We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and Friendly Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Innisfail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I was lucky enough to book in the night before I arrived and managed to grab their last room. Over the phone, the Motel Manager was friendly and informative, checking I had no problem with stairs and confirming they had internet. All my details were double checked and when I arrived for chedk in, everything was spot on. The room held a Queen size bed and two single beds, had a tiled floor and was clean and tidy. The night I stayed, the weather was heavy rain all the time and it wasn't difficult to get from the room to the restaurant and stay dry. Dinner in the on-site restaurant was superb and I had the best barramundi I've had in a long, long time. It was very easy to stay and feel like part of the furniture and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay overnight or for a few days.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms are up stairs and the traffic can get a little noisy at the front of the property s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrierreefmotel, Owner at Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We try to give special service to our guests. Glad you enjoyed the Barramundi. We are happy to look after guests who are sensitive to noise by accommodating them in rooms away from the highway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Perhaps other reviewers have not stayed at many motels along the considerably remote north east coast, but I have and this was by far the best.

Staff were at reception when I dropped in with no booking due to bad weather around 9pm. I was amazed. I was scared and upset and was made comfortable by a complete stranger. I felt so glad that such nice people are still around.

I was pleasantly surprised to find my single booking only cost 110 and had wireless.

I entered the room to find it very well kept - it is obviously cleaned thoroughly regularly, which is not as common in north Queensland as one might hope.

Additionally I found that some thought andeffort had been put into the colour choices of the room. Nice dark blues, beige and bright clean white with warm timbers created the calming atmosphere I needed. The comfortable bed and modern air conditioning helped me to get the good sleep I needed. This high level of thought regarding atmosphere is very uncommon among old motels. Even their newly built competitors in the region have not done so well.

It is old, but it sets a standard of the level of comfort that can be achieved with the old style basic motels.

The car park is easily accessed even with large vehicles, and anyone who considers it a haul to roll their luggage a maximum of 10 meters needs to move more. You can even park out of the rain while at reception.

Definitely the best place in Innisfail.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aboutNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrierreefmotel, Owner at Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your encouraging comments.

We endeavour to respond to our customers needs and are continually looking at ways to improve their experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This room was very basic and had a very old- school feel. Pretty creepy place at night being right next door to a cemetery (we could see it from our window). The service however was friendly and no ghosts that we saw. Nice and clean, but just very old. Room offered breakfast service. Good parking right outside your room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSmithQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrierreefmotel, Owner at Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

We appreciate your comments and respect your views on the location of the motel across the road from Innisfail's Cementary. Unfortunately, we are unable to do anything about this and respect it as an important part of our community.
This motel is over 20 years old but we do not feel that it looks old. It was been built with a pleasing aesthetic look and we maintain the building regularly. The rooms are continually under going improvements with new airconditioners, queen beds, flat screen televisions, floor tiles and bathroom accessories fitted in the past four years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We chose this restaurant as a venue for a Baby Shower/dinner for a work colleague.....away from the hustle/bustle of a pub atmosphere. The evening was a huge success and very enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome by staff and the food was absolutely superb and the dessert 'to die for'!!!
Grounds/tropical gardens are well maintained with ample off-the-street parking.
A definite 'must' for dining!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stay for two nights. The motel room was clean and looked newly renovated. The food in the resturant was good. Kel (the owner) was very friendly and helpful.

The motel is 3.5 stars. It is a typical North Queensland motel built out of Besser Blocks. The bed and shower were good and the TV worked just fine. This place in not in the centre of a capital city, but in Innisfail. I thought it was good value for money and would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We booked this on line , because the blurb stated " Outstanding holiday and corporate accommodation" , " Comprising 41 modern air-conditioned units etc.'' and so it goes on.

The rooms are old, small tv, dark shower recess, and BORING. the "Modern" bit might have had some relevance 20 yrs ago , but it's sure a flowery disciption and nothing like what we expected.
If you're lucky parking could be close to your designated room or otherwise park elsewhere and lug your cases. Hopeless !

Cost was $120.00 per night and needless to say we left it at just 1 night.

2 Stars would have been generous and this case emphasises the problem with booking and paying online . It does have a restaurant, with prices that would make Tetsuya look cheap. We went to the local RSL instead and had a lovely meal for about a quarter of the price.

Would NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LazingAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed one night on the way from Brisbane to Cairns. The room was clean and very adequate, but nothing special. Just fine for one night. The people we dealt with at the motel desk were very friendly. Only drawback was that the restaurant did NOT serve breakfast. Apparently one is supposed to order "room service" the night before, because we heard someone bringing a tray to the room next door and later saw an "used" tray on the floor outside the door. Eventually we found a cafe on the main street of Innisfail and had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN & GRETCHEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innisfail
21.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Marlin Motel
Black Marlin Motel
#2 of 3 in Innisfail
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moondarra Motel Innisfail
Moondarra Motel Innisfail
#3 of 3 in Innisfail
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.1 mi away
Innisfail Accommodation Centre
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Innisfail City Motel
#6 of 10 in Innisfail
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail

Address: 2 River Ave | Bruce Highway, Innisfail, Queensland 4860, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Innisfail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Innisfail
Price Range: £91 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrier Reef Motel is AAA rated at 3.5 star and is ideally located between Cairns and Townsville. The motel has a fully licensed restaurant and bar with lounge area.... and is the place to stay in Innisfail. The rooms are modern and air conditioned to ensure a comfortable stay. Internet access is available in all rooms and at reception. Guest laundry, cable TV and swimming pool are some of the facilities available to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing