We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay for Townsville to Cairns Bike Ride”
Review of Black Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Marlin Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Innisfail
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay for Townsville to Cairns Bike Ride”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A great place to stay. We were part of the Townsville to Cairns Bike ride which stopped overnight in Innisfail. Excellent value for money. Good clean rooms and friendly owners. We were able to wash the riders cycling clothes that were wet and filthy from the rain and highway grime without having to wait at a laundromat and without additional cost. We have booked back next year and highly recommend staying here if you are staying in Innisfail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosannePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at Black Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We feel happy and proud that you and your team enjoyed your stay with us. Nothing is too much trouble for our guests especially since you and your team put so much effort into raising money for such a good cause.
All going to plan you will find a few more pleasant surprises on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
15
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as we were in Innisfail for a Netball Carnival. The Owners were extremely welcoming and friendly. The rooms are recently refurbished and are furnished well. The room whilst compact had everything you need with a table and chairs, TV, mini fridge and storage/clothes rack. Good value for money and comfortable beds. Sue (Owner) even washed our uniforms for the next day. Nice touch with the Rocky Road chocolates as small welcoming treat. Would definitely stay again and recommend to all staying in Innisfail.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at Black Marlin Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know that you enjoyed your stay with Black Marlin Motel. We very much appreciate your comments.
Our aim is to give our guests a pleasant, comfortable experience and a great nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It had been close to 10 years since my last stay at the Black Marlin, and it was a pleasant surprise to find Sue & Col back at the helm. The newly furbished rooms are great. Sue does great meals, tasty and filling! Cut lunches for us workers also hit the spot. Hope we can get some more work down that way so we get to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Black Marlin for 1 night on a driving holiday. Innisfail is in beautiful part of Queensland. A shock when we first saw Motel but rooms very clean & beds comfortable.
The owner extremely helpful. Recommended a very good restaurant nearby.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Recently my 3 small children and myself had the pleasure of staying at the Black Marlin for 2 nights whilst visiting friends in Innisfail. As you can imagine travelling with small children is a nightmare, new places/ sensory overload etc, but the Manager Sue made both my children and I feel like a member of the family. She cooked us a beautiful breakfast both mornings and supplied the children with extra cookies, ( to their complete delight). The kids couldn't get enough of the pool, and I was ecstatic to discover the free wi-fi, (kids + iPads = quiet time). The rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean, and very comfortable. Overall we had a great stay and I am more than happy to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through Innisfail. The only negative is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am a regular traveller that lives in transient accommodation approx. every two weeks, so my experiences with top quality service, rooms, facilities, food and friendly staff are varied. I must congratulate Susan and husband (Owners) on all of the above. I was welcomed as soon as I arrived and was relieved to walk into - my appealing, comfortable, modern and well appointed room that felt like I was right at home. Breakfasts incredible, Dinners even more amazing - I looked forward to clocking off from work because I found myself daydreaming about the culinary delights that Sue was preparing after a long day. Thank you again to you both for a fabulous stay and your hospitality was unrivalled. Now that I'm HOOKED onto "The Black Marlin) pardon the pun - I look forward to returning again very soon. Sincerely Ryan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fantastic motel in a great location, lovely fresh clean rooms. Recently renovated. The staff are very helpful & friendly.
Definitely a winner :-)
Innisfail is in a beautiful part of the country, so many hidden gems to see :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innisfail
21.2 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail
0.2 mi away
Moondarra Motel Innisfail
Moondarra Motel Innisfail
#2 of 3 in Innisfail
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Innisfail Accommodation Centre
24.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.5 mi away
Goondi Hill Hotel
Goondi Hill Hotel
#5 of 6 in Innisfail
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Marlin Motel

Property: Black Marlin Motel
Address: 26 Glady St, Innisfail, Queensland 4860, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Innisfail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Innisfail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Marlin Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most rooms have been fully refurbished and upgraded. Very comfortable and tasteful furnishings. Docking stations for Ipod-Ipad-Iphone 4,free wifi, hairdryers and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing