitchen utensils before we could use them as they all looked unclean. But perhaps the worst of it was the Air conditioning did not work, and we had terrible nights sleep because of the heat, then to be awoken by the sunlight pouring in around the sides of the window shades from about 5:45 in the morning.

We tried the spa down at the swimming pool. It functioned for about 2 minutes before it failed. A permanent resident told us this was normal. And I found it bizarre that after charging premium room rates, they slug you $5 for a towel to use at the pool and tell you not to use room towels there.

Car hire was available from reception at a premium of at least $20 more than every other car hire business on the island.

Overall, I think this property has great potential, but the rooms are in need of some maintenance or even a refurb, as it offers poor value for money at present.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim-Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Recently stayed for a week at the Mercure Magnetic Island. I got a really good deal online especially during school holidays and got upgraded to a double bedroom on arrival. The apartment was amazing. Top floor with views to Townsville and down into the ferry terminal and marina. Location is good with supermarket, bus stop, and ferry, just across the road.
Had a small problem with noisey wedding guests on our last night and we found the airconditioner wasn't working so we had to leave the windows open. They kept us awake until after 3:00 in the morning. Other than that the open air free flowing ventilation was perfect for the rest of our stay.
I'll be back for sure.
Mal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Malbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 8 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holiday Apartments
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holid...
#7 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Property: Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Address: 146 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing