We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yabbaloumba Retreat
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We visited this place during the last school holidays and spent 3 delightful days doing very little other than just enjoying the absolute tranquility of the rural surrounds. The accommodation was perfect, the views gorgeous, the breakfast provisions were huge and the bed and pillows, oh so comfortable! Lloyd and Yvonne were the perfect hosts; unobtrusive but there when we needed them. We've already raved about our stay at Yabbaloumba to our friends and would certainly go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat, we can definitely agree that our views are gorgeous. we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Yabbaloumba Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I would absolutely recommend this property to couples looking for a private, peaceful retreat. We were greeted by Lloyd, an affable host with a welcoming smile. The cottages are perched on the ridge line overlooking a huge dam with cows grazing below and treed hills in the distance. Each cottage is positioned for complete privacy. Everything has been thoughtfully provided - meditative music on arrival, wine, local cheeses, quality toiletries, fluffy white towels and bathrobes, candles. The food is excellent. We pre-ordered the seafood BBQ - salmon and prawn skewers, a feta and walnut salad, chocolate mousse. The double corner spa and comfortable king bed were great. Breakfast in the sun on the balcony was bliss. A truly relaxing, affordable retreat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we got to share our small piece of paradise with you, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

There are some places you visit that are so good that you would want to go back again and again. Yabbaloumba Retreat is one of them! From the time you walk into the beautifully appointed studio, look out the sliding doors to the deck and view the rolling farm and vista beyond, you know that you are in for a special treat. There is NOTHING lacking in this accommodation and after the first day's delivery of fresh warm croissants by Barb in the morning I turned to my husband and said ... ."I could live here"!!!! If I lived in Brisbane, which is only an hour and a half drive, I would be visiting here at least 3 or 4 times a year for a totally pampered, relaxing getaway. Don't miss the opportunity to stay here .....you will not regret it. I am only sorry that we could only stay 4 days ..... wish it could have been a month!! Thank you Barb and Lloyd for making Yabbaloumba Retreat such a wonderful spot and for making it an affordable luxury that allows us all to treat ourselves like royalty for a few days. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks for the great review, we're happy to have shared our piece of paradise across the Tasman Sea. We look forward to welcoming you back at Yabbaloumba Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had just the one night at this wonderful little place, but it was just wonderful, and one day, we'll come back and stay longer. The host, Barb, was incredibly friendly and helpful. The cabins were absolutely wonderful, immaculate, with everything you could ask for in a self-contained cabin right there. Great king sized bed, wonderful double spa, brilliant balcony for watching over the dam and paddocks and hills, etc. Oh, and wonderful to be greeted on our arrival with wine chilling, fruit adn cheese, and then to have such an indulgent breakfast (the best bacon he's had in a while, and the freshest eggs, my husband says!). We've stayed in a lot of B&Bs, around the world, and very few places have been as luxurious and comfortable as Yabbaloumba, and many have been priced 2-3 times higher. Take the time to lie out under the stars, grab the binoculars (supplied) to watch the birds, and generally make the most of this wonderful little property.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad cabins.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMJGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time in writing such a detailed review, all our produce is sourced locally and it's good to hear back about the quality being so high. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you can stay longer on your next stay at Yabbaloumba Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The biggest regret that my girlfriend and I had was that we only had one night here. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. The setting and the surrounding scenery is absolutely lovely. The cabins themselves are extremely nice with large comfortable beds and a romantic corner bath complete with candles. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and have done a fantastic job in the setup they have created. I would highly recommend staying here especially if you are looking for a couples retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat, we hope you get the chance to stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just had a one night stay at this wonderful place the hosts are very friendly and welcoming and they have thought of everything in the cabins could not fault anything location and scenery great a lot of thought and effort has gone into establishing this place I have stayed in a lot of different B & B's and cottages around the world and this one has to rate amongst one of the best a job well done to the owners and we will certainly be back for a longer stay to explore the property a little more and enjoy this wonderful piece of paradise and would highly recommend this place to anyone you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, Lloyd and I would have to agree that Yabbaloumba is world class...but we are somewhat bias. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I've never come across accommodation with ratings as high and reviews as glowing as Yabbaloumba Retreat... but I couldn't believe you could get all this when the prices were so reasonable.
My husband and I stayed 2 nights and can't wait to return.
The property is absolutely amazing with it's own private swimming hole and creek running through it.
The hosts are really lovely people. They are friendly and hospitable respect your privacy.
The cabin is beautiful with a lovely kitchen and view from the deck.
The breakfast hamper and cheese platter are yummy and surprisingly come included in the price unlike some other places where you pay extra.
Seriously cannot speak highly enough of Yabbaloumba and cannot wait to return. A hidden treasure and I'm so glad we found it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

It was our pleasure to have shared our special piece of paradise, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Yabbaloumba Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
12.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
443 reviews
15.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
179 reviews
12.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Mapleton Cabins & Caravan Park
13.4 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#2 of 9 in Montville
553 reviews
15.9 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range: £99 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yabbaloumba Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing