We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful location and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yabbaloumba Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yabbaloumba Retreat
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful location and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Yabbaloumba is the perfect spot for couples seeking a romantic retreat. The hosts were friendly, the cottage well-appointed and immaculate and the scenery was beautiful. I really liked the little touches, like the candles on the balcony and providing torches and umbrellas in case guests feel compelled to take a night or wet-weather foray. My partner and I enjoyed our walk down to the creek and the freedom to wander anywhere on the property. This is one of my favourite spots in the Sunshine Coast hinterland and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for your review OzyGal, we are pleased you took the opportunity to wander around and enjoy the beauty of the landscape. Many years ago when we first moved to Yabbaloumba, our elderly neighbour told us that Yabbaloumba was where Angels came to rest their wings a while! Thanks also for posting your photos, we enjoy looking at them. See you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Absolutey loved our stay here...I honestly did not want to leave. The cottage was so clean and inviting, and the hosts were amazingly friendly and helpful. The cheese platter and wine upon arrival was delicious. I would highly recommend staying here, and we will certainly be returning in the near future :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your recommendation, we are happy to have met your expectations and more. Lloyd said he caught up with you both down at the creek and that we can look forward to welcoming you back sooner than later. It's difficult to experience all that Yabbaloumba offers in a day so we hope you will consider staying longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

As a B&B owner - we tend to be a bit apprehensive in where to stay - looking for the first class standard of accommodation that we require is hard to find. Although only 30 minutes drive away - We really needed a break from our business and be pampered before the winter sets in.-
We were at peace the minute we drove through the gates of Yabbaloumba Retreat. Greeted by the friendly hosts and then discreetly left us to relax.

The Cabins are spotlessly clean and large enough to spend a week or two with a kitchen, barbecue and king bed, TV.DVD, Air condition and fireplace. Beautiful rural views all the way back to the mountains. The lake full of fish and ducks, geese and the morning parade of cows down in the paddock was lovely to watch while we munched on the generous supply of breakfast provisions that turned into lunch for us each day. We cannot fault this place for a rural retreat and completely relaxation away from phones and computers. We even got to read a book and watch lots of movies and had the luxury of an afternoon nap.
For the enthusiast walkers - the cabins are close to Yabba Creek and Booloumba Creek Great Walks and also is on the way into the 'Million $ Egg Sculpture' by Andy Goldsworthy http://www.arts.qld.gov.au/artsupdate/2011/december/the-year-it-was.html that is hidden in the forest.
All in all - we highly recommend Yabbaloumba Retreat for that much needed getaway be it romantic, celebration or honeymoon, or just plan relax from business.

Room Tip: Kenilworth shops, cheese factory, bakery and Bells creek cafe are within 15 minutes drive for extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtisanSpaViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you. It's quite humbling to receive such positive feedback from our peers, particularly industry leaders such as yourself. Lloyd and I hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just about everything has already been said about yabbaloumba retreat and Lloyd and Barb were friendly and discreet hosts. The cottage was spotlessly clean and luxurously set out with a generous breakfast/brunch provisions each day.
It was so relaxing, no phone or computer to distract from this rural retreat with beautiful views overlooking the lake and distant mountains. We spent 3 nights and never left the property. We suggest, for complete relaxation, bring along walking shoes, barbecue food supplies and leave your hectic life behind when you park the car. Book now and enjoy this wonderful retreat.

Room Tip: A bird book and binoculars is supplied for the abundance of bird life here and the bell birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funfoodfavourites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
It's our pleasure to be able to share our piece of paradise and we thank you for your recommendation. Lloyd & Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Absolutely loved this place. The cabins were perfect and we loved the balcony with little bbq, comfy chairs and views overlooking the lake and animals. So peaceful - we were sad to have to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
We can understand your reservations in leaving Yabbaloumba...you can always come back! Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Absolutely stunning views.

The owners are a lovely welcoming couple. Loved their dogs. The cheese platter was delicious, on the way home we stopped in at Kenilworth Country Foods and ended up with heaps of cheese, mousse and yoghurt. Had a breakfast platter too, there was way too much food for two people, was delicous though and we at everything.

Loved the spa, bird watching book and binoculars, and the rug. Would have loved to take the rug home with me. The cabin was amazingly clean and smelt beautiful. Everything looked brand new.

Went for a walk on the property, had a young curious calf follow us around.

Couldn't see a platypus in the stream but that just gives me another reason to return. The views are stunning, everywhere from the front of the cabin, the deck and even the spa.

After a busy year at university and work, Yabbaloumba Retreat was the relaxing break I needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Sorry you missed seeing the platypus, he goes into hiding after a good rain...but then if he's the excuse to come back to Yabbaloumba, we will look forward to welcoming you again. Lloyd & Barb & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Wow, what an amazing break we had at Yabbaloumba Retreat! From the moment we drove down the driveway and onto the property we felt the calmness of this magical little place. The view of the green paddocks with mist floating over the mountains was enchanting, and the experience only got better and better as we entered the cabins which were absolutely amazing. The cabins looked and smelt brand new, while feeling like cozy cottages in the woods. There was so much room inside and everything was in pristine condition - the kitchen had all new appliances and kitchenware so felt very clean, the towels and linen were white, clean and crisp (cleanliness standards are very high here) and the view from the outdoor deck was spectacular. Delicious Kenilworth cheeses were waiting for us in the fridge so we instantly felt at home drinking wine and eating cheese in the hugh spa bath. We left Kenilworth feeling relaxed, refreshed and revitalised after a couple of peaceful days in the fresh country air. We would highly recommend this break to anyone wanting a fuss free getaway and a true opportunity to stop and take a breath.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
15.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
12.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#2 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
10.4 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 16 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
12.1 mi away
Eden Lodge
Eden Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mapleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Property: Yabbaloumba Retreat
Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yabbaloumba Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing