We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning our third visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yabbaloumba Retreat
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Planning our third visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

my wife and I are currently planning our third trip to Yabbaloumba.
We can only reinforce the comments already made by other guests, simply amazing. Barb and Lloyd are fantastic hosts and provide a first class experience.
Last trip we detoured up through the rain forest to Jimna on our way home, a lovely drive but for four wheel drives only.
I hesitate to share this amazing place through fear it will become too popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12821Kingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
This is a great area for getting out and about for 4wd, sorry your secret is out :) see you back a Yabbaloumba soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
79
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked the retreat because it got so many excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived late due to heavy traffic and rainfall and were greeted by one of the owners. When we went into the chalet we were just blown away by the quality of the accommodation: wooden floor, a modern kitchen, kingsize bed, a spa and a small deck. Everything was perfectly clean. Relaxation music played and in the fridge we found a bottle of white wine, juices and the breakfast for the next morning. Each morning one of the owners brought fresh croissants for breakfast. We enjoyed watching flocks of cockatoos while sitting on the deck and having breakfast. That place is highly recommended for stressed city people. We will come back if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat, our aim was to offer a stress free break, at one with nature. We hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Last night my wife and I had a 're-connection' night away at Yabbaloumba retreat. We where blown away with the quality of the 'as new' cabins, beautiful timber flooring, great decor & an amazing surprise awaiting us in the fridge!

After a week of flat out work, we where amazed to find not one but two platters of perfect, hand picked fruits & nuts, an excellent bottle of wine & our breakfast perfectly set out for us...Mind blowing in this age of mass produced garbage parading as an 'experience.'

Lloyd is a character with plans to leverage his eye for detail...A word class wedding experience is planned...If our 'reconnection night' is any indication...The newly weds should get their moneys worth!

Check this out...Staying at the Hilton or other large high end hotels you experience ultra high quality beds, spa's that you can actually sit in without slipping...Quality, no sumptuous, robes to dress in...and on and on...We experienced this same high end luxury at a great price only one hours drive from the central Sunshine Coast.

Enough of the superlatives...Just stop dreaming and book it!

Shane & Joanne Press
sunshine Coast Qld

Room Tip: All cabins have the same view and positioning 15mtrs + apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanepress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
It's great to get such a detailed review, particularly when it compliments everything we do at Yabbaloumba Retreat. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

My husband and I recently spent our anniversary weekend at the Yabbaloumba Retreat. From the moment we arrived we felt so looked after by the wonderful staff. Our self-contained cabin was just amazing. It was so clean and beautifully presented. Everything you could possibly need was available. The view from our deck was so relaxing and the perfect place to have a BBQ dinner. If you're looking for the perfect place to stay for a relaxing and luxurious weekend, definitely consider this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Emma_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at Yabbaloumba Retreat, we look forward to seeing you again this anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

After a hard week at work, a short 90 minute drive or a little longer in rush hour, we were welcomed to the Yabbaloumba Retreat by it's owners. We were pointed in the direction of our beautiful cabin where we arrived to find a bottle of wine, a cheese platter, a fruit platter & provisions for our breakfast waiting for us in the fridge. Ten minutes of unpacking & adding a few of our our drinks to the fridge later & we were sitting on the back deck looking across the property towards the hills just waiting for the sun to go down. Nice.

Just four cabins are available & they are cleverly set out so that are very private. We never heard & saw anyone else all weekend even though all the cabins were full.

The next morning our host Barb dropped a couple of warm croissants to the cabin. I poked my head out of the door & saw the herd of friendly geese that live on the property grazing outside our neighbours cabin. We had been welcomed to walk around the 200 acre property on the walking tarcks but being the start of summer we decided against it & ended up spending the entire weekend on the deck eating & drinking.

A perfect escape for couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_in_Bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review, you're right the private decks are very inviting and hard to pull away from. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and it was fabulous. All the little touches, and everything provided was amazing.Much more than expected. Everything we needed, they had. We didn't have time to fish or walk around the grounds but we will be back to do that next year for sure. Perfect spot, romantic cabin, great place to sit on the deck and have breakfast or some cheese and wine before starting the BBQ and settling in for the evening. LOVED it, and the hosts were lovely also. Perfect getaway.

Room Tip: There are only 4 cabins and they are perfectly spaced and all in great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyK1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
It will be great to welcome you back to Yabbaloumba Retreat on your next visit. Don't forget that the fish you catch don't have to be thrown back :) Thanks for taking the time to review our retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We treated ourselves to one of the gorgeous cabins at Yabbaloumba Retreat in June. The cabins are luxuriously appointed, with a gas fire, huge spa bath and many nice touches such as complimentary cheese platter and wine. The property itself was beautiful, with clear creeks to explore. The hosts are welcoming and are happy to let you wander around the property (though perhaps a mud map in the room might be helpful?). After a walk it was a treat to sit with a glass of wine watching the sunset over the dam and mountains. The location is great, close to Maleny and Kenilworth. We wish we had been able to stay for more than one night, but will try to return another day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thanks for your comments...we too are somewhat bias and think Yabbaloumba Retreat is pretty special. The heads up on the mud maps is good and we will get something drawn up to help with exploring the property. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
12.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
12.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
15.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
13.4 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
15.5 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Property: Yabbaloumba Retreat
Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yabbaloumba Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing